We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton by Hilton Newport East
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Magor
Certificate of Excellence
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed December 9, 2012

Loved our room at the Hampton by Hilton.
Visiting family in Chepstow.
we had a phone call a month before our stay as we needed a travel cot and sofa bed up In our room and they advised would be a squeeze. But we found perfectly enough space.
was spoken to within second of arriving. Explained where everything was. Did not expect there to be a gym or place to eat there.
Very happy with room. Very clean. Bed very comfy. Tea and coffee in room. Iron, hairdryer. Shampoos etc in room.
I loved the picture in the room also.
Free breakfast. We all loved.
very modern.
very happy will be staying there again and when going anywhere else will be looking for a Hampton by Hilton first to stay in.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank haylzmckeon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,331 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    651
    464
    142
    50
    24
See reviews for
393
417
59
320
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed December 7, 2012

Stayed in there with my partner on our way to Cardiff, the hotel is really close to the motorway but not too close to disturb you. Great views from some of the rooms. The room was impeccable! Pretty standard but cleaned to a very high standard. Complimentary breakfast was simple and pretty basic but tasty nonetheless. Very good value for money. Would definitely stay again! well recommended!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Posthuman_Kind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
llanelli
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed December 5, 2012

Stayed at Hilton by Hampton just off junction 23a M4 because Autumn Rugby International in Cardiff and hotels in city either too expensive or full. Had very good price at Hampton by Hilton £62.80 B&B. Staff welcoming, room very well designed, comfortable and clean and breakfast choices better than expected considering what we were paying. Would highly recommend and if you don't actually mind not being in the centre of Cardiff City and having to cope with traffic and finding and paying for parking then the Hampton is a perfect choice.

Room Tip: Good views of the motorway!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank patchand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aberystwyth
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2012

This is a brand new hotel alongside the M4 and never having stayed at a Hampton before we were pleasantly surprised.Our room on the 4th floor was modern,comfortable and clean with a modern decor.Inside was a modern flat screen tv and a nice seating area.A sliding,frosted glass door closed either the bathroom or the wardrobe.We liked the modern bathroom,particularly the shower.In the morning the breakfast was excellent(except for the sausages),with a good choice to suit everyone.They even give you a free newspaper.
We slept well but from our room on the 4th floor we could hear the traffic on the motorway and a rattling noise from the roof .It wasn't very noisy and the rattling was due to the high winds.
Overall this is a wonderful little hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank stephen d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2012

We've stayed here twice now, and love the rooms, especially for the price you pay! (£50/60)
It's very clean, pretty quiet and offers free parking & free breakfast.
Although it's on the side of the M4, you do not hear traffic noise, it's very well insulated.
The rooms are really well furnished and really good size; it's all pretty new, flat screen TV, coffee/tea facilities in the room, hairdryer, laundry service...
It's 20 mins from Cardiff, which is perfect for us, spending the day in Cardiff, sleepover in Magor and on the road back to London the next day.
The breakfast is standard, not the best quality food (except for the mini hash brown, yummy), but it's free!
If you're after a great dinner place, Magor is a cute little village a couple of minutes down the road with a Gastropub and an amazing indian restaurant (the Mango House) on the square.
All in all, a highly recommended hotel for a stopover or couple of nights.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank THANDACREATIONS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
roger_goldsworthy, General Manager at Hampton by Hilton Newport East, responded to this review, November 22, 2012
Many thanks for your great comments, we loved having you here.
Come back and see us soon
Roger Goldsworthy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KIRKCALDY
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 18, 2012

Exellent hotel very clean rooms lobby and everwhere around the hotel. friendly staff, choice of good variety cooked breakfast which was included and value for money. Easy access from the motorway and to Newport and Cardiff. Most of all i liked the idea of having a fitness suite because you turn to pile up a lot of weight while on holiday by just eating and chilling. Stayed there for 2 nights only but wished we had stayed there the whole week. Would definately go back the next time we visit wales and would also recomend. Resoanable menu prices as well.

Room Tip: rooms away from the motorway are more quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FUNGAI M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
roger_goldsworthy, General Manager at Hampton by Hilton Newport East, responded to this review, November 22, 2012
Many thanks for your great comments, we loved having you here.
All your kind words are so encouraging to all the team.
Come back and see us soon
Roger Goldsworthy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benfleet, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2012

Stayed overnight on the way to Ireland and was ideal as just off the M4. That said, you can't hear any noise at all from the motorway. Rooms clean, shower good, beds comfortable. Very surprised at the choice available at the complimentary breakfast, something for everyone. Would be our first choice if we needed to stop in this area again due to value for money.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
roger_goldsworthy, General Manager at Hampton by Hilton Newport East, responded to this review, November 22, 2012
Many thanks for your great comments, we loved having you here.
All your kind words are so encouraging to all the team.
Come back and see us soon
Roger Goldsworthy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Magor
8.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Newport
6.2 mi away
St. Pierre Marriott Hotel & Country Club
3.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Newport
Holiday Inn Newport
#9 of 18 in Newport
528 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Coldra Court Hotel
Coldra Court Hotel
#2 of 2 in Langstone
384 reviews
5.1 mi away
The Priory Hotel & Restaurant
8.6 mi away
Glen-yr-Afon House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton by Hilton Newport East? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton by Hilton Newport East

Property: Hampton by Hilton Newport East
Address: M4 J 23a; Wales 1 Business Park Newport, Magor NP26 3RA, Wales
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > South Wales > Monmouthshire > Magor
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Magor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton by Hilton Newport East 3*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hampton by Hilton Newport/East is proud to be the first newly built brand hotel providing the perfect location for a visit to South Wales close to Junction 23a of the M4 [Opened September 2010]. Start the day off while enjoying a relaxing hot & cold breakfast in our dining area or in our work zone with our free Wi-Fi or even back to your room for a high speed internet connection. With a focus on unfussy service & great facilities this contemporary hotel is only a 25 minute drive to Cardiff. With an enviable location close to the M4, Newport, Bristol & Cardiff the Hampton by Hilton Newport East hotel puts you near it all. We’re close to Cardiff City with Cardiff Castle, Millennium Stadium & Cardiff also Bristol Hippodrome. Newport train station is 8 miles away; Bristol airport and Cardiff airport are only 34 miles & 26 miles respectively. Whether you’re travelling for business or pleasure the Hampton by Hilton Newport East hotel puts South Wales and Southwest England at your doorstep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hilton EMEA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Agoda so you can book your Hampton by Hilton Newport East reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton By Hilton Newport East Hotel Magor
Hampton By Hilton Newport East Magor, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing