We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hampton by Hilton Newport East
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Magor
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 8, 2014

We really enjoyed this hotel. It was really clean and the furniture was excellent. There was shampoo, conditionator and body cream in the bathroom. In our bedroom there was two king beds very comfortable, TV, cleaned towels every day...ect.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
1  Thank amparo1g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
roger_goldsworthy, General Manager at Hampton by Hilton Newport East, responded to this reviewResponded May 12, 2014

Thank you very much for your kind words.
Enormous effort has gone into creating this new UK brand, with the aim to deliver the best Hotel experience within the focused service sector.
The key to delivering this ambition is not only to build high quality Hotels with top of the range fixtures and fittings, but to ensure the quality of the service and welcome match this aim.
When this is recognised with comments such as this my whole team are encouraged to try even harder to make every stay for our guests a great experience.
Thank you
Roger Goldsworthy
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,383)
There are newer reviews for Hampton by Hilton Newport East
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

924 - 930 of 1,383 reviews

Reviewed May 8, 2014

Our second visit to this hotel and found things just as good as the last time, just one observation though, you need a degree in electronics to control the air conditioning. This hotel was ideal for our visit to the area and would stay again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jeffsoo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
roger_goldsworthy, General Manager at Hampton by Hilton Newport East, responded to this reviewResponded May 12, 2014

Many thanks for taking the time to give us your views,
We try very hard to make this Hotel a fantastic place to stay, and helpful feedback like this is very useful.
All the comments I receive are discussed with the whole team as we strive to learn from every response in order to continually improve our service and facilities.
In addition to all the facilities we offer at the Hampton Hotel we are opening a restaurant on site , which will up and running this summer.
We very much value the business we received from you .
Thank you for coming to stay with us please come and see us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2014

This was a great hotel with very attentive staff and a decent quality breakfast in the morning. Yes, it was marginally more expensive than a Travelodge or similar but much better quality all round. Only complaint was that the rooms could do with more soundproofing, but overall, very impressed with the facilities and comfort factor. They even have a decent on site gym, which I will use if I visit again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Angela D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
roger_goldsworthy, General Manager at Hampton by Hilton Newport East, responded to this reviewResponded May 12, 2014

Many thanks for taking the time to give us your views,
We try very hard to make this Hotel a fantastic place to stay, and helpful feedback like this is very useful.
All the comments I receive are discussed with the whole team as we strive to learn from every response in order to continually improve our service and facilities.
In addition to all the facilities we offer at the Hampton Hotel we are opening a restaurant on site , which will up and running this summer.
We very much value the business we received from you .
Thank you for coming to stay with us please come and see us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2014

I stayed in this hotel on Saturday night, the room was spacious and clean. The staff were all friendly and efficient. The complimentary breakfast included was self service but was clean and plentiful. I will be staying here again!!

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Claire R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
roger_goldsworthy, General Manager at Hampton by Hilton Newport East, responded to this reviewResponded May 12, 2014

Thank you so much for this review,
We will have been open 3 years as of September 14th and I am pleased you comment on it still looking like new as we take great care in the upkeep and maintenance of the Hotel.
We work hard every day to make the building spotless, and work closely with our team to ensure they give great service and offer the relaxed friendly environment we wish to create.
Please come and see us again soon
Roger Goldsworthy
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2014

Can't fault the hotel and its value for money. Modern, clean and staff couldn't do enough. Buffet breakfast is icing on cake!! Great location and you wouldn't know you were so close to motorway. Going back again this week.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Karin F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
roger_goldsworthy, General Manager at Hampton by Hilton Newport East, responded to this reviewResponded May 12, 2014

Many thanks for taking the time to give us your views,
We try very hard to make this Hotel a fantastic place to stay, and helpful feedback like this is very useful.
It’s particularly pleasing when we receive such positive comments about my team, who are all totally committed to giving great service to each and every guest.
I am pleased to say, we have now introduced free Wi-Fi throughout the Hotel as another benefit to our guests.
Please come and see us again soon.

Roger Goldsworthy
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2014

This hotel is in a convenient location and offers good value for money. Rooms are comfortable, spacious and clean and breakfast was more than adequate. We did not use the bar in the evenings so cannot comment on the quality or service. The gym facilities were very good although I did have a minor problem accessing them on one of the days but this was very quickly sorted. My only comments would be that it would be nice to have a drawer in the rooms and also the information in the rooms could contain some instructions on how to work the heating and what food is available in the bar. Overall though a good experience and I will be back.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathleen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
roger_goldsworthy, General Manager at Hampton by Hilton Newport East, responded to this reviewResponded May 12, 2014

Thank you very much for your kind words,
Enormous effort has gone into creating this new UK brand, with the aim to deliver the best Hotel experience within the focused service sector.
The key to delivering this ambition is not only to build high quality Hotels with top of the range fixtures and fittings, but to ensure the quality of the service and welcome match this aim.
When this is recognised with comments such as this my whole team are encouraged to try even harder to make every stay for our guests a great experience.
We all look forward to seeing you again soon.
Thank you
Roger Goldsworthy
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2014

but pity about the heating and air conditioning. It was far too hot wouldn't stay below 22C. Usually over 23C. Then at 3am we managed to get it down to 19C but air conditioning was very noisy. The breakfast was the worst we have ever had in any budget hotel - by a very long way. My wife had coffee but could tell by the taste. Both had Bacon, scrambled egg sausage and beans. A real achievement to make everything taste so very bad. Even the fruit and the marmalade was tasteless as was toast. Perhaps we should have stuck to cereal!

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank 252beataw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
roger_goldsworthy, General Manager at Hampton by Hilton Newport East, responded to this reviewResponded May 12, 2014

Many thanks for taking the time to give us your views,
we try very hard to make this Hotel a fantastic place to stay, and helpful feedback like this is very useful.
We have checked the room in question, and have found a fault with the air conditioning controller, this has now been fixed.
Please accept my apologies for this issue.
I am pleased to say, we have now introduced free Wi-Fi throughout the Hotel as another benefit to our guests.
Please come and see us again soon.

Roger Goldsworthy
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Magor
8.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Newport
6.2 mi away
St. Pierre Marriott Hotel & Country Club
8.2 mi away
The Parkway Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
The Priory Hotel & Restaurant
10.3 mi away
Best Western Royal George Hotel
3.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Newport
Holiday Inn Newport
#9 of 18 in Newport
547 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton by Hilton Newport East? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton by Hilton Newport East

Address: M4 J 23a; Wales 1 Business Park Newport, Magor NP26 3RA, Wales
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > South Wales > Monmouthshire > Magor
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Magor
Price Range: $60 - $143 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton by Hilton Newport East 3*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hampton by Hilton Newport/East is proud to be the first newly built brand hotel providing the perfect location for a visit to South Wales close to Junction 23a of the M4 [Opened September 2010]. Start the day off while enjoying a relaxing hot & cold breakfast in our dining area or in our work zone with our free Wi-Fi or even back to your room for a high speed internet connection. With a focus on unfussy service & great facilities this contemporary hotel is only a 25 minute drive to Cardiff. With an enviable location close to the M4, Newport, Bristol & Cardiff the Hampton by Hilton Newport East hotel puts you near it all. We’re close to Cardiff City with Cardiff Castle, Millennium Stadium & Cardiff also Bristol Hippodrome. Newport train station is 8 miles away; Bristol airport and Cardiff airport are only 34 miles & 26 miles respectively. Whether you’re travelling for business or pleasure the Hampton by Hilton Newport East hotel puts South Wales and Southwest England at your doorstep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hampton by Hilton Newport East reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton By Hilton Newport East Hotel Magor
Hampton By Hilton Newport East Magor, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing