We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Look great but poor service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hampton by Hilton Newport East
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Magor
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 2, 2011

Found this on Booking.com and was ideal as it was close to where we need to be in Langstone. Although it was easily spotted from the motorway it was diffcult to find how to actually get to the hotel, eventually we found it and the first impression of the hotel was good as you can tell it's brand new.

However that was as good as it got. Our room wasn't set up as we requested a family room, spoken to the receptionist and he told us that he will report it back to housekeeping. That is great but doesn't help us. So was quite disappointed as he didn't even offered us an apology or to assist us in making up the sofa bed (think he was more concern with getting his cigarette break). Eventually me and my wife did figured out how to set up the sofa bed, but to our digust we found a dirty sock & sweet wrapper left under the bed. As it was quite late and it had been a long drive from Wakefield, we didn't bother to reporting this straight away.

The AC unit in the room is the most complex & noisy system in any hotel we ever stayed in, and it taken for ever to heat the room up as it only seems to blow out slightly warm air.

In the morning we came down for breakfast and reported what we found under the bed to the lady receptionist, Again no apology but she will let housekeeping know. To their credit the breakfast itself was quite decent, but a hello or a morning from the breakfast staffs would be nice. I don't think any of the staffs that were working during our stay actually had any form of customer service training.

This is a shame as it's a fantastic looking hotel it just need the Manager to get the housekeeping, reception and breakfast team to the same level as the hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SimonK14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
roger_goldsworthy, Manager at Hampton by Hilton Newport East, responded to this reviewResponded February 7, 2011

Dear Sir
I'm very sorry you received a poor level of service during your recent stay,
We are a brand new Hotel and as such we have put a considerable amount of time into staff training, specifically customer care which has resulted in us being recognised as the top performing Hotel in all Hilton Hotels in the UK, so your comments are particularly disappointing to me.
I can assure you I will be reviewing your comments with my team today to ensure this drop in standards is not repeated.
I very much appreciate your comments and hope this does not deter you from returning to us, and giving us the opportunity to show how good we normally are.
Best regards
Roger Goldsworthy
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,447)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,396 - 1,402 of 1,447 reviews

Reviewed January 29, 2011

Myself and my partner went to Hampton by Hilton in Magor last weekend for the Saturday night, I knew that it would be to a good standard as it is owned by Hilton but I worried just how 'budget' it would be....I neednt have, it was fantastic- smart, new and contemporary we were quickly greeted and checked in very speedily by a lovely receptionist, our room was a queen double situated on 4th (top) floor, with lcd tv, ample tea and coffee, a lovely big comfy bed with luxury bedding, the bathroom was stunning with a big shower and all the lovely finishing touches you would expect from Hilton. Also sparklingly clean throughout with plenty of white fluffy towels, lovely soft lighting and blackout blinds if you fancy a lie in! Complimentary breakfast which was fantastic, served until 10am, free wifi (which many hotels charge for!) and a nice late checkout time of noon- can't wait to visit again!

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank welshgirlno1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2011

My husband and our 9 month old son stayed at this hotel and had a very pleasant experience. The staff were ever so friendly and couldn't do enough to help. The hotel room was immaculately clean and so was the bathroom.

If I was being picky the hotel is a bit of a mission to get to from the main road but think this is only because there is building work going on in the facinity (there was no kind of noise whatsoever) and the road is diverted and I'm not a fan of hollow fibre pillows so was a little uncomfortable as a result. Considering breakfast was included in our £55 a night (Friday night) stay we thought it was a real bargain. The breakfast is a basic buffet style, bacon, beans, scrambled egg, choice of cereal, toast, fruit juice, coffee and condiments but was pretty good fuel for the start of a busy day

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pix16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2011

visited Newport Easts' Hampton by Hilton this month and must say even though getting into the place wasnt easy ( Please keep in mind they are having better signage soon) when we eventually got into the place it was a very pleasent and clean hotel. the staff were welcoming, every part of the hotel we saw - clean and the rooms were fantastic value for money. nothing out of place at all. the food was resonable and at an expected standard from a hotel that cost £28 for the night. Everything in this hotel blew us away. only 2 down points 1) as stated access was a problem but they are already on the case ...2) maybe get a pool table or a few more tvs in the hotel for the younger guests :)

fantastic hotel x

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maryanne1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
roger_goldsworthy, Manager at Hampton by Hilton Newport East, responded to this reviewResponded January 20, 2011

We have recognised the need for more TV's and have situated another one today in an area which will be great for families with children.
We are a very new property and are reviewing all our standards every week to ensure we give all our customers the best stay possible,
Additional signage has been recognised as part of this review, and will be in place very soon.
Roger Goldsworthy
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2011

Yes very impressive by budget hotel standards. But like other guests I don't like the non openning windows, the showers are weak and I was suspicious of a towel that appeared to have been "pre-used"! Ok might have been a problem at the laundry but it is a little disconcerting. Breakfast is perfectly adequate and the location spot on. This is notch above Premier Inns. So i rate highly for an over night or two stop.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MIckeyBoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2011

Despite Hotels.com, Expedia and many other websites stating that pets were accepted at this hotel, we were intercepted as we took our dog through the door and told that under no circumstances were pets permitted in the rooms. The Manager subsequently reluctantly relented (it was late and snowing outside) and we were allowed to stay but not before we had been told several times that our room would have to be taken out of use when we left in order to get rid of the smell!

On going down to the bar for a snack, I took a copy of the reservation with me but the manageress refused to even look at it, saying that "pets allowed" had now been removed from the website we had used (not true...it's still there even now) - which was a rather unnecessary and unhelpful attitude to take.

Apart from that, we had a lovely stay! They don't seem overrun with guests (i doubt there were more than a dozen other gueats staying that night and the majority of them seemed to be lorry drivers), so even if they DID have to decommission our doggy room, I doubt they would have to turn anyone away.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank verchaixbob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2010

This was a fairly newly opened hotel at the time of our stay. The reception staff were very professional and friendly and we were happy to find our room clean, well equiped and pleasantly decorated in a modern style. Unfortunately the room was extremely hot (such a common problem with hotels) and the windows did not open. We both woke in the night, sweating and feeling choked by the heat. The sense of claustrophia was unbearable, both of us trying to resist the urge to run out of the door screaming. I fiddled with the air conditioning unit but this was pretty ineffectual. In addition to sweltering I found the bed extremely hard and uncomfortable and ended up having to sleep on top of the spare duvet, pillows and cushions to ease the pain developing in my back.

After the nightmare 'sleep' we were looking forward to a good breakfast, expecting the hotel to redeem itself with food. What a total shambles. Ok, the hotel was full of rugby fans but surely any hotel should be able to cope with full capacity without breaking down. The breakfast buffet area has been designed with looks in mind, totally disregarding the need to be functional. I've never come across a more ridiculous set up in my life. We joined the queue for food, there was nothing left by the time we got to the hot buffet, no bread for toast, no cereal except a few Weetabix. That was it! Eventually a young member of staff breezed by in a state of confusion. Please could you bring some bread I asked? I stood there for 15 minutes until he returned with some sliced white bread. There was rubbish and food debris all over the surfaces and floor in the buffet area because of the poor design, cramped space and inadequate bins located in the wrong place. There was a microwave set into the wall at chest height with the queue of people in front of it - a health and safety nightmare - guests carrying hot food having to squeeze past people. Instead of replenishing food from behind the counter (sensible option), the staff had to bring hot food through the waiting queues of people, because there was no other access.

If anyone planning a breakfast buffet area wants to know how NOT to do it - come here.
Hilton By Hampton - please do not use this example as a blue print for other hotels. Good design makes all the difference, not just to guests but also to staff.
We were totally dissatisfied with our stay but acknowledge that the hotel was very busy. The reception staff were very friendly and helpful and the hotel was clean and presentable (apart from the breakfast area).

Whilst waiting to check out I heard other guests complaining about the heat in the rooms. I explained to the receptionist all the issues we had and she said we did not have to pay. She said she hoped it would make us consider staying there again but we have no intention of revisiting.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DimOndYGorau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Magor
6.2 mi away
St. Pierre Marriott Hotel & Country Club
8.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Newport
3.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Newport
Holiday Inn Newport
#8 of 18 in Newport
570 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Coldra Court Hotel
Coldra Court Hotel
#2 of 2 in Langstone
479 reviews
5.6 mi away
Ramada Resort Cwrt Bleddyn Hotel & Spa
8.6 mi away
Glen-yr-Afon House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton by Hilton Newport East? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton by Hilton Newport East

Address: M4 J 23a; Wales 1 Business Park Newport, Magor NP26 3RA, Wales
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > South Wales > Monmouthshire > Magor
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Magor
Price Range: $60 - $123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton by Hilton Newport East 3*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hampton by Hilton Newport/East is proud to be the first newly built brand hotel providing the perfect location for a visit to South Wales close to Junction 23a of the M4 [Opened September 2010]. Start the day off while enjoying a relaxing hot & cold breakfast in our dining area or in our work zone with our free Wi-Fi or even back to your room for a high speed internet connection. With a focus on unfussy service & great facilities this contemporary hotel is only a 25 minute drive to Cardiff. With an enviable location close to the M4, Newport, Bristol & Cardiff the Hampton by Hilton Newport East hotel puts you near it all. We’re close to Cardiff City with Cardiff Castle, Millennium Stadium & Cardiff also Bristol Hippodrome. Newport train station is 8 miles away; Bristol airport and Cardiff airport are only 34 miles & 26 miles respectively. Whether you’re travelling for business or pleasure the Hampton by Hilton Newport East hotel puts South Wales and Southwest England at your doorstep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hilton EMEA, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hampton by Hilton Newport East reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton By Hilton Newport East Hotel Magor
Hampton By Hilton Newport East Magor, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing