We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quoth the raven...........”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Llanvihangel Crucorney
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Skirrid Mountain Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Abergavenny, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Quoth the raven...........”
Reviewed July 12, 2010

Aggressive barman, mediocre pub grub - worst chips I have experienced so far in the UK.
Accommodation was not required - just an evening meal. Not a pleasant experience, with sticky tables, and a perception of homophobia as the barman's aggression heightened - although there is no proof of homophobia. Not a nice atmosphere for two blokes together.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank bibleclass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Skirrid Mountain Inn, responded to this review, July 24, 2010
I am the owner of the Skirrid Inn and the person referred to as the aggressive barman. The wonderful gentleman who posted the review forgot to mention that he was openly smoking in the main bar some 3 years after the ban. He showed total disregard for other customers, my licence or the law. This conduct is unnacceptable to me and I believe my response was proportionate.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

242 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    133
    67
    19
    12
    11
See reviews for
42
91
6
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wales
1 review
Reviewed February 20, 2010

On arrival we were welcomed by Geoff, who was very friendly, he gave us our room keys and let us get settled. Food was second to none and cooked to perfection, One friend stated it was the best steak she had ever had!!! and very reasonable price. steak at 10.50, I had fish which was 7.95 and delicious.
Geoff told us some history about the pub, then recommended we visit the near-by graveyard, he then left us to our own devices, we had a paranormal free night, and bacon rolls for breakfast...........we thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. would definitely go back..

  • Stayed February 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trixa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newport
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2009

second stay at the skirrid inn and just as good as the first ,stayed in room 2 this time and friends kath &stuart stayed in room 1 ,geoff & sharon are still the perfect hosts {nothing to much trouble} . we ate at the skirrid in the evening and it was excellent {recomend the lamb shanks} unfortunately still hav,nt seen any ghosts , never mind will have to try again next year, i highly recomend a stay at thiswonderful historical inn. thanks geoff all our best wishes terry & nikki {tells tavern awaits}.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank telnik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wales
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2009

arrived as guests left as friends
enjoyed our stay
food excellent
staff warm and friendly
totally relaxing time for us both
will stay again

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank saasteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barry
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 9, 2009

I recently stayed at the skirrid mounain inn and am very happy with my stay the staff where very friendly and helpfull. Food was gorgeous and the whole place had a lovely feel to it. The room we stayed in was very comfortable and cosey. Nothing was too much trouble for the hosts to be honest we probably did there head in asking questions about the place and it's alleged ghostly sightings. I will definately return to the skirrid soon.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emma30Barry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, Wales
Level Contributor
42 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2009

We called in here for a bite to eat at lunchtime on the late spring bank holiday Monday. The staff were friendly enough, but for a pub that boasts its history and its reputed ghosts as a major selling point, I was disappointed to find that not only did the bar staff know nothing about the pub's history or legends, they weren't interested in talking about them either. In fact I was made to feel a bit of an idiot for asking. It was hardly as though they were too busy, there was one other couple in the pub at the time. It boasts award winning food and guest ales. I saw no evidence of either, although I don't suppose there is much award winning you can do with a baked potato. That said, £5 for a microwaved potato filled with baked beans and a few lettuce leaves on the side would probably not get Raymond Blanc's vote, and I suppose if you live in Abergavenny, Brains Beer is a "guest" ale. A nice old oak front door though, a gimmicky ghoulish statue greeting you as you enter, and an equally gimmicky and ghoulish hangman's rope on the stairs provide the visual entertainment, while the bar staff''s favourite CDs in the background provided the audio entertainment. I wish we had tried the King's Arms in Abergavenny instead.

Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank JimCardiffresident
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcstershire
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2009

i have stayed at the skirrid inn twice and loved it both times, the food is great, the staff and Geoff and Sharon are lovely, the room was clean and the four poster bed is very comfortable. There is a big open fire in the bar which is perfect in the winter and the atmosphere is wonderful.

  • Liked — comfy bed and large room
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank strawberryscented
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Llanvihangel Crucorney
4.4 mi away
The Angel
The Angel
#1 of 2 in Abergavenny
4.5 of 5 bubbles 851 reviews
6.8 mi away
Llansantffraed Court
Llansantffraed Court
#2 of 2 in Abergavenny
4.5 of 5 bubbles 491 reviews
7.4 mi away
The Old Rectory Country Hotel and Golf Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.7 mi away
The Swan at Hay
The Swan at Hay
#1 of 1 in Hay-on-Wye
3.5 of 5 bubbles 427 reviews
4.4 mi away
Kings Arms
Kings Arms
#2 of 29 in Abergavenny
4.5 of 5 bubbles 304 reviews
1.1 mi away
Brynhonddu Country House Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Skirrid Mountain Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Skirrid Mountain Inn

Property: Skirrid Mountain Inn
Address: Llanvihangel Crucorney NP7 8DH, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > South Wales > Monmouthshire > Llanvihangel Crucorney
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Llanvihangel Crucorney
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Skirrid Mountain Hotel Llanvihangel Crucorney
Skirrid Mountain Inn Llanvihangel Crucorney, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing