We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hampton by Hilton Newport East
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Magor
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 9, 2012

Booked this hotel for a Saturday as we were visiting Cardiff on the Sunday. We booked the room through expedia getting it for £49, making it cheaper than Premier Inns and Travelodges in the area on the same night, and at this price it was really very good value for money. Although the hotel is visible from the motorway its actually quite tricky to find although this was mostly bcause of some roadworks happening when we visited. The hotel is located in the middle of nowhere and from the outside is nothing much to look at. However inside it is all much smarter however. We were checked in quickly and efficiently and were in our room moments after entering the hotel.

The rooms are definitely a strength of this hotel, although not huge they are very comfortable and you do feel like you're in a more expensive hotel. The bed is comfy, there is a sofa with footstool and the bathroom is great with good shower and plenty of shampoos etc. to use.

The breakfast in the morning was great for a free breakfast, all the food tasted good and there was enough choice of hot and cold. My only problem with it was that you get small plates for the hot food, presumably to discourage taking more than you need, but actually just made it quite difficult to eat off. There was also copies of the Independent on Sunday to read during breakfast which was a bonus as my wife never makes it down to breakfast and saved my feeling uncomfortable sat on my own.

The only things letting this hotel down is its location. We knew it was outside Cardiff when we booked but it takes much longer getting in and out of Cardiff than google maps had led me to believe at any time of day. Considering there is so little in the area they could do with offering a better menu as we were looking for some dinner but avoided the bar as there was only a very limited offering. We then set off in our car to try and find something to eat and ended up driving all the way into Cardiff to find somewhere to east.

That aside we had a lovely stay at this hotel and would absolutely book again at a similar or even slightly higher price.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank djmcmorris21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
roger_goldsworthy, General Manager at Hampton by Hilton Newport East, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2012

Many thanks for this great review .
Everytime I receive excellent comments such as these it encourages us all at the Hotel to try even harder.
It makes all the hard work seem worth while .
Roger Goldsworthy
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,383)
There are newer reviews for Hampton by Hilton Newport East
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,208 - 1,214 of 1,383 reviews

Reviewed October 8, 2012

last minute booking through expedia , very good value hotel with complimentary buffet breakfast,
friendly staff and very clean, convenient to motorway not to far away from newport or cardiff, approx half hour from bristol, will certainly consider this hotel for our next trip to this area

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank philip w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
roger_goldsworthy, General Manager at Hampton by Hilton Newport East, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2012

Many thanks for your very kind comments,
we try very hard to make this Hotel a friendly place to stay, and great feedback like this makes it all worthwhile
Roger Goldsworthy
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2012

Modern Hotel within an industrial area.There is plenty of parking and low kerbs which makes moving luggage easier .The lobby area is bright and spacious and the staff very helpful .The rooms are very pleasant but we really did not like the shared glass door for the Bathroom and wardrobe which made getting up in the night for the toilet awkward with out disturbing anyone else sleeping.Another downside the windows do not open and the air conditioning tends to kick in at will all night .The bed was very very hard and impossible for me to get any restful sleep.The breakfast choice was excellent plenty to eat and drink.Great location for visting South Wales and very handy for M4 and English border.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank daytriplad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
roger_goldsworthy, General Manager at Hampton by Hilton Newport East, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2012

Thank you for all the lovely comments
Indeed, we pride ourselves in offering 4 star accommodation and service at a budget price.
Beds of course are a very personnel choice and I fully accept we cannot supply a mattress to suit all tastes, but in all other aspects I am pleased you loved the Hotel.
And as you noted all our rates include free breakfast, and free Wi Fi.
Please come and see us again soon
Roger Goldsworthy
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2012

Having stayed at numerous hotels in numerous cities, I have to say this was one of the most pleasant experiences I have had. This place is a no hassles, clean and quiet hotel with non-pushy staff and great service.

The rooms are exceptionally clean and large. Maintained to a high standard. The beds are comfortable. Airconditioning, wired internet and telephones in rooms. Accessible rooms available for those with disability. Elevators, free buffet style hot and cold breakfast (all you can eat), large toilets with all usual accessories..... i could go on and on.

Only features lacking: No pool / jaccuzzi, No wireless internet on top floors (in todays world of IPADs and smart phones this is really a must and can be arranged cheaply im sure).

Overall: Excellent hotel which I would highly recommend to single businessmen, couples and those with families.

Room Tip: Take a laptop with you rather than your ipad since internet is wired and requires an ethernet port
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Asim K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
roger_goldsworthy, General Manager at Hampton by Hilton Newport East, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2012

Thank you very much for your kind words.
Enormous effort has gone into creating this new UK brand, with the aim to deliver the best Hotel experience within the focused service sector.
The key to delivering this ambition is not only to build high quality Hotels with top of the range fixtures and fittings, but to ensure the quality of the service and welcome match this aim.
When this is recognised with comments such as this my whole team are encouraged to try even harder to make every stay for our guests a great experience.

Roger Goldsworthy
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2012

Lovely clean hotel on the Premier Inn style but more upmarket. Only a few minutes from motorway but very handy for touring South Wales. Breakfast normally included was what I would describe as continental plus with some hot food; eggs, bacon, sausage, beans etc plus usual continental items and as much as you can eat. Only downside is no restaurant and only cakes and salad boxes as snacks. Plenty of info in room for local eateries though.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank webntweb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
roger_goldsworthy, General Manager at Hampton by Hilton Newport East, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2012

I am pleased to say there has now been a new Hampton by Hilton brand menu launched, which will be introduced to all of the UK properties.
The emphasis has been to offer a varied range of foods, more vegetarian dishes and more fish, which is in response to the helpful suggestions we have had from all the Hotel locations.
We design our food offer to meet the expectations and price point of the market we aim for, which allows us to deliver the most competitive prices in this market, both for room rate and catering.
I very much hope all our future guests will appreciate the improvements we have made.

Roger Goldsworthy
General Manager
Hampton by Hilton

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2012

We stayed on the way back from a trip to Cornwall and found it quite pleasant. Although a bit of a pain to reach initially due to road works. Rooms were nice and spacious but the rooms only have queen beds. Lovely check in/lounge area and nice breakfast,complimentary. Only drawback was no wifi in the rooms even though the brand name offers it in all rooms in all their hotels.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steven G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
roger_goldsworthy, General Manager at Hampton by Hilton Newport East, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2012

Many thanks for this great review.
Every time I receive excellent comments such as these it encourages us all at the Hotel to try even harder.
It makes all the hard work seem worthwhile.
I am glad to say we are currently in the process of upgrading our internet cabling which will allow us to offer free WI-FI throughout the Hotel, as we only have free cabled internet access in our bedrooms at present .
I look forward to welcoming back to the Hotel soon
Roger Goldsworthy
General Manager
Hampton by Hilton

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2012

a bit hard to find due to roadworks, which meant that you could see it but not get to it. Parking dead easy. Welcome was good. We had a top floor room; the lift was prompt although had slightly annoying US-accented floor announcements.
Hotel only has queen rooms, with potential for a sofa bed. I'm not one for glazed bathroom doors, which this hotel has. I couldn't find a suitcase stand, which meant grovelling on the floor.
Lighting was good- led downlighters and reading lights. Overall a bit on the small side.
Breakfast was standard Hampton by Hilton, although only regular coffee was provided.
Clearly a popular choice, as it was same price as the Hilton a couple of miles down the road.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ethelman2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
roger_goldsworthy, General Manager at Hampton by Hilton Newport East, responded to this reviewResponded September 21, 2012

Many thanks for your helpful response, as a relatively new Hotel we are grateful for all the feedback we receive so we may continually review our standards.
Myself and my team look forward to welcoming you back to the Hotel soon

Sincerely,

Roger Goldsworthy
General Manager
Hampton by Hilton

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Magor
8.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Newport
6.2 mi away
St. Pierre Marriott Hotel & Country Club
8.2 mi away
The Parkway Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
The Priory Hotel & Restaurant
10.3 mi away
Best Western Royal George Hotel
3.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Newport
Holiday Inn Newport
#9 of 18 in Newport
547 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton by Hilton Newport East? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton by Hilton Newport East

Address: M4 J 23a; Wales 1 Business Park Newport, Magor NP26 3RA, Wales
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > South Wales > Monmouthshire > Magor
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Magor
Price Range: $60 - $143 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton by Hilton Newport East 3*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hampton by Hilton Newport/East is proud to be the first newly built brand hotel providing the perfect location for a visit to South Wales close to Junction 23a of the M4 [Opened September 2010]. Start the day off while enjoying a relaxing hot & cold breakfast in our dining area or in our work zone with our free Wi-Fi or even back to your room for a high speed internet connection. With a focus on unfussy service & great facilities this contemporary hotel is only a 25 minute drive to Cardiff. With an enviable location close to the M4, Newport, Bristol & Cardiff the Hampton by Hilton Newport East hotel puts you near it all. We’re close to Cardiff City with Cardiff Castle, Millennium Stadium & Cardiff also Bristol Hippodrome. Newport train station is 8 miles away; Bristol airport and Cardiff airport are only 34 miles & 26 miles respectively. Whether you’re travelling for business or pleasure the Hampton by Hilton Newport East hotel puts South Wales and Southwest England at your doorstep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hampton by Hilton Newport East reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton By Hilton Newport East Hotel Magor
Hampton By Hilton Newport East Magor, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing