We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tacky and dirty.Microwave food”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Llanvihangel Crucorney
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Skirrid Mountain Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Tacky and dirty.Microwave food”
Reviewed January 9, 2014 via mobile

My partner and I have always wanted to visit the Skirrid Inn ans decided to go around Halloween. We were greeted by a very tacky statue in the front entrance and when we arrived at the bar we had to wait until someone came to serve us.Her attitude was very poor and she practically rolled her eyes at us when I asked for a gin and tonic. The food menu is on boards on the wall so you have to place your order at the bar, which is fine. I ordered the lamb and my partner ordered the lasagna. The food was out in ten minutes and my partners meal was cold in the middle, I suspect they are microwave meals and not freshly cooked.The food prices aren't cheap so we were bitterly disappointed. We also ordered a bottle if wine which was nearly a tenner which you can buy in a Supermarket for less than half that price.Sadly we won't be going back there as we found the food bad, place dirty and staff very rude.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hayleywilliams2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

251 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    139
    69
    19
    13
    11
See reviews for
43
96
6
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Abergavenny, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2014

We went for a birthday meal on a very cold and windy night the pub did live up to the spooky factor.

We were made very welcome with a nice selection of great pub food the prices were very reasonable can' wait to go back.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leighton N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
herefordshire
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2013

Was expecting the staff to be more welcoming, I felt the outside let it down , lots of litter and beer cans blowing around, very scruffy. The food looked good ,if not a little expensive in my opinion. I felt the spooky angle was all it had going for it. Would I go back? No.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hrftravler2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newport
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for a family birthday there were six of us and we hired out all three rooms. The food was absolutely fantastic real home coked pub grub which is hard to come by these days, really was good !!!! The landlord and landlady were away but the staff looking after the pub were John Chris and warol I think ??? They were really friendly and made us feel so welcome. The pub is so old but really cosy so u dont really assocoiate it with everything that happened here. However once everyone went we decided to play the yes or no game !!! Won't go into what happened but let's just say there were three non believers who are now believers lol !!! I would reccomend this place to anyone wanting a good friendly atmosphere with a few spooks along the way yes it's not the ritz but its perfect in its own way can't wait to return next year !!! Xxxx

Stayed November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank dannygirl_333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
91 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2013 via mobile

I went here with my sister in-law, her friends from work and several members of the friends' family.

We booked the three rooms at the pub and were staying just one night. We had a medium and his assistant with us.

The owner, Geoff was so welcoming when we arrived. Some of the group had their evening meal there, I was a little jealous, since I had eaten before arriving but the food looked fabulous.

The aim of the night was a paranormal investigation since the inn has the reputation of being the most haunted pub in Wales. I am a paranormal sceptic but not only have I always wanted to visit this place but I thought it would just be a fun, different night.

We took sleeping bags with us since there are only three double beds and there were 14 of us in total. The two rooms are very large the third is smaller and quaint. The decor is a little outdated but it adds to the charm of the inn.

After the locals left, we had full run of the place. It was fun, although I wouldn't say I felt anything during the evening and I actually found the atmosphere very calming. I hadn't met most of the group before but everyone got on well and it was just nice to be trusted with full run of the place.

The strangest thing to happen during the night was the sound of a woman saying "hello" three times from the bar area. We all run down convinced that someone had broken in, but there was no one there. I was quick to try to explain this, could have been one of us, maybe it was upstairs and just sounded like it had come from the bar downstairs?!

We soon forgot about it and the night carried on.

As for the inn itself, it's decor, history and just sense of history does make you feel like you were sitting in a place steeped in history. Anyone interested in historic locations should pay it a visit whether or not their believe in ghosts. I took my camera and couldn't help but keep snapping away, just to try and capture the atmosphere of the place.

We finally fell asleep at about 5am. We woke to the smell of cooking.

Geoff had made bacon sandwiches for us all, although I'm vegetarian and was quite happy just to have my morning tea, he made me lots of toast for me instead.

He was the most welcoming host I've ever had at any hotel, he was friendy and wanted to make sure that our stay went well and that we were happy.

I didn't believe for one second that the place was haunted but I thoroughly enjoyed my stay there and was already talking about a return visit with my sister-in-law on the return home.

However, while looking through my photos of the night, what appeared to be either one or two figures with their arms outstretched appears in one of the photos. The photo was taken just after we heard the "hello" coming from the bar. This may be coincidence and whether or not my photo is paranormal, it has made me more intrigued than ever about the place and even more excited about a return visit!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Marmitelover88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 22, 2013

Absolutely amazing had a creepy stay here the feel if the place is brilliant food well iv never had better it was superb the staff and hospitality were exceptional just booked again for next week cannot wait

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tina H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 5, 2013

In June (2013) stayed at Pen Y Dre Farm camp site with members of a walking group. About 400 metres away, "Skirrid Inn".

After pitching tents made our way to a local pub, "Skirrid Inn"

We had a nice meal and enjoyed real ales. Staff were helpful & friendly - A1!!!

The Inn has history, being a local court and also to execute by hanging. By the stairs looking up a noose still remains.

Beautiful scenery & walks.

Philip Nevin

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Philip N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Llanvihangel Crucorney
4.4 mi away
The Angel
The Angel
#1 of 2 in Abergavenny
877 reviews
6.8 mi away
Llansantffraed Court
Llansantffraed Court
#2 of 2 in Abergavenny
506 reviews
7.0 mi away
The Manor Hotel
The Manor Hotel
#1 of 2 in Crickhowell
584 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.6 mi away
Park Hotel
Park Hotel
#4 of 4 in Pandy
71 reviews
1.1 mi away
Brynhonddu Country House Bed & Breakfast
1.2 mi away
The Park Hotel
The Park Hotel
#3 of 4 in Pandy
23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Skirrid Mountain Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Skirrid Mountain Inn

Property: Skirrid Mountain Inn
Address: Llanvihangel Crucorney NP7 8DH, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > South Wales > Monmouthshire > Llanvihangel Crucorney
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Llanvihangel Crucorney
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Skirrid Mountain Hotel Llanvihangel Crucorney
Skirrid Mountain Inn Llanvihangel Crucorney, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing