We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hampton by Hilton Newport East”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hampton by Hilton Newport East
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Magor
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 9, 2013

Stayed here overnight while on business. Great fresh clean hotel, somewhere between Premier Inn and Hilton hotel grade. Breakfast was good quality with plenty of choice when you consider it's complimentary. Definitely stay here again, infact going back with the family at the end of the month.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
1  Thank Neil L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
roger_goldsworthy, General Manager at Hampton by Hilton Newport East, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2013

Thank you so much for this review,
We will have been open 3 years as of September 14th and I am pleased you comment on it still looking like new as we take great care in the upkeep and maintenance of the Hotel.
We work hard every day to make the building spotless, and work closely with our team to ensure they give great service and offer the relaxed friendly environment we wish to create
Please come and see us again soon
Roger Goldsworthy
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,454)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,103 - 1,109 of 1,454 reviews

Reviewed October 8, 2013

We arrived at the hotel customer service was excellent. . We went up to our room and ordered a chinese take away which would be delivered to the hotel . We were rung by reception when it arrived and were even given plates and cutlery by reception. The room was very clean and nicely appointed. When i came to lie on the bed it was very hard which was surprising after reading how comfortable the beds were supposed to be. I then got the spare quilt and lay that on the mattress and it was still too hard. I ended up sleeping on the bed settee which was more comfortable. My Husband had to try and get some sleep on the bed as the bed settee was not long enough for him A good nights sleep was not had by all!!!! We are still waiting for a refund as we booked through a third party.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JohnDan64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
roger_goldsworthy, General Manager at Hampton by Hilton Newport East, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2013

Thank you so much for this review,
We will have been open 3 years as of September 14th and I am pleased you comment on it still looking like new as we take great care in the upkeep and maintenance of the Hotel.
We work hard every day to make the building spotless, and work closely with our team to ensure they give great service and offer the relaxed friendly environment we wish to create
Please come and see us again soon
Roger Goldsworthy
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2013

Stayed just one night whilst touring the area, on a business park do nothing immediately around the hotel,rooms excellent spotlessly clean, roomy very comfy bed bathroom was huge. Breakfast was ample all in all a good stay

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alcal04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
roger_goldsworthy, General Manager at Hampton by Hilton Newport East, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2013

Many thanks for taking the time to give us your views ,
We try very hard to make this Hotel a fantastic place to stay, and helpful feedback like this is very useful.
I am pleased to say, we have now introduced free Wi-Fi throughout the Hotel as another benefit to our guests.
Please come and see us again soon.

Roger Goldsworthy
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2013

This place is great value rooms are spotless great walk in shower just like premier inn but higher spec The food was good value we had a meal in the evening there was plenty of variety if you book early on line you can get some great deals

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Angus P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
roger_goldsworthy, General Manager at Hampton by Hilton Newport East, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2013

Many thanks for taking the time to give us your views ,
We try very hard to make this Hotel a fantastic place to stay, and helpful feedback like this is very useful.
I am pleased to say, we have now introduced free Wi-Fi throughout the Hotel as another benefit to our guests.
Please come and see us again soon.

Roger Goldsworthy
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2013

We stayed here on our wedding night, after it had been highly recommended to us.
On arrival, first impressions are good, the staff were very polite and friendly. We were given our room key, and headed there.
It was halfway down the hall on the fifth floor, which was fine. But when we booked, we told the staff we would be staying on our wedding night, so expected something a bit more private.
The room itself was very clean, and the bed very comfy. But people in the next room, arrive at 4.30am and started having a row. Not ideal for your wedding night.
We went down to the buffet style breakfast around 9am. Plenty of food, seating, but had a 15 minute wait for the staff to bring plates, as they'd run out. The food itself was very good, and hot,
I probably wont stay at this hotel again, as i was a bit underwhelmed, We paid the full price, which was ok for value.

Room Tip: Not ideal for a 'special night'
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Balehberry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2013

Clean, tidy, pleasant, good staff& good value. Family of 4 (2 parents, 3 yr old an under 1)Stayed in a double room with pull out double sofa bed, asked for a travel cot this was all set up for us upon arrival. Only down side was the breakfast was only mildly warm, but there was a microwave to warm it up.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
roger_goldsworthy, General Manager at Hampton by Hilton Newport East, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2013

Many thanks for taking the time to give us your views ,
We try very hard to make this Hotel a fantastic place to stay, and helpful feedback like this is very useful.
I am pleased to say, we have now introduced free Wi-Fi throughout the Hotel as another benefit to our guests.
Please come and see us again soon.

Roger Goldsworthy
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2013

I booked here for me and my boyfriend, easy location to find.
The bedrooms are very nice and spacious. I like the idea of having different wall dispensers in the bathroom for things like hand wash, shampoo, condition and body wash! We were on the first floor and it's the best nights sleep I've had in a while, very quiet location.

We decided to have some dinner at the hotel. Neither meal could be faulted. We were told there would be a 25 minute wait as their seemed to be some buffet function but I would say we were only waiting for 10/15 minutes which was fine.

However, we decided to have dessert and went for the banoffee pie to share. After about 30 minutes there as no show of it coming. By this time the restaurant was quiet. My boyfriend asked the waiter and he said it will come now. Within a minute he came back and said there was no banoffee pie. Why did it take them nearly half an hour to realise this? We went for the waffle and ice cream instead which then took another 25 minutes!!! We were fairly disappointed with the service.

Overall, it was a good stay.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Teaser19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
roger_goldsworthy, General Manager at Hampton by Hilton Newport East, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2013

Thank you so much for this review,
We will have been open 3 years as of September 14th and I am pleased you comment on it still looking like new as we take great care in the upkeep and maintenance of the Hotel.
We work hard every day to make the building spotless, and work closely with our team to ensure they give great service and offer the relaxed friendly environment we wish to create
Please come and see us again soon
Roger Goldsworthy
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Magor
6.2 mi away
St. Pierre Marriott Hotel & Country Club
8.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Newport
3.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Newport
Holiday Inn Newport
#8 of 17 in Newport
578 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Ramada Resort Cwrt Bleddyn Hotel & Spa
10.6 mi away
Best Western Pontypool Metro Hotel
3.7 mi away
Premier Inn Newport Wales (M4, J24) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton by Hilton Newport East? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton by Hilton Newport East

Address: M4 J 23a; Wales 1 Business Park Newport, Magor NP26 3RA, Wales
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > South Wales > Monmouthshire > Magor
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Magor
Price Range: $63 - $136 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton by Hilton Newport East 3*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hampton by Hilton Newport/East is proud to be the first newly built brand hotel providing the perfect location for a visit to South Wales close to Junction 23a of the M4 [Opened September 2010]. Start the day off while enjoying a relaxing hot & cold breakfast in our dining area or in our work zone with our free Wi-Fi or even back to your room for a high speed internet connection. With a focus on unfussy service & great facilities this contemporary hotel is only a 25 minute drive to Cardiff. With an enviable location close to the M4, Newport, Bristol & Cardiff the Hampton by Hilton Newport East hotel puts you near it all. We’re close to Cardiff City with Cardiff Castle, Millennium Stadium & Cardiff also Bristol Hippodrome. Newport train station is 8 miles away; Bristol airport and Cardiff airport are only 34 miles & 26 miles respectively. Whether you’re travelling for business or pleasure the Hampton by Hilton Newport East hotel puts South Wales and Southwest England at your doorstep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hampton by Hilton Newport East reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton By Hilton Newport East Hotel Magor
Hampton By Hilton Newport East Magor, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing