We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Scary but well worth a visit”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Llanvihangel Crucorney
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Skirrid Mountain Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 29, 2013 via mobile

Called in and had lunch with my family. Lovely choice of menu, with local welsh produce. When our meal came it was nicely presented and piping hot. Service was good as well as good value for money. Beautiful surroundings.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pennyparsons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (274)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

194 - 200 of 274 reviews

Reviewed July 22, 2013

Ordered a table in the restaurant, however, we were told that we needed to order from the blackboard in the bar before sitting down as there were no menus to look at! This was a major gripe for me as I enjoy sitting down relaxing with a drink while studying the choices on the menu. Ordered two 10 oz sirloin steaks (£15.50 although the website says £12.95)......one with chips and one with new potatoes. Unfortunately we were brought two portions of chips and by the time the potatoes arrived we were halfway through the meal and the potatoes were not fully cooked. Having said this, the food was nice with fair sized portions and the staff were all very friendly. I enjoyed it for what it was but in truth it wasn't worth the fairly high prices.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank DaveM73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2013

You want ghosts? You want 4 poster bed in a spooky room? You want to sleep next to a stair well where 200 people were hung? You want to eat in front of a log fire in the bar of this 700yr old pub? Then this is the B & B for you. I loved the company in the bar, loved the room but the bathroom was to say the least, dated. Still who cares, Great Landlord and staff. Extremely obliging with great pub food. Definately worth the experience.

Room Tip: Rooms 1 or 2 seem to be the ones, though I looked into room 1 and that seemed the spookiest and is v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nofydd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2013

Myself and my girlfriend popped into the Skirrid for some Sunday lunch as we had heard great things about the food and atmosphere. We were certainly not disappointed!

The food and service was great; with ample portions at very good prices. To those in the know there is also such a thing as a good 'pint' and a bad 'pint' and let me assure you that the Landlord seems to be an authority on the subject. In the Skirrid Inn you get a 'beautiful' pint, and certainly the best in the area.

However the main positive was the incredibly warm and welcoming Landlord and his wife (beautiful people) who regaled us with superb stories and provided plenty of laughs. We were even shown the spooky rooms and were given a thoroughly enjoyable mini ghost tour by the Landlord.

Highly recommended and we will certainly be booking an overnight stay!

Room Tip: Ask the staff about the history of the Inn as they are fantastically engaging and enthusiastic about...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Albert-Longhead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2013 via mobile

Just got bk from visiting the Skirrid Inn for the first time with my wife & father in law. It was awkward to get a wheelchair in but the owner apologised & said it was impossible to create Disabled access due too the age of the Inn. We orderd drinks & meals x3 & the service was very good & efficient. The meals were very good & plentiful, & worth the money. All in all a lovely visit & will be back 8/10.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TOTTENHAMWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2013 via mobile

once again stayed at the skirrid inn,had a wonderful time and treated like royalty by Geoff and his staff. would highly recommend staying here,or just calling in for a quiet drink after a days walking in the beautiful surrounding countryside. can't wait to come back again soon

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hanjam10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2013

Stopped here for a drink after walking the Skirrid. Had seen the inn on TV and had heard of it's reputation so we thought we really should pop in.
Very surprised by the lack of atmosphere. Really has a lot of potential here but sadly does not seem to be making the most of it. The beer choice was extremely poor and rather expensive, but then that is down to the abysmal ownership of Punch Taverns. We wanted food at half past two on a Saturday but were stunned to find out service stops in the afternoon! On a Saturday in prime walking country! We saw several people who wanted food but were told no. It beggars belief really. Toilets (certainly the men's) were dirty and smelly with completely unconnected images of Marylin Monroe on the walls.
Thought we would see more made of the history, but that amounts to a couple of bits of fabric tacked to the walls and a rope hanging in the stairwell.
Certainly didn't feel spooky or atmospheric in the slightest.
A real let-down for what is supposed to be the oldest pub in Wales - God knows how this survives when considerably better establishments are shutting every week in this country.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Dave H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Llanvihangel Crucorney
12.6 mi away
Glen-yr-Afon House Hotel
4.4 mi away
The Angel
The Angel
#1 of 3 in Abergavenny
947 reviews
6.8 mi away
Llansantffraed Court
Llansantffraed Court
#2 of 3 in Abergavenny
546 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.6 mi away
Park Hotel
Park Hotel
#4 of 5 in Pandy
76 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Skirrid Mountain Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Skirrid Mountain Inn

Address: Llanvihangel Crucorney NP7 8DH, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > South Wales > Monmouthshire > Llanvihangel Crucorney
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Llanvihangel Crucorney
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Skirrid Mountain Hotel Llanvihangel Crucorney
Skirrid Mountain Inn Llanvihangel Crucorney, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing