We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“family holiday”
Review of Cwm-moel

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Aberedw
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cwm-moel
Ranked #1 of 1 Aberedw B&B and Inns
Glossop, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“family holiday”
Reviewed June 25, 2013

a wonderful weekend , so relaxing and welcoming, Eleanor was a brilliant hostess and Mervin was a wizard in the kitchen . we shall certainly be going back again and again . a 17th century farmhouse with 21st century comfort, from log fires to power showers, walking and climbing to reading and tv. fishing and bird watching to good conversation and music.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandra B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

10 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
6
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rushden
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2012

This was the second time I have stayed at Cwm Moel with my mum and I hope I'll get to come back many, many times. Everything about this place is wonderful. As soon as you make the journey along the valley you know you've arrived somewhere special. The peace and tranquility of the lane to the farmhouse is relaxing and a great start to your stay. Eleanor is a truly lovely, kind person who continually goes out of her way to make your stay perfect, without being intrusive. Nothing is too much trouble for her and she makes you feel like long-awaited relatives, with a genuinely warm welcome. It quickly feels like Eleanor and Mervyn are old friends.
The farmhouse and surroundings are beautiful. The gorgeous, friendly Megan is an added delight, particularly when she watches you at breakfast wistfully through the window from the garden! Mervyn cooks the best breakfasts I've ever had - everything is always done perfectly. It really makes a difference being able to enjoy all the food in the knowledge that it is local and high quality too - and it really is delicious.

If you are lucky enough to get the lovely little single room, do what I do and leave the window open all night. You fall asleep to the sound of water and wake to the sounds of sheep and birds. Everything is spotless, comfortable and homely. We can't wait to go back again!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Caroline G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walsall, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2012

We enjoyed one of the best weekend breaks of our lives in this beautiful place - so good in fact that we have already booked a return trip in the next few weeks. The countryside and walking is magnificent, the peace and tranquility broken only by the sound of running water. Eleanor made us very comfortable and warmly welcome. She is a first class singing teacher. We came away inspired, relaxed and rejuvenated. I expect it will be the first stay of many.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Elisabeth B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2010

The welcome you receive the moment you walk through the door of this 17th century farmhouse is so warm that you know you have struck gold in the B&B stakes. Eleanor is a wonderful hostess, demonstrating genuine hospitality and enjoyment in having people stay.
We stayed at Cwm Moel so that I could take some singing lessons (which I have always wanted to do, and this was a surprise birthday present from my husband). If you have had similar thoughts of 'oh, i wish i could sing' then I cannot recommend Eleanor highly enough. Having taught music at comprehensives for many years, and with an MA in Music she is both very qualified and very experienced, but it is her encouragement and friendly approach to teaching that has even the most unconfident singer (me!) feeling good about their singing after just two lessons. As a complete novice, she introduced me to breathing techniques and vocal exercises before trying some songs (of my own choice), but I know that she works and trains people all the way up through singing grades and beyond.
The farmhouse itself is nestled into the hills, down a long winding lane and has glorious views of the surrounding farmland -- you really do feel like you're completely away from it all. The breakfast is fantastic -- the best bacon ever - with great coffee and you are free to take your time and relax into the day, and there's a pub (Seven Stars) with exceptionally well-kept real ale in the next village, 3 miles away.
The red kite feeding station is in driving distance (and well worth a trip), as is Elan Valley for some great hiking.
Altogether a fantastic B&B -- highly recommended!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank britishbird_us
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Telford, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2010

Booking a couple of nights at Cwm Moel on the spur of the moment, over a long weekend in August, we were looking to take a short break to get some fresh country air, exercise, and relaxation, away from the pressures of daily life.

We were not disappointed, and were given a warm welcome from Eleanor & Mervyn (also from Megan the border collie), who looked after our every need with enthusiasm and good old fashioned welsh friendliness. Our room (one of only 3) was clean, roomy, and offered lovely views over the garden and Edw valley, in which Cwm Moel nestled. The cooked breakfast was wonderful, using local bacon & sausages, and eggs laid by one of Walter's harem (he's the cockerel), and I couldn't fault it.

In the evenings we walked to the local pub (Seven Stars) in Edw. This was a 3 mile walk along leafy lanes with virtually no traffic. It may seem a long way to walk, especially after a strenuous day, but was actually very enjoyable in both directions - take a torch though!. Eleanor will kindly offer to pick you up from the pub if you don't fancy strolling 3 miles home after a few helpings of real ale and good food, although we didn't take her up on it.

All in all, we had a lovely stay, and would recommend Cwm Moel to anyone - thanks Eleanor!!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hianshodan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiltshire
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2008

We have just returned from a wonderful weekend break in Mid Wales staying an extra night because it was that good! It took us a while to find, as it is easy to get lost in the lanes where signage is rare, but we found Cwm Moel. The B&B is lovely, and the welcome from Eleanor and Mervyn and Megan the collie was wonderful. Our room was very clean, pretty and spacious and very in keeping with the age of the property. You are tucked into the valley of the Edw river, you can hear the waterfall from the house it is instantly relaxing. Eleanor and Mervyn are great hosts. After a busy day walking and cycling we recieved a warm welcome from the local pub, the Seven Stars, with a huge meal which was just what we needed after an afternoons mountain biking through the forest! Local directions will take you on a fabulous journey (by car) up over the hills where you will be amongst the heather, the sheep, the bracken and the wild ponies. You can see the black mountains, the brecons, the malverns and cambrians - it is stunning on a clear day.
Breakfast - amazing and all locally sourced goodies - particularly good W.I. marmalade. I could go on, but I don't want to spoil it for you. We look forward to visiting again.

  • Liked — situation, views, friendly proprietors, spacious room and great breakfast
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TopseyWiltshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hinckley, Leicestershire.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2006

We were on the return from Pembroke to the midlands, and decided on an overnight break, which turned into two nights.

Our hosts Mervin, and Eleanor greeted us as if we came every week and showed us to an excellent ly prepared room.

Views from the front door took in the sheep, a somewhat slow running trout beck which was still well stocked, and views across a lost valley worthy of any photographer's lens. Breakfast time was worthy of getting up fore with home produced fare, and the local inn supplied the same family ambience in the evening with home cooking, real ale and local cider a speciality.

A trip worth repeating, but get good directions first it's off the beaten track a little, good overall value for money the name is firmly lodged in our address book

  • Liked — Hospitality, Food, Spectaculer views.
  • Tips/Secrets — Get Good Directions, it's down a long windy country road
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Paul&Lindy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Cwm-moel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cwm-moel

Property: Cwm-moel
Address: Aberedw LD2 3UU, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Pembrokeshire > Aberedw
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Aberedw
Hotel Class:4 star — Cwm-moel 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A bed and breakfast that offers voice lessons. 17th Century farmhouse. Accomodates 7 people. Cwm-moel nestles under the Welsh hills in the peaceful Edw valley. Remote but easily accessible. Situated in one of the few remaining undiscovered river valleys. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing