We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Falcondale: really friendly staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Falcondale Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Lampeter
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 25, 2012

Fantastic hotel, with really friendly staff. Relaxing environment, right down to sitting in front of the fire with a good whiskey. Strong wine list, excellent restaurant. All in a lovely setting. Very impressed. Thanks very much.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CMM963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falcondale_Mansion, Front Office Manager at The Falcondale Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 25, 2012

Thank you very much for your comments, it is very much appreciated. During the Winter months our aim is to provide a comfortable "home from home" feeling within the lounge areas, and it seems we may be getting close to that.

We hope to welcome you back soon.

Regards,

Meleri

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (733)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

540 - 546 of 732 reviews

Reviewed November 24, 2012

An excellent hotel where all the staff are friendly and obliging. The 7 course meal was a fabulous fine dining experience and the room was large and very comfortable. It was a much needed break and we couldn't have chosen anywhere better.
Thank you all.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sandra T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falcondale_Mansion, Front Office Manager at The Falcondale Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 25, 2012

We are very glad that you chose to have your break with us here at The Falcondale, and that we were able to make your stay with us so enjoyable. Your comments and your time in making them known to us is very valuable and welcoming.

Mike (our head chef) and the whole of the team hope that we can welcome you back in the future.

Regards,

Mel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2012

Fantastic. Stayed here on business with a large group. I managed to get a beautiful room (Room 20) which was huge! Bed super comfy, lovely decor, very grand yet still very cosy. Arrived in the dark and rain, and was met with a beautiful buffet dinner, which was brilliant, and then woke up to some stunning views the next morning. Beautiul hotel, which I had had more time to explore!

Room Tip: Room 20 was gorgeous!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sophie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falcondale_Mansion, Front Office Manager at The Falcondale Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2012

What a great review by Sophie C. The whole team appreciates your comments and hope that we will be able to tempt you back to The Falcondale in the future when you have more time to explore the hotel and its surroundings.

Kind regards,

Meleri

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2012

Having just returned from our third visit this year I am glad to say that this hotel has maintained its excellent welcome and service including excellent food.

All the management and staff welcome and treat you like family friends.

If anybody with a canine friend would like to visit I am sure they would welcome you the same as they welcome us three.

Room Tip: Try to book a room that looks down the valley, then you get early morning sun
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brianforder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falcondale_Mansion, Front Office Manager at The Falcondale Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2012

We are always happy to welcome yourselves (and Cariad) back to The Falcondale. Thank you very much for your kind comments, we look forward to seeing the three of you again in February.

regards,

Meleri

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2012

Myself and Husband had a delightful evening, a superb meal, the roast salmon,was very moist and the fat chips glorious. Our room was cosy with a real country house feel, fabulous fluffy white dressing gowns and good magazines to wander through. Next morning an excellent breakfast followed by an unmuddy walk around the grounds even though it had poured down all night, and the sun came out. We love the warm welcome and attention to detail on our arrival and departure, and with the offer it was great value and cant wait to come again in the spring, hopefully for 2 nights this time

Room Tip: Have been in 3 rooms upto now and couldnt fault any, but one was four poster which was super
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicky S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falcondale_Mansion, Front Office Manager at The Falcondale Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2012

Thank you very much NickyS for taking time in reviewing your stay. We are glad to hear that we were able to tempt you back to The Falcondale for a third visit. Fingers crossed for a fourth!

Keep a look out on our web page for spring offers coming soon.

Meleri

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2012

What can I (we) say, this was an absolutely wonderful stay. From the moment we stepped through the front door we were welcomed very warmly by Lisa and her exceptional team. This is a gem of a place that offers the best in terms of hospitality and some of the tastiest food we have ever had. Both lunch and dinner menus are steeped with local produce that is so well executed it is amazing. We were here on our first dog holiday and not necessarily for the food. What a find. The scallops were the best I have ever had. The beef stunning and lamb the same. A sharing seafood platter for lunch was an absolute highlight as was the Welsh cheese board by the fire. The wine list is expansive and well tested!! If you are looking for a truly relaxing break, with or without your furry friend, you will not be disappointed. Thank you to Lisa, Darryl and the team for an unforgettable break. Katie, Nicky & Charlie

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KatieJaneMay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falcondale_Mansion, Front Office Manager at The Falcondale Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 10, 2012

We truly loved having yourselves and Charlie stay with us here at The Falcondale and are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay.

Our team of chefs under the guidance of Mike Green spend a lot of time and effort in sourcing and producing great dishes, and it is always great to be recognised.

We hope that we can welcome the three of you back in the very near future.

Regards,

Meleri

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

We were visiting West Wales for the first time in about 40 years, and looking for a base. The Falcondale was a perfect location in Lampeter, with great views, fantastic food, and overall a very comfortable stay. The staff are all very welcoming and helpful, and the owner Lisa Hutton was also on hand to ensure guests enjoyed their stay. We would return at the drop of a hat!
The last minute booking rates are very competitive with about a third off the bed and breakfast cost - excellent value.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hywel R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falcondale_Mansion, Front Office Manager at The Falcondale Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 10, 2012

Thank you very much Hywel R for your fantastic review and kind words. The whole team appreciates your comments and were glad that you enjoyed your stay at The Falcondale.

The lastminute offers (if you are flexible on your date) can be an excellent way to getaway at the very last moment, and has some fabulous offers and prices.

We hope that we can tempt you back to The Falcondale very soon (no need to wait another 40 years).

Regards,

Meleri

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lampeter
10.7 mi away
Feathers@Aberaeron
Feathers@Aberaeron
#1 of 2 in Aberaeron
226 reviews
9.7 mi away
Y Talbot
Y Talbot
#1 of 1 in Tregaron
329 reviews
17.0 mi away
Conrah Hotel
Conrah Hotel
#4 of 13 in Aberystwyth
516 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.7 mi away
Emlyn Hotel
Emlyn Hotel
#1 of 1 in Newcastle Emlyn
570 reviews
17.1 mi away
The Cawdor
The Cawdor
#2 of 3 in Llandeilo
470 reviews
23.7 mi away
The Lake Country House & Spa
The Lake Country House & Spa
#1 of 1 in Llangammarch Wells
918 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Falcondale Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Falcondale Hotel

Address: Falcondale Drive, Lampeter SA48 7RX, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Ceredigion > Lampeter
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Lampeter
Price Range: $163 - $223 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Falcondale Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Falcondale hotel and 2AA rosette restaurant near the University town of Lampeter is only 30 minutes from the coastal villages of Cardigan Bay and hilly, marshy regions of the Cambrian Mountains. A wealth of walking, cycling, fishing, and open gardens within easy reach of this central location in Wales. Why not visit the local National Trust before sinking into a warm, comfy sofa in the lounge with a glass, or two, of wine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Falcondale Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Lampeter
Lampeter Best Western
The Falcondale Hotel Lampeter, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing