We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average hotel in a superb setting”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Falcondale Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Lampeter
Certificate of Excellence
Wetherby, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Average hotel in a superb setting”
Reviewed May 17, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for 2 nights as part of a deal purchased through Groupon. Our room was a little disappointing even though it was advertised as a better room, due mainly to the lack of light, very dark furnishings and decor , even though the bathroom was large it was in need of a refurb. We enquired to upgrade from a medium standard room to a best room but declined when we were told that it would be a further £80 per night! On a positive note, we stayed for an evening tasting dinner on the firs night and that was excellent and we congratulated the chefs for a memorable meal.
This country house hotel could be spectacular, if it had a bit of a refurb. Carpeting on the stairs was threadbare in places. Room was dingy but had a nice view of the stunning grounds.

Overall the staff were friendly and welcomed our dog George.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank DianeandJames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa H, Owner at The Falcondale Hotel, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Dear Diane & James,
Thanks for the review, even though you were disappointed with some aspects of your stay, which obviously is disappointing to us. I note that in your profile your travel style is “Nothing but the best” and on check-in you asked for an upgrade to a valley view room, then declined it due to the extra cost. I would point out that your two night stay was an incredible deal considering everything that was included and am pleased to hear that you enjoyed the food and that George also enjoyed his stay.
Chris Hutton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

711 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    510
    146
    39
    10
    6
See reviews for
66
506
11
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (232)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
West Midlands
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2013

A fabulous hotel, nestled in beautiful countryside and within 30 minutes of the coast. We stayed on a 2 day break from 28-30th April and the Falcondale was a real treat for us in every way... Our dogs were welcomed with dog biscuits & their own bowls which is a lovely touch; our large room (11) was perfect, a huge comfy bed, luxury toiletries and beautiful views of the garden and the 7 course taster menu was a real joy! Each course was outstanding, carefully and beautifully presented (amazing chef) and matched with an excellent wine list. We didn't want the evening to end and felt thoroughly spoilt; without doubt the best taster menu we have ever had! We felt truly relaxed and at home here, the building has a lovely atmosphere, the gardens are perfect for leisurely strolls with or without dogs and the hotel's team are all friendly, helpful and take time to chat to guests to ensure that you get the best out of your visit to the hotel and local area... this hotel ticks all boxes and more, does what it does very well and we have no hesitation in recommending! Go and treat yourselves...

Thanks to all at the Falcondale - we will definitely be back for more culinary delights!

Room Tip: We upgraded to room 11
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hotelinspectors71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falcondale_Hotel, Front Office Manager at The Falcondale Hotel, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
Wow, what a lovely review from "hotelinspectors71". It is always great to hear when guests have enjoyed their stay with us, and we are so glad that you've made the time and effort to let us know.

We have worked hard to gain our 4star Country house status, but not at the expense of losing the warm, friendly atmosphere of the building and the team working within.

Thank you for your review, and we hope to welcome you back soon.

Regards,

Meleri
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
broadway
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2013

We have just spent two nights at the Falcondale with our dog who was made very welcome with a blanket and some dog biscuits which we thought was really kind. Unfortunately the weather was not very good so we were not able to enjoy the beautiful surroundings to the full. However we found the hotel comfortable and the food delicious, especially the 7 course taster menu and a very good breakfast with a wonderful choice of fruits.. Two small niggles, the water was not very hot later in the evening and first thing in the morning (before 7.30am) and we found the lighting in the room rather dim. It is appreciated that this is a "green" hotel so perhaps this is the reason. However we would definitely stay again and would recommend to friends. A trip to a National Trust property just a few miles away, Lanerchaeron, which is a delightful house, is also highly recommended.

Room Tip: A front facing room would take advantage of the lovely views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dairycot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falcondale_Hotel, Front Office Manager at The Falcondale Hotel, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Thank you "dairycot" for your time in making a review, it is very much appreciated by the whole team here at The Falcondale.

We have investigated the issue with the water (which you mentioned on checkout) and believe this has now been resolved. We would agree that Llanerchaeron is a fabulous National Trust property, and would also recommend Dinefwr Park and Dolau Cothi Goldmines.

We hope that we can welcome you back to The Falcondale in the near future.

Regards,

Meleri
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed May 14, 2013

My husband and I recently stayed at the Falcondale for a birthday treat. We enjoyed a wonderful afternoon tea with scones and biscuits on arrival, the only disappointment was the horrid rainy weather so we couldn't sit outside! In the evening we had the 7-course tasting menu, which was amazing. Each course was beautifully presented and delicious, we were absolutely stuffed by the end of the meal!! The breakfast in the morning was again lovely. The staff were welcoming and very friendly. We couldn't have asked for more, except maybe some sunshine!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fern F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falcondale_Hotel, Front Office Manager at The Falcondale Hotel, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
We are thankful "Fern F" for your review and your time in making your comments known.

The weather was quite awful, but we are glad that you enjoyed the comforts and hospitality of the hotel.

Fingers crossed for better weather the next time we are able to tempt you to Mid Wales.

Regards,

Meleri
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2013

Just spent a sunny bank holiday at the Falcondale with our two dogs. We were all made extremely welcome, a wonderful hotel in beautiful surroundings with friendly and helpful staff. Superb food - the 7 course taster menu was exceptional (especially the crispy poached eggs which were a real treat!) We will definitely be returning

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carrie1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falcondale_Hotel, Front Office Manager at The Falcondale Hotel, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Thank you Carrie 1957 for your great review, it is very much appreciated by the whole team.

I'll see whether I can get the recipe for the crispy egg from our chef and put it on our website.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Regards,

Meleri
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Llandybie, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013 via mobile

We had booked in as a team of more than a dozen cyclists on a charity ride, so were exhausted and urgently in need of rest and relaxation: this we certainly achieved in the elegant and beautiful surroundings. The staff were tremendously friendly and welcoming, and the meals and service were excellent. We would definitely return!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marianne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falcondale_Hotel, Front Office Manager at The Falcondale Hotel, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
It was great to see you all arriving on your bikes on that Sunday, and we are so glad to hear that you were able to relax while staying with us.

Thank you so much for taking time in writing a review.

Regards,

Meleri
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hythe, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
162 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2013 via mobile

We arrived on the 29th and stayed two nights. It was a 40th anniversary treat from our children and until we arrived had no idea where were were staying (location put into satnav by son). It was a absolute pleasure to stay at the Falcondale. Accommodation, food and service was second to none. I would defy anyone not to enjoy the Taster Menu which set us up the a meal the next day. Unfortunately we live over 300 miles away but I would love to revisit. I would like through this medium to thank everyone at the hotel for making our stay a memorable one.
Brian & Nancy

Stayed April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Brian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falcondale_Hotel, Front Office Manager at The Falcondale Hotel, responded to this review, May 5, 2013
Thank you Brian and Nancy for taking time in making your views known, via Tripadvisor and your kind email to the hotel - both will be displayed on the staff notice board.

We hope that we can tempt you back to West Wales in the future.

Kind regards,

Meleri
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lampeter
9.7 mi away
Y Talbot
Y Talbot
#1 of 1 in Tregaron
318 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Black Lion Royal Hotel
10.7 mi away
Feathers Royal Hotel
Feathers Royal Hotel
#1 of 2 in Aberaeron
219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.0 mi away
Conrah Hotel
Conrah Hotel
#4 of 13 in Aberystwyth
503 reviews
10.9 mi away
Castle Hotel
Castle Hotel
#2 of 2 in Aberaeron
165 reviews
23.7 mi away
The Lake Country House & Spa
The Lake Country House & Spa
#1 of 1 in Llangammarch Wells
896 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Falcondale Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Falcondale Hotel

Property: The Falcondale Hotel
Address: Falcondale Drive, Lampeter SA48 7RX, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Ceredigion > Lampeter
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Lampeter
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Falcondale Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Falcondale hotel and 2AA rosette restaurant near the University town of Lampeter is only 30 minutes from the coastal villages of Cardigan Bay and hilly, marshy regions of the Cambrian Mountains. A wealth of walking, cycling, fishing, and open gardens within easy reach of this central location in Wales. Why not visit the local National Trust before sinking into a warm, comfy sofa in the lounge with a glass, or two, of wine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Falcondale Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Lampeter
Lampeter Best Western
The Falcondale Hotel Lampeter, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing