We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Music Session” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Magic Lantern Cinema Tywyn

Magic Lantern Cinema Tywyn
Ranked #4 of 10 things to do in Tywyn
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Newtownards, Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Music Session”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2014

We went along to the music session a couple of weeks ago - what a great night! Many original songs played and a great group of performers well done all of you ! Just hope it's on the next time I'm in Tywyn!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Sam S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    71
    17
    2
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great cinema experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2014

We have over the last few years visited Tywyn 4 or 5 times a year on holiday. Over the last 2 or 3 years we have visited the Lantern at least once every visit, twice when the film changes half way through a visit. We never visit the modern cinemas at home in Stoke On Trent. We visit the lantern now for the fantastic picture and sound quality but also because of the traditional ambiance and the feel that we have been to a "real" cinema. The team have struck the balance right between much needed improvements and maintaining the original feel. The new look bar is brilliant and it is a real treat taking a drink through to watch a film. Everyone is very welcoming and friendly and this was rewarded on our last visit in November. We actually stayed in Tywyn specially to watch the Dr Who 50th anniversary special. It was well worth it and a full house ensured a great atmosphere. We are moving to Tywyn permanently in March so hope to become even more regular then.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank IanBonkers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“The best cinema in Wales”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2014

The Magic Lantern is a fantastic cinema, unusually it has a bar to enjoy a drink before and after the film - there is a particularly good range of rums and other drinks. They also do special events - some based around films they are showing. I look forward to a visit to the Magic Lantern whenever I'm in the area.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank BluerskiesLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
84 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“evening out”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2013

it was a real treat to visit this lovely place and the film and sound quality was excellent. Only problem is that we we were the only ones attending the film release. However music session after was full!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank parry005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“A hidden gem in a sleepy seaside town”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2013

I'm visiting Wales on a month-long retreat in search of a bit of peace and quiet away from the city. Imagine my surprise to find a multi-arts venue masquerading as a cinema that rivals my favourite venues in my hometown of Edinburgh. From the bright and quirky facade through to the well-stocked and gorgeously decorated bar area to the vintage wood-and-velvet cinema seats, this place simply oozes atmosphere. But combine the ambience with state of the art technical specs that rival those found in most bigger cinemas and a programme that alternates independent cinema with a children's matinee, live events, and streamed concerts - even films of major gallery exhibitions from around the world - and you have something really special. This place would be packed out every night of the week if it was in the city, and the owners have obviously put a huge amount of time, money and love into developing it. They are real heroes and mavericks to establish such a high calibre place in such a remote corner of the country, and deserve your support.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank julie_dawson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Magic Lantern Cinema Tywyn also viewed

 

Been to Magic Lantern Cinema Tywyn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing