We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“what a fab find”
Review of The Golden Lion

The Golden Lion
Reserve with OpenTable
The Golden Lion is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1 of 13 Restaurants in Magor
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $32
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“what a fab find”
Reviewed March 5, 2013 via mobile

My partner and i have just returned from our first visit to the Golden Lion . We had the early bird menu. The restaurant is lovely andvery welcoming. I had the spiced winter squash risotto which was superb. my partner decided to have a main course and dessert. our mains courses of pie of the day and gammon were full of flavour and excellent portion size. For dessert my partner had the sticky toffee pudding which he said was excellent. We can't wait for our second visit

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank alli207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

533 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    374
    85
    31
    20
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Newport, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
169 reviews
128 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Shocked”
Reviewed March 2, 2013

We have just been banned! Our crime was complaining about a bad meal! The waitress in charge ( she told us the manager had walked our) took the drinks off the bill. We returned tonight to e told we owed them money for the drinks! This pace is a mess!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Linda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Nice meal and good service”
Reviewed February 18, 2013

First time we have been here and we were very impressed. We were found a table in the restaurant despite not having booked. Nice surroundings and good attentive service. Bill was also reasonable for what we had. Will definately go back to try out the Sunday lunch.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SallieWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Bright and Airy”
Reviewed February 17, 2013

Having eaten at the Golden Lion on a number of occasions i can recommend it for its lovely food and great atmosphere.The staff are very friendly and make you feel welcome.It is very popular on the weekends and has a great feel about it since the redecoration.Some of the meals are abit on the expensive side but there are some nice reasonable priced meals which are very good.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dave H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“Sunday lunch with a twist!”
Reviewed February 16, 2013

Went for Sunday lunch...a bit last minute. The restaurant is obviously popular and was packed, yet they happily found room for the ten of us.

The food was good and reasonably priced. The meat was thick and cooked to perfection (I had my beef medium). The vegetables were crunchy where they were meant to be and soft everywhere else, the gravy was lovely...but my favourite was the lightly battered cauliflower yummy!

Dessert was a cheesecake and it was divine.

I enjoyed my meal so much I wanted to go back the following week.

My gripe - drinks were expensive and cokes came in those smaller glasses with too much ice, so you only get a few sips before it's all gone. Sort that out though and I would have been absolutely over the moon.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DisneyMad_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Golden Lion also viewed

 
Chepstow, Monmouthshire
 

Been to The Golden Lion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing