We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Pen-Y-Dre Farm Holidays
Nearby Hotels
The Angel(Abergavenny)
$143
$139
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$94
$91
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$89
$86
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Riverside Hotel(Monmouth)
$88
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Pilgrim Hotel(Much Birch)(Great Value!)
$88
$63
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$155
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$122
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
$63
$55
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (52)
Filter reviews
52 results
Traveler rating
43
6
1
2
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
43
6
1
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfamily holidaythe cottageshome from homefree rangefresh milklovely hostslocal pubskirrid mountainoldest pubgwenidrisgoatsmushroomschickensdogswalkerspubs
Filter
Updating list...
46 - 51 of 52 reviews
Reviewed February 25, 2012

This was my third year on the Long Distance Walkers "Wet and windy winter weekend in Wales"
I cannot imagine anywhere better to retreat to after a long day in the hills. It feels just like home and the breakfasts are out of this world. I could have managed till dinner on the breakfast alone but with their excellent and reasonable packed lunch there was no need. Followed by a few bevvies and meal in the Skirrid Mountain Inn it made the perfect day.

Room Tip: The cottages are great and come with a lounge and kitchen. Its still possible to have the excellent breakfast.
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank davedirect
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gwenllian_J, Owner at Pen-Y-Dre Farm Holidays, responded to this reviewResponded February 28, 2012

Thank you Rob for your review, we enjoyed seeing you again this year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2012

lovely home which Gwen and Idris welcome their visitors, have stayed in the main house that has pleasant en suite rooms with a breakfast if you wish that will keep you going all day! the cottages are well equipent for a family holiday, ideal for a short break or a longer stay, as acouple or a family with children, our grandson loved the animals!

Room Tip: depends on your needs, cottage good for family, main house for couples but rooms can accommadate
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank karon l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2012

I spent 3 nights at Pen-Y-Dre for a long weekend with my boyfriend to do some hill walking and mountain biking in the Brecon Beacons - the B&B was a perfect bolt-hole for this! Each day started with a fantastic full English - including fresh fruit, cereal, toast and yoghurt - which kept us going til dinner, and we stayed in a warm, spotlessly clean and comfortable room, with lots of space for relaxing. Abergavenny is a short drive and has plenty of pubs/restaurants for dinner and there's the oldest pub in Wales 2 minutes walk away from the farmhouse. I would definitely recommend the B&B to anyone wanting a cosy and friendly place to stay. The cake on arrival was particularly good!!

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Beccy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gwenllian_J, Owner at Pen-Y-Dre Farm Holidays, responded to this reviewResponded February 24, 2012

Thank you Becky for your lovely review. We enjoyed meeting you both, and hope to see you again. Best Wishes Gwen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2011

We have stayed at Pen Y Dre Farm twice now and it just gets better! We have sampled both the cottages and the bed and breakfast. The cottage was gorgeous, warm and welcoming and the b&b just as lovely with great food - breakfast was a real treat and absolutely scrummy!!. The rooms are all very clean and comfortable and we had a great nights sleep on both occasions. There is an authentic farmhouse feel to the whole place and the landscape plus all the animals make it tranquil,fun and interesting in equal measure. I will defintely be back for more and I would highly recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank caroline c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2011

We stayed a couple of nights here at the beginning of November. We had such a warm welcome and nothing was too much trouble. I am a vegan and there was more food than I could eat! The cottage was lovely and set in a very peaceful location. The bed was incredibly comfortable and the cottage was nice and warm. The delicious cooked breakfast was much better than you would get in a hotel. Amazing value for money. We are looking forward to staying here again. Great for kids by the way as there are loads of farm animals and they are very friendly!

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank auntiemabel876
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gwenllian_J, Owner at Pen-Y-Dre Farm Holidays, responded to this reviewResponded November 10, 2011

Thabk you for the lovely review.
We would love to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews