We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Day Out”
Review of Talyllyn Railway

Talyllyn Railway
Ranked #1 of 11 things to do in Tywyn
Certificate of Excellence
Type: Rail Tours, Tours
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: The Talyllyn Railway is a historic narrow gauge steam railway, running from Tywyn to Abergynolwyn and Nant Gwernol through unspoilt Snowdonia. Tywyn is home to the Narrow Gauge Railway Museum, Railway Shop and King's Licensed Cafe & Bistro. The line passes the delightful Dolgoch Falls and there are excellent forest walks at Nant Gwernol.We offer a great day out for all the family. Groups receive a discount when booked in advance.
Useful Information: Stairs / elevator, Wheelchair access, Stroller parking, Food available for purchase, Bathroom facilities, Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Reviewed July 7, 2014 via mobile

Took my 2 year old daughter for a day out on the train and had a fantastic time
The views are stunning and the train journey is just long enough with plenty to see out of the window
We had a snack at the train station in Tywyn which was very nice and reasonably priced
There is also a small museum there to keep you entertained as you wait the return train to Abergynolwyn
Before leaving we visited the play area and had a lot of fun on the big slide
All in all a great day out with great views and friendly staff

1  Thank Corristraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chris p, General Manager at Talyllyn Railway, responded to this reviewResponded July 14, 2014

It sounds like you certainly enjoyed your day with us. This is wonderful feedback, thank you very much and we hope to see you again soon.
Chris Price
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (541)
There are newer reviews for Talyllyn Railway
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

385 - 389 of 541 reviews

Reviewed July 1, 2014

We had a long weekend away visiting various attractions,this has to be
one of the best preserved railways in Wales. If you love steam its not to be missed.

Thank G6EUO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chris p, General Manager at Talyllyn Railway, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2014

Thanks for you feedback and 5 star review. We like to think we are the best but we would because we are so proud of it. This is the land of trains and therefore standards are high. We are glad your enjoyed yourself.

Chris Price
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2014

Take the steam train up to the old slate quarry. Well preserved, friendly staff and a leisurely pace. Nice cafés at both ends plus an informative museum at the main station.

2  Thank cremoinfo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chris p, General Manager at Talyllyn Railway, responded to this reviewResponded July 3, 2014

thanks for your great review. When the world is full of business cases and risk assessments it's nice to remind oneself now and again that as far as the Talyllyn Railway is concerned preserving something special for future generations is really the name of the game. It is lovely to see that recognized.

Come back soon

Chris Price.
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2014

Takes you back to a bygone age of steam, shiny engines and courtesy . I understand that there was a time when all railways were like this!

1  Thank Keith P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chris p, General Manager at Talyllyn Railway, responded to this reviewResponded July 3, 2014

thank you for your comments. Every morning many hours before the first train runs, volunteers are cleaning / polishing the coaches and locomotives. Somebody will be sweeping the platforms and cleaning the toilets. All this goes into producing a atmosphere of a time when the pace of life was slower and people cared. We love our railway and enjoy showing it off.

Thanks again.

Chris Price
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2014

It was lovely to see the staff (a lot of them volunteers) so happy and enthusiastic about the jobs they were doing The atmosphere was delightful.
I got off the train at Nant Wernol and discovered a beautiful walk (which took around 45 mins - 1hr), the Cascade Walk. After returning to the train, I broke the return journey at Dolgoch, and did the Waterfalls Wlak, another beautiful, but busier, route.
On a warm day I chose to travel in the open carriage which I can thoroughly recommend. A pair of glasses would be helpful to keep bits out of your eyes, but the fresh air was wonderful.
It was a great day out.

1  Thank Ruth W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chris p, General Manager at Talyllyn Railway, responded to this reviewResponded June 30, 2014

And may I say it was a joy to have you as our guests! We always strive to make every guests day special and, the job is made much easier when we are surrounded by wonderful scenery and walks.

Thanks Again for you feedback.
Chris Price
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Talyllyn Railway also viewed

Snowdonia National Park, North Wales
 

Been to Talyllyn Railway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing