We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another excellent stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hampton by Hilton Newport East
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Magor
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 3, 2013

The hotel opened 2 1/2 years ago, however, in upkeep and appearance it looks like yesterday. This was our 2nd stay - this time for 5 nights. Staff are very welcoming and friendly. Rooms are a good size, quiet, modern and clean - you could eat off the floor! Beds comfortable. Only downside is a lack of storage but then I don't think guests are expected to stay more than a couple of nights. Breakfast has a variety of cereals, hot & cold food, breads, rolls, cakes, teas & coffee. Bar and snack meals, which we found reasonable priced and substantial were available during the day and evening. Located, just off the M4 at Magor Services Junction there is ample free parking. Good location for Newport, Cardiff, the Vale of Glamorgan, the Usk and Wye Valleys, Forest of Dean and the Brecon Beacons all within 1 hours drive.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
1  Thank Martin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
roger_goldsworthy, General Manager at Hampton by Hilton Newport East, responded to this reviewResponded July 4, 2013

Thank you very much for your kind words.
Enormous effort has gone into creating this new UK brand, with the aim to deliver the best Hotel experience within the focused service sector.
The key to delivering this ambition is not only to build high quality Hotels with top of the range fixtures and fittings, but to ensure the quality of the service and welcome match this aim.
When this is recognised with comments such as this my whole team are encouraged to try even harder to make every stay for our guests a great experience.
Thank you
Roger Goldsworthy
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,385)
There are newer reviews for Hampton by Hilton Newport East
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,097 - 1,103 of 1,386 reviews

Reviewed July 3, 2013

Thank God for this place. We made the mistake of getting a megabus to the centre of Newport at midnight on Friday and my god it was scary. Like really scary. So if you’re looking at this hotel because you actively want to have a holiday in Newport then I would very much advice against it. The hotel is reassuringly away from the squalid centre of Newport. The rooms are absolutely lovely and clean and comfy. It’s only accessible by car as it’s like right by the motorway, so don’t go there if you’re looking for views! Although saying that the car park was definitely the most scenic spot in Newport...

Hotel comes with a complimentary buffet breakfast, with cooked and cold options. Lovely little bar/restaurant area. The only drawback was when we checked in there was a mob of rowdy men hollering for pizza and being generally quite grating. Obviously can’t blame the hotel for this. If you’re a complete meat head, please stay somewhere else 

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lurker333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
roger_goldsworthy, General Manager at Hampton by Hilton Newport East, responded to this reviewResponded July 4, 2013

Thank you so much for this great review,
We have now been open just over 2 years and I am proud to say the Hotels looks like new.
We work hard every day to make the building spotless, and work closely with our team to ensure they give great service and offer the relaxed friendly environment we wish to create
Please come and see us again soon
Roger Goldsworthy
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2013

Stayed overnight when attending a wedding at the nearby Celtic Manor resort. The hotel is fairly new and so the rooms were in good condition - a decent size, well maintained and clean. Really easy to get to just off the M4 but the motorway was not intrusive at all- didn't notice any noise. Bed was comfortable and bathroom was simple but had everything you needed (no bath but as we always have a shower that didn't bother us at all).
Breakfast buffet was nice, not loads of choice but more than enough - cereals, toast, croissants and a basic hot selection plus juices teas and coffee. Didn't eat in the evening but the bar menu looked appetising and didn't seem too expensive.
Definitely a step up from a Travelodge - more the standard of a really good Premier Inn / Holiday Inn. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sarah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
roger_goldsworthy, General Manager at Hampton by Hilton Newport East, responded to this reviewResponded July 1, 2013

Many thanks for your great comments.
We are very proud of our Hotel, and all my team thrive on reviews such as this one, it makes all the hard work and effort worthwhile.
Come back and see us soon.
Roger Goldsworthy
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2013

We stayed overnight on June 22, 2013 as part of a coach party. The room was lovely, lacking nothing, with a lovely comfortable bed and useful reading lights. There were good choices for a two-course evening meal, served by pleasant people, and a good breakfast buffet as availble to all guests. At no point were we made to feel we were 'just a coach party' as often happens. The staff were all welcoming and helpful. Thanks to all.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pearl H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
roger_goldsworthy, General Manager at Hampton by Hilton Newport East, responded to this reviewResponded July 1, 2013

Many thanks for your great comments, we loved having you here.
All your kind words are so encouraging to all the team.
Come back and see us soon
Roger Goldsworthy
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

I have passed Hampton many, many times on my way to Newport and Cardiff and I have always avoided staying there - simply because of its location near the M4. Due to other hotels being full I stayed at Hampton last week and remarkably I was VERY impressed; the rooms are elegant, modern, high-quality, the staff were helpful and polite and there was absolutely no noise to be heard from the motorway. There was a pleasant atmosphere in the bar area and parking was safe, free and ample. Add to that a good price and the overall experience was way beyond expectations. Thank you Hampton by Hilton, I will be staying again in the very near future.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jbumley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
roger_goldsworthy, General Manager at Hampton by Hilton Newport East, responded to this reviewResponded July 1, 2013

Thank you very much for your kind words,I'm glad we gave you a nice supprise.
Enormous effort has gone into creating this new UK brand, with the aim to deliver the best Hotel experience within the focused service sector.
The key to delivering this ambition is not only to build high quality Hotels with top of the range fixtures and fittings, but to ensure the quality of the service and welcome match this aim.
When this is recognised with comments such as this my whole team are encouraged to try even harder to make every stay for our guests a great experience.
Thank you
Roger Goldsworthy
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

I have stayed here a few times, the first stay shortly after the hotel opened. This stay was much like the previous ones. The rooms are clean, a good size and well maintained. The bathrooms are well designed. The staff are friendly and helpful. I have not found there is any intrusive noise from the M4 in any of the rooms, having stayed at each end of the building. The choice of food at breakfast is decent, always has what I want and staff replenish everything during the course of breakfast time. I can't really fault this hotel.
The hotel is a good base for exploring the surrounding area. There's plenty of interesting places a short drive away.
It takes 15 minutes to walk from the hotel to the Square in Magor where there are two pubs that do good food.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BrianBasil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
roger_goldsworthy, General Manager at Hampton by Hilton Newport East, responded to this reviewResponded July 1, 2013

Many thanks for your great comments, we loved having you here.
All your kind words are so encouraging to all the team.
Come back and see us soon
Roger Goldsworthy
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

The hotel provided an excellent location for our overnight stop. The staff were very helpful and friendly. The room was comfortable but rather small. OK for a one night stay but not ideal for a family staying for longer. Also having no WIFI connection for our I-pads in the room was somewhat disappointing. Free parking was a bonus. The breakfast was limited in selection but the quality was good. The hotel ticked all the boxes for our brief overnight stay and we're happy to recommend it.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank thewelshminstrel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
roger_goldsworthy, General Manager at Hampton by Hilton Newport East, responded to this reviewResponded July 1, 2013

Thank you for your positive comments; I share all these reviews with every member of my team.
We use them to acknowledge all the good things we do, and allow me to thank them all for all the effort and hard work that goes into running a successful business

Roger Goldsworthy
General Manager
Hampton by Hilton

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Magor
6.2 mi away
St. Pierre Marriott Hotel & Country Club
8.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Newport
8.2 mi away
The Parkway Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.3 mi away
Best Western Royal George Hotel
5.1 mi away
The Priory Hotel & Restaurant
3.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Newport
Holiday Inn Newport
#7 of 18 in Newport
549 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton by Hilton Newport East? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton by Hilton Newport East

Address: M4 J 23a; Wales 1 Business Park Newport, Magor NP26 3RA, Wales
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > South Wales > Monmouthshire > Magor
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Magor
Price Range: $61 - $139 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton by Hilton Newport East 3*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hampton by Hilton Newport/East is proud to be the first newly built brand hotel providing the perfect location for a visit to South Wales close to Junction 23a of the M4 [Opened September 2010]. Start the day off while enjoying a relaxing hot & cold breakfast in our dining area or in our work zone with our free Wi-Fi or even back to your room for a high speed internet connection. With a focus on unfussy service & great facilities this contemporary hotel is only a 25 minute drive to Cardiff. With an enviable location close to the M4, Newport, Bristol & Cardiff the Hampton by Hilton Newport East hotel puts you near it all. We’re close to Cardiff City with Cardiff Castle, Millennium Stadium & Cardiff also Bristol Hippodrome. Newport train station is 8 miles away; Bristol airport and Cardiff airport are only 34 miles & 26 miles respectively. Whether you’re travelling for business or pleasure the Hampton by Hilton Newport East hotel puts South Wales and Southwest England at your doorstep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hampton by Hilton Newport East reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton By Hilton Newport East Hotel Magor
Hampton By Hilton Newport East Magor, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing