We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overnight stay returning from holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hampton by Hilton Newport East
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Magor
Certificate of Excellence
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Overnight stay returning from holiday”
Reviewed September 18, 2012

We booked this hotel following a holiday in Devon to visit family before returning home. The hotel was exactly 2 years old on the date of arrival and we were given a free cupcake to celebrate. The room was modern, well presented and comfortable.

The breakfast was buffet style, but there was a good choice of traditional cooked breakfast and other foods and drinks. The dining area was spacious and comfortable

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AndrewandGill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
roger_goldsworthy, General Manager at Hampton by Hilton Newport East, responded to this review, September 19, 2012
Thank you for all the lovely comments
Indeed, we pride ourselves in offering 4 star accommodation and service at a budget price.
And as you noted all our rates include free breakfast, and free Wi Fi.
Please come and see us again soon
Roger Goldsworthy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,357 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    667
    471
    143
    51
    25
See reviews for
407
423
59
325
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed September 15, 2012

Excellent hotel! Stayed for one evening, really cheap as well!! In a quiet location, our room and views of fields on one side and the motorway on the other side, although at night and during the day you could not hear a peep! We had an accessable room as my partner is disabled and the room was so spacious, luxurious and just amazing and modern. Staff were so polite and the free breakfast in the morning was also great!! There was a good choice of bacon, sausages, egg, toast, cereals, musilli, yoghurt, muffins etc. Hot drinks and fresh juice! Brilliant all round and would definatly consider returning! The only let down is the bar food menu, there isnt much choice

Room Tip: Have the accessable room and bring food or eat out at Mango House as the bar food is awful as there...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Louise_Phil_1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
roger_goldsworthy, General Manager at Hampton by Hilton Newport East, responded to this review, September 17, 2012
I’m so glad you enjoyed your stay, to receive such positive comments is very encouraging to all the team here in Newport.
Please come and see us again soon
Roger Goldsworthy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2012 via mobile

Stayed there for two days and had a great time. The beef madras is very good. The staff is fabulous. They do whatever they can to make it right. hotel is convenient to the motorway and you cannot hear a thing. The rooms are well decorated and lots of wall socket someone thought about the traveller with lots of gadgets thank you. To make it perfect please make wireless available for free in the bedrooms, I appreciate a free wired connection but nowadays iPhone and iPad are common.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank southdevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
roger_goldsworthy, General Manager at Hampton by Hilton Newport East, responded to this review, September 18, 2012
Many thanks for your very kind comments,
we try very hard to make this Hotel a friendly place to stay, and great feedback like this makes it all worthwhile
Roger Goldsworthy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2012

we stayed here for three nights while attending a wedding in the area.

The hotel was clean, comfortable and exceeded my (our) expectations. Staff couldn't do more to help - ie delivering out late room service order (instead of us having to go to the bar to collect) after we arrived quite late the first night.

We had a family room with two double beds - I guess the room was slightly cramped when all the beds were down - but hey ho, we were there to sleep! Room cleanliness etc excellent. I didn't notice many facilities around the hotel - but for people like us who were there to sleep/have a snack/have a drink it wasn't an issue.

We got a fantastic deal and would certainly go back if we found ourselves in the area again.

Thank you to all concerned :)

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MazzerP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
roger_goldsworthy, General Manager at Hampton by Hilton Newport East, responded to this review, September 18, 2012
I’m so glad you enjoyed your stay, to receive such positive comments is very encouraging to all the team here in Newport.
Please come and see us again soon
Roger Goldsworthy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
49 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2012

We have stayed here 3 times now as one night stopovers. The quality of the rooms are excellent. They are very comfortable. We never fail to have a good night's sleep before carrying on with our journey. The breakfast is reasonable, cereals and pastries, fruit, although the cooked items sometimes leave a little to be desired. However, there is food to eat and no one need leave hungry (and according to the hotel write up it is complementary, so we have no complaints). The views from some of the rooms look over the motorway to the beautiful hills beyond. I would thoroughly recommend this hotel, even for a short stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Philip W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
roger_goldsworthy, General Manager at Hampton by Hilton Newport East, responded to this review, September 17, 2012
Thank you very much for your kind words.
Enormous effort has gone into creating this new UK brand, with the aim to deliver the best Hotel experience within the focused service sector.
The key to delivering this ambition is not only to build high quality Hotels with top of the range fixtures and fittings, but to ensure the quality of the service and welcome match this aim.
When this is recognised with comments such as this my whole team are encouraged to try even harder to make every stay for our guests a great experience.

Roger Goldsworthy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2012

Stayed at this hotel for one night, i only wish we knew how good it was going to be because we would have stayed longer.
The staff were lovely and very helpful, service with a genuine smile goes along way!
We felt truly spoiled with the room we were given. Sea view! Totally unexpected! Lovely cosy bed and sofa bed which my daughter loved having to herself. Walk-in shower was lovely with top quality shampoo, conditioner and shower gel, my partner had several showers in the short space we were there.
Accessories- internet connection point, iron and iron board, hair dryer, kettle with tea, coffee, milk, herbal tea's, sugar and cups, tv oh it goes on...
We also enjoyed the fitness room, got a great little work out after eating the lovely included 'help yourself' breakfast bar with endless options supplied. The orange juice tasted like it had just been freshly squeezed, my partner loved the bacon and grapefruit peices, my daughter enjoyed her yoghurt and chocolate muffn and i enjoyed the coffee, toast and blueberry muffin, there were an endless variety of things to have no one would go hungry here!
We will absolutely go again in the future.

Room Tip: The Queen Room was great value. I still can't believe how cheap and yet so perfect it was. You c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank laura d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
roger_goldsworthy, General Manager at Hampton by Hilton Newport East, responded to this review, September 6, 2012
Thank you for your great comments,
I am very pleased you had such an excellent time, and we hope we can look after you again very soon
Roger Goldsworthy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
devon
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2012

Stayed for 2 nights and would certainly stay again..modern rooms,free wi fi,very comfortable beds.my only dislike about room was frosted glass bathroom door,if the bathroom was used at night the whole room was brightly lit.breakfast was included with great choice available.would recommend.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank baileyDevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
roger_goldsworthy, General Manager at Hampton by Hilton Newport East, responded to this review, August 29, 2012
Thank you for your review.
I am very glad you enjoyed your stay so much.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the Hotel soon.
Roger Goldsworthy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Magor
8.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Newport
6.2 mi away
St. Pierre Marriott Hotel & Country Club
3.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Newport
Holiday Inn Newport
#9 of 18 in Newport
534 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
The Priory Hotel & Restaurant
8.2 mi away
The Parkway Hotel & Spa
3.7 mi away
Coldra Court Hotel
Coldra Court Hotel
#2 of 2 in Langstone
399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton by Hilton Newport East? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton by Hilton Newport East

Property: Hampton by Hilton Newport East
Address: M4 J 23a; Wales 1 Business Park Newport, Magor NP26 3RA, Wales
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > South Wales > Monmouthshire > Magor
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Magor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton by Hilton Newport East 3*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hampton by Hilton Newport/East is proud to be the first newly built brand hotel providing the perfect location for a visit to South Wales close to Junction 23a of the M4 [Opened September 2010]. Start the day off while enjoying a relaxing hot & cold breakfast in our dining area or in our work zone with our free Wi-Fi or even back to your room for a high speed internet connection. With a focus on unfussy service & great facilities this contemporary hotel is only a 25 minute drive to Cardiff. With an enviable location close to the M4, Newport, Bristol & Cardiff the Hampton by Hilton Newport East hotel puts you near it all. We’re close to Cardiff City with Cardiff Castle, Millennium Stadium & Cardiff also Bristol Hippodrome. Newport train station is 8 miles away; Bristol airport and Cardiff airport are only 34 miles & 26 miles respectively. Whether you’re travelling for business or pleasure the Hampton by Hilton Newport East hotel puts South Wales and Southwest England at your doorstep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Cancelon, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hampton by Hilton Newport East reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton By Hilton Newport East Hotel Magor
Hampton By Hilton Newport East Magor, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing