We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“comfortable and clean”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hampton by Hilton Newport East
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Magor
Certificate of Excellence
Bangor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“comfortable and clean”
Reviewed September 9, 2013

The new hotel is by junction 23a on the M4 and it is easy to locate. There is plenty of car park space. Check in is quick and the receptionists friendly.

The room is very clean and the space is adequate for three. The bed is big and comfortable, neither too hard nor too soft. Temperature in the room is adjustable. Although it is by the motorway, it is very quiet. We had a very restful night.

We especially like the bathroom. There is no bath tub but the shower is powerful. Bath and hand towers with shampoo, shower gel and lotion were provided.

Wifi is free but there is no signal beyond the ground floor.

Breakfast is adequate – coffee, tea, fruit juice, yoghurt, cereal, apple, oranges, prepared oranges, grapefruit, bacon, good sausages, scramble eggs, bake beans, toast, croissants and muffins. Breakfast is open till 11:00 a.m. It can be very crowded at times but there are plenty of tables and seats around the ground floor.

We like the hotel and may stay here again if we happen to be in the area.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank esigui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
roger_goldsworthy, General Manager at Hampton by Hilton Newport East, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Many thanks for taking the time to give us your views ,
We try very hard to make this Hotel a fantastic place to stay, and helpful feedback like this is very useful.
I am pleased to say, we have now introduced free WI-FI throughout the Hotel from the 2ed week of September as another benefit to our guests.
Please come and see us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,258 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    630
    439
    128
    42
    19
See reviews for
370
387
57
303
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Walton-On-Thames, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
95 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2013

The hotel is easy to find just seconds from the M4 ( junc 23A ) but unlike others we couldn't hear any noise at night. Very clean room with the sofabed laid out for the kids. Nice extras - alarm/clock/radio, posh telephone, flatscreen TV, tea/coffee and kettle etc. Bathroom was excellent with a great shower ( no bath ). We visited to watch rugby at Rodney Parade which was about 7 miles easy drive away. Breakfast plentiful, hot and cold food was very good.
All in all, £41 for a family room near to the motorway this was very good value.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PaulJacqueline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
roger_goldsworthy, General Manager at Hampton by Hilton Newport East, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Many thanks for taking the time to give us your views ,
We try very hard to make this Hotel a fantastic place to stay, and helpful feedback like this is very useful.
I am pleased to say, we are introducing free WI-FI throughout the Hotel from the 2ed week of September as another benefit to our guests.
Please come and see us again soon.

Roger Goldsworthy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 9, 2013

Great Hotel for the business traveller. A Snack style meal 24/7 if you arrive late and a help yourself breakfast when leaving early in the morning. A shame about the bed, I cant remember the last time I didn't get a nights sleep because of a bed. No springs under the mattress, just a sheet of MDF board.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Carl B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
roger_goldsworthy, General Manager at Hampton by Hilton Newport East, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Many thanks for taking the time to give us your views ,
We try very hard to make this Hotel a fantastic place to stay, and helpful feedback like this is very useful.
The bed is the same specification for all Hampton Hotels in Europe, and the design of the mattress is such that a sprung base is not required ,I am so sorry this affected your sleep, and appreciate the point you make ,this is not an issue we have experianced before, and have a very high sleep quality score on this website, and I do hope this will not deter you from returning.

Sincerely,

Roger Goldsworthy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed September 6, 2013

Used this hotel for an overnight stop, myself, husband and son.
obviously a newly built hotel so everything was in good condition. my son slept on the sofa bed which was already made up and said it was fairly comfortable Our bed seemed fine.the bathroom was ultra modern and provided shampoo,bodywash and creams in dispensers attached to the wall.
The staff were friendly and informative.Breakfast was included and was a choice of hot and cold.
Would definatly stay here again if in the area and could get a good deal on price.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Luvingthesun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
roger_goldsworthy, General Manager at Hampton by Hilton Newport East, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Thank you so much for this review,
We will have been open 3 years as of September 14th and I am pleased you comment on it still looking like new as we take great care in the upkeep and maintenance of the Hotel.
We work hard every day to make the building spotless, and work closely with our team to ensure they give great service and offer the relaxed friendly environment we wish to create
Please come and see us again soon
Roger Goldsworthy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Egypt
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2013

I've stayed at this hotel 4 times it is is by far the best value for money you can get for a hotel. Lovely good sized modern rooms. Staff is very friendly and helpful. Good breakfast included is a bonus. And its close to a local pub the lion, there's also chinese and indian restaurants in Magor.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Salmz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
roger_goldsworthy, General Manager at Hampton by Hilton Newport East, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Thank you very much for your kind words,I'm glad you have chosen to return so many times.
Enormous effort has gone into creating this new UK brand, with the aim to deliver the best Hotel experience within the focused service sector.
The key to delivering this ambition is not only to build high quality Hotels with top of the range fixtures and fittings, but to ensure the quality of the service and welcome match this aim.
When this is recognised with comments such as this my whole team are encouraged to try even harder to make every stay for our guests a great experience.
Thank you
Roger Goldsworthy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed September 2, 2013

Stayed one night in a family room on our way to holiday destination in Pembrokeshire. Just off M4 so easily accessed. Room extremely clean, comfortable beds, ample tea and coffee in room. Full breakfast included at £50.00 excellent value for money. great views from room over Welsh valleys.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
roger_goldsworthy, General Manager at Hampton by Hilton Newport East, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Many thanks for your very kind comments,
we try very hard to make this Hotel a friendly place to stay, and great feedback like this makes it all worthwhile
Roger Goldsworthy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brackley, Northants, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed September 1, 2013

excellent hotel at affordable price, clean quiet excellent rooms. I have stayed at this hotel before and have recommended it to colleagues. A short taxi journet will take you to Magor where there are good pubs and indian restaurants. The breakfast is good but the bacon has been under cooked on several occassions. Everything else about this hotel is excellent.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Eric M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
roger_goldsworthy, General Manager at Hampton by Hilton Newport East, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Thank you so much for this review,
We have now been open just over 2 years and I am proud to say the Hotels looks like new.
We work hard every day to make the building spotless, and work closely with our team to ensure they give great service and offer the relaxed friendly environment we wish to create
Please come and see us again soon
Roger Goldsworthy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Magor
6.2 mi away
St. Pierre Marriott Hotel & Country Club
8.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Newport
3.7 mi away
Premier Inn Newport Wales (M4, J24) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Ramada Resort Cwrt Bleddyn Hotel & Spa
7.1 mi away
Hotel ibis budget Newport
Hotel ibis budget Newport
#10 of 19 in Newport
546 reviews
8.2 mi away
The Parkway Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton by Hilton Newport East? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton by Hilton Newport East

Property: Hampton by Hilton Newport East
Address: M4 J 23a; Wales 1 Business Park Newport, Magor NP26 3RA, Wales
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > South Wales > Monmouthshire > Magor
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Magor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton by Hilton Newport East 3*
Number of rooms: 127
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hampton by Hilton Newport/East is proud to be the first newly built brand hotel providing the perfect location for a visit to South Wales close to Junction 23a of the M4 [Opened September 2010]. Start the day off while enjoying a relaxing hot & cold breakfast in our dining area or in our work zone with our free Wi-Fi or even back to your room for a high speed internet connection. With a focus on unfussy service & great facilities this contemporary hotel is only a 25 minute drive to Cardiff. With an enviable location close to the M4, Newport, Bristol & Cardiff the Hampton by Hilton Newport East hotel puts you near it all. We’re close to Cardiff City with Cardiff Castle, Millennium Stadium & Cardiff also Bristol Hippodrome. Newport train station is 8 miles away; Bristol airport and Cardiff airport are only 34 miles & 26 miles respectively. Whether you’re travelling for business or pleasure the Hampton by Hilton Newport East hotel puts South Wales and Southwest England at your doorstep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hampton by Hilton Newport East reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton By Hilton Newport East Hotel Magor
Hampton By Hilton Newport East Magor, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing