We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Can't fault the hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hampton by Hilton Newport East
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Magor
Certificate of Excellence
Dunboyne, Ireland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Can't fault the hotel”
Reviewed February 28, 2011

I moved to this hotel after being disappointed with another hotel in Newport. I stayed for 3 nights, and really can't fault any aspect of the place. From the magnificent spacious spotless room, the fantastic friendly staff (their flexibility wrt a late checkout, always a greeting and a smile, some great reccomendations for local restaurants/pubs), the food served in the foyer area, the quality of the breakfast, the free internet.
I suppose the hotel is quite isolated in terms of it's immediate location, but it's only a short walk to Magor, which is a beautiful little village, and if you have a car, Newport is only 5-10 minutes away. I hope the current standards are maintained, because if I am ever in the Newport area again, I'll certainly stay here.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,258 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    630
    439
    128
    42
    19
See reviews for
370
387
57
303
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wakefield
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2011

Found this on Booking.com and was ideal as it was close to where we need to be in Langstone. Although it was easily spotted from the motorway it was diffcult to find how to actually get to the hotel, eventually we found it and the first impression of the hotel was good as you can tell it's brand new.

However that was as good as it got. Our room wasn't set up as we requested a family room, spoken to the receptionist and he told us that he will report it back to housekeeping. That is great but doesn't help us. So was quite disappointed as he didn't even offered us an apology or to assist us in making up the sofa bed (think he was more concern with getting his cigarette break). Eventually me and my wife did figured out how to set up the sofa bed, but to our digust we found a dirty sock & sweet wrapper left under the bed. As it was quite late and it had been a long drive from Wakefield, we didn't bother to reporting this straight away.

The AC unit in the room is the most complex & noisy system in any hotel we ever stayed in, and it taken for ever to heat the room up as it only seems to blow out slightly warm air.

In the morning we came down for breakfast and reported what we found under the bed to the lady receptionist, Again no apology but she will let housekeeping know. To their credit the breakfast itself was quite decent, but a hello or a morning from the breakfast staffs would be nice. I don't think any of the staffs that were working during our stay actually had any form of customer service training.

This is a shame as it's a fantastic looking hotel it just need the Manager to get the housekeeping, reception and breakfast team to the same level as the hotel.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SimonK14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
roger_goldsworthy, Manager at Hampton by Hilton Newport East, responded to this review, February 7, 2011
Dear Sir
I'm very sorry you received a poor level of service during your recent stay,
We are a brand new Hotel and as such we have put a considerable amount of time into staff training, specifically customer care which has resulted in us being recognised as the top performing Hotel in all Hilton Hotels in the UK, so your comments are particularly disappointing to me.
I can assure you I will be reviewing your comments with my team today to ensure this drop in standards is not repeated.
I very much appreciate your comments and hope this does not deter you from returning to us, and giving us the opportunity to show how good we normally are.
Best regards
Roger Goldsworthy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2011

Myself and my partner went to Hampton by Hilton in Magor last weekend for the Saturday night, I knew that it would be to a good standard as it is owned by Hilton but I worried just how 'budget' it would be....I neednt have, it was fantastic- smart, new and contemporary we were quickly greeted and checked in very speedily by a lovely receptionist, our room was a queen double situated on 4th (top) floor, with lcd tv, ample tea and coffee, a lovely big comfy bed with luxury bedding, the bathroom was stunning with a big shower and all the lovely finishing touches you would expect from Hilton. Also sparklingly clean throughout with plenty of white fluffy towels, lovely soft lighting and blackout blinds if you fancy a lie in! Complimentary breakfast which was fantastic, served until 10am, free wifi (which many hotels charge for!) and a nice late checkout time of noon- can't wait to visit again!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank welshgirlno1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2011

My husband and our 9 month old son stayed at this hotel and had a very pleasant experience. The staff were ever so friendly and couldn't do enough to help. The hotel room was immaculately clean and so was the bathroom.

If I was being picky the hotel is a bit of a mission to get to from the main road but think this is only because there is building work going on in the facinity (there was no kind of noise whatsoever) and the road is diverted and I'm not a fan of hollow fibre pillows so was a little uncomfortable as a result. Considering breakfast was included in our £55 a night (Friday night) stay we thought it was a real bargain. The breakfast is a basic buffet style, bacon, beans, scrambled egg, choice of cereal, toast, fruit juice, coffee and condiments but was pretty good fuel for the start of a busy day

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pix16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Talbot, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2011

visited Newport Easts' Hampton by Hilton this month and must say even though getting into the place wasnt easy ( Please keep in mind they are having better signage soon) when we eventually got into the place it was a very pleasent and clean hotel. the staff were welcoming, every part of the hotel we saw - clean and the rooms were fantastic value for money. nothing out of place at all. the food was resonable and at an expected standard from a hotel that cost £28 for the night. Everything in this hotel blew us away. only 2 down points 1) as stated access was a problem but they are already on the case ...2) maybe get a pool table or a few more tvs in the hotel for the younger guests :)

fantastic hotel x

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maryanne1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
roger_goldsworthy, Manager at Hampton by Hilton Newport East, responded to this review, January 20, 2011
We have recognised the need for more TV's and have situated another one today in an area which will be great for families with children.
We are a very new property and are reviewing all our standards every week to ensure we give all our customers the best stay possible,
Additional signage has been recognised as part of this review, and will be in place very soon.
Roger Goldsworthy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2011

Yes very impressive by budget hotel standards. But like other guests I don't like the non openning windows, the showers are weak and I was suspicious of a towel that appeared to have been "pre-used"! Ok might have been a problem at the laundry but it is a little disconcerting. Breakfast is perfectly adequate and the location spot on. This is notch above Premier Inns. So i rate highly for an over night or two stop.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MIckeyBoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
29 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2011

Despite Hotels.com, Expedia and many other websites stating that pets were accepted at this hotel, we were intercepted as we took our dog through the door and told that under no circumstances were pets permitted in the rooms. The Manager subsequently reluctantly relented (it was late and snowing outside) and we were allowed to stay but not before we had been told several times that our room would have to be taken out of use when we left in order to get rid of the smell!

On going down to the bar for a snack, I took a copy of the reservation with me but the manageress refused to even look at it, saying that "pets allowed" had now been removed from the website we had used (not true...it's still there even now) - which was a rather unnecessary and unhelpful attitude to take.

Apart from that, we had a lovely stay! They don't seem overrun with guests (i doubt there were more than a dozen other gueats staying that night and the majority of them seemed to be lorry drivers), so even if they DID have to decommission our doggy room, I doubt they would have to turn anyone away.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank verchaixbob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Magor
6.2 mi away
St. Pierre Marriott Hotel & Country Club
8.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Newport
3.7 mi away
Premier Inn Newport Wales (M4, J24) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Ramada Resort Cwrt Bleddyn Hotel & Spa
7.1 mi away
Hotel ibis budget Newport
Hotel ibis budget Newport
#10 of 19 in Newport
546 reviews
8.2 mi away
The Parkway Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton by Hilton Newport East? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton by Hilton Newport East

Property: Hampton by Hilton Newport East
Address: M4 J 23a; Wales 1 Business Park Newport, Magor NP26 3RA, Wales
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > South Wales > Monmouthshire > Magor
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Magor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton by Hilton Newport East 3*
Number of rooms: 127
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hampton by Hilton Newport/East is proud to be the first newly built brand hotel providing the perfect location for a visit to South Wales close to Junction 23a of the M4 [Opened September 2010]. Start the day off while enjoying a relaxing hot & cold breakfast in our dining area or in our work zone with our free Wi-Fi or even back to your room for a high speed internet connection. With a focus on unfussy service & great facilities this contemporary hotel is only a 25 minute drive to Cardiff. With an enviable location close to the M4, Newport, Bristol & Cardiff the Hampton by Hilton Newport East hotel puts you near it all. We’re close to Cardiff City with Cardiff Castle, Millennium Stadium & Cardiff also Bristol Hippodrome. Newport train station is 8 miles away; Bristol airport and Cardiff airport are only 34 miles & 26 miles respectively. Whether you’re travelling for business or pleasure the Hampton by Hilton Newport East hotel puts South Wales and Southwest England at your doorstep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hampton by Hilton Newport East reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton By Hilton Newport East Hotel Magor
Hampton By Hilton Newport East Magor, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing