We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hampton continues to impress”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hampton by Hilton Newport East
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Magor
Certificate of Excellence
Brighton
Level Contributor
65 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Hampton continues to impress”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2013 via mobile

This is the second Hampton I've stayed in after Liverpool and again I was impressed. Room was spotless and free parking was a plus. The only downside is that there is no wifi in the room, only free Internet with cable. Food served at night should really be changed, what a shame the menu is so unappetising.

Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank JeanPierreBrighton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,259 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    630
    439
    129
    42
    19
See reviews for
371
387
57
303
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wales
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2013

The hotel is fresh and clean. Staff are friendly and helpful. It provided us with a great base for a family of four visiting Cardiff. Whilst there is nothing around the hotel it is ideally based on the dual carriageway which allows easy access to South Wales. Excellent value for money - especially the complimentary breakfast.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newport, south wales
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2013 via mobile

Booked at last minute and was a bit cautious due to the cheap price. But when we arrived I was utterly shock on how amazing the hotel was. Staff were
Lovely and the room was awesome. Nice bed. The bathroom was awesome and over a nice atmosphere. I recommend it to anyone who needs a cheap night stay because I will Defo be coming back! Thanks Hampton. Great hotel

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NCFC_09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2013

Well located from the M4, the rooms are clean, modern, and well appointed, a comfortable nights stay. Can't say the same about the food though, dinner meals were just about acceptable, breakfast reminded me of container meals in the field on operations in the Army, I would recommend just sticking to toast, cereals and coffee! for dinner try the old barn just up the road!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlanandGill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chelmsford, essex
Level Contributor
118 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2013

I stayed here on business in January for one night. To be honest I was shocked at the standard of the hotel for the princely sum of £49. What a bargain.

I can honestly say it is one of the best budget hotels I have stayed in, and I stay in a lot as part of my job. The good points are as follows.

- The rooms are great, with a good selection of TV channels on an LCD TV.
- The rooms in line with the rest of the hotel are very modern and clean
- Service was good and prompt.
- free wifi and cable Internet in the room
- Breakfast was OK with a selection of continental and cooked breakfast items.


although the hotel backs onto the M4 do not be put off as you can't here the traffic at all.

the only negatives I had was that my air con didn't work very well which meant I woke up in the night freezing and could not getting to heat up. Also the gym was very small. Really it was another room with a treadmill and few over bits of kit in, although all the equipment was new.

If you want something to eat take a walk less than a mile into Magor where there is one of the best median restaurants I have ever eaten in called the Magor. there is also a nice little pubon the corner.

Room Tip: Take a top floor room if possible. No traffic noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bustergrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2013

We lit upon this hotel when looking for a reasonably priced 2 night break as it 's near some relatives. It was pretty easy to find though the road from the motorway junction is under going work (January 2013) and we found ourselves going round a bit the first time. More visible signage would have helped especially when finding our way in the dark. The roadworks signage may be outside Hampton by Hilton's hands so cannot hold that against them and as the hotel is very visible we got there eventually. We paid £78 for 2 people for the 2 nights that included breakfast.
Reception was not busy and the welcome warm and efficient. The staggered holiday breakfast times were explained, and backed up in writing. Our first night was very quiet and the staff had time to deal with questions and serve at the bar speedily. The concept of the Hampton is well thought out, with access to food and drinks 24 hours a day. The bar and eating area were clean and tidy though a little draught was present at one point. The breakfast is a pretty good deal considering the price and complete self service. The bacon and sausages looked a bit tired on the second morning. The bread and pastries seemed fresh, the orange juice was tasty and the coffee of good quality.
We had a meal on the first night; you order at the bar from the menu set out; it came promptly though was obviously pre-prepared and put together locally. For the price it was OK but not spectacular. Other reviewers have pointed out places to go nearby if that's your preference. If I had to stay longer and have evening meals there I may choose to go out for some of the nights if I needed a bigger meal.
The second floor room was more spacious than recent Marriott's we've used; it was well thought out and quiet. Considering how close the hotel is to the M4 the traffic noise was minimal though a reduced flow because of holiday season may have helped that.
I have included pictures of the bathroom, with its spacious shower, and wide space for one's kit, and other room views. The bathroom and wardrobe shared the same sliding glass door - see the pictures. The wardrobe had the hairdryer and ironing board, though only a couple of hangers. I would presume they would supply more if asked. The bed was comfortably firm - nearly as good as a Marriott bed - the pillows were good too. The temperature was easy to control and keep at a pleasant level.
There were plenty of easily accessible plugs for charging phones, laptops etc - about 6 or 7.
What I did notice was the dust on the horizontal surfaces in the corridors; along the tops of fire equipment and switches etc. Even allowing for reduced staffing over the Christmas and New Year holiday period it seemed to be excessive and a sign of things not quite followed up.
In addition the glasses from the bathroom we used for drinking water were not moved from where we had left them on our return. The bin outside the entrance door was full on our arrival and was not emptied during our stay.
So apart from the housekeeping comments I would recommend staying here; it clearly has a good base of business users as well as families. I would consider using it and sister hotels in the future. Just deal with the dust and it could be excellent.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room when booking
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NotquiteRon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes
Level Contributor
217 reviews
166 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 227 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2013

I have stayed in lots of Premier Inns and Holiday Inn Express Hotels and this is the same sort of price bracket. For the New Year period though rooms were only £39 and you got a much better breakfast than the HIE, I felt. Mostly though, I think Hilton ought to be congratulated on doing this niche of the market in the UK with style. The bar area was well done, the staff were friendly and efficient on the whole (they could tighten up the cleaning around at breakfast), but the rooms were great. We overlooked the car park so it was quiet, and there was everything you needed with a lovely bathroom. Would certainly stop again and look at others in the brand!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BoldlyGO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Magor
6.2 mi away
St. Pierre Marriott Hotel & Country Club
8.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Newport
3.7 mi away
Premier Inn Newport Wales (M4, J24) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Ramada Resort Cwrt Bleddyn Hotel & Spa
3.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Newport
Holiday Inn Newport
#9 of 19 in Newport
3.5 of 5 bubbles 503 reviews
8.2 mi away
The Parkway Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton by Hilton Newport East? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton by Hilton Newport East

Property: Hampton by Hilton Newport East
Address: M4 J 23a; Wales 1 Business Park Newport, Magor NP26 3RA, Wales
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > South Wales > Monmouthshire > Magor
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Magor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton by Hilton Newport East 3*
Number of rooms: 127
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hampton by Hilton Newport/East is proud to be the first newly built brand hotel providing the perfect location for a visit to South Wales close to Junction 23a of the M4 [Opened September 2010]. Start the day off while enjoying a relaxing hot & cold breakfast in our dining area or in our work zone with our free Wi-Fi or even back to your room for a high speed internet connection. With a focus on unfussy service & great facilities this contemporary hotel is only a 25 minute drive to Cardiff. With an enviable location close to the M4, Newport, Bristol & Cardiff the Hampton by Hilton Newport East hotel puts you near it all. We’re close to Cardiff City with Cardiff Castle, Millennium Stadium & Cardiff also Bristol Hippodrome. Newport train station is 8 miles away; Bristol airport and Cardiff airport are only 34 miles & 26 miles respectively. Whether you’re travelling for business or pleasure the Hampton by Hilton Newport East hotel puts South Wales and Southwest England at your doorstep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hampton by Hilton Newport East reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton By Hilton Newport East Hotel Magor
Hampton By Hilton Newport East Magor, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing