We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
A little hideaway

Discovered this museum whilst travelling through Carmarthenshire last year. I did not know of its... read more

Reviewed September 20, 2018
Eleanor J
,
Bridgend, United Kingdom
What a experience

This place is like the tardis goes on for ever,very interesting,so much history nicely put... read more

Reviewed June 4, 2017
Marie H
,
Wales, United Kingdom
Read all 62 reviews
  
Reviews (62)
Filter reviews
62 results
Traveler rating
25
27
5
2
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
25
27
5
2
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews well worth a visit run by volunteers industry history carmarthenshire
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 62 reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Set aside a good three hours to visit this free jem, only open on certain day is the summer but very well worth a visit. So much to see and the volunteers have such a passion for the place, we''ll be back again and again.

Thank kmtudor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2018

Discovered this museum whilst travelling through Carmarthenshire last year. I did not know of its existence and came upon it and investigated. Quite a lot to see, but some time had to be spent outside. Can't remember whether I paid or not.

Thank Eleanor J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2018 via mobile

I was a bit sceptical when coming down here and whether the kids would be bored of it in 2 second but they loved it running around looking at what everything was and what it was used for I would recommend to families with young children

Thank ericbrown188
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2018 via mobile

Walked around this museum with my young children initially thought it wouldn't amount to much as it was free. I was so wrong. It is actually a really informative and surprisingly interesting place to visit.

Thank FrancisJone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2018

Great free day out for the family. Lots of things to do with so much history behind it.
Would recommend for all ages.

Thank howells94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2017 via mobile

The museum really needs an injection of new blood and probably new money or it will decay quietly. This would be a tragedy for the town.

1  Thank jimevansassoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2017

This place is like the tardis goes on for ever,very interesting,so much history nicely put together,easy to find a must if in the area,we both enjoyed this experience,kids would like it,they have 2 train engines just like "Thomas The Tank Engine kind,and kids are allowed to jump all over them,it's run by volunteers,so we'll done to them..Well worth a visit.

1  Thank Marie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2017

Live quite local and have driven past here hundreds of times

Fantastic museum with plenty of interesting information and things to see

Would recommend for all

1  Thank Josh A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2017 via mobile

Found this place easy to find of the main road follow brown signs
Great parking and the walk around at your leisure loads to see and read we had a guided tour and he was fantastic this place will only grow and if you like any industry connected to Wales then this is a must visit

Thank branstonthecat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2017

By coincidence, a few days later I was in Caerleon looking at Roman ruins and saw a plaque about the chartists and a tin plating factory owner that was involved. Having visited this museum, the threads of history fell into place. It's a valuable piece in the time line not only of its immediate vicinity, but of the UK's political and social history.
It;s not a glamorous museum. It's not the best laid out museum. What it is is, as near as possible, a working environment, that has just stopped working and it makes more sense that way.

1  Thank steve B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews