We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great surprise”
Review of Monfa Guest House

Monfa Guest House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tywyn
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Monfa Guest House
Ranked #4 of 10 Tywyn B&B and Inns
Reviewed April 5, 2013

We stayed overnight after a long drive room very clean with view of sea and hills greeted with tea and biscuits very nice touch Paula and Shaun friendly and good hosts if we had more time would have stayed longer. good breakfast highly recommmended

Room Tip: room 2 view of sea
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank eaglegal69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (79)
There are newer reviews for Monfa Guest House
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

57 - 63 of 79 reviews

Reviewed April 3, 2013

I stayed here for a short break recently and was made very welcome. Shaun, Paula and family are really friendly and keen to help in any way they can.The room was very comfortable and had everything you could need, comfortable beds and was lovely and clean. Mine included a view of the sea and hills to the South. Breakfasts were delicious with plenty of choice. Monfa is ideally located just a short walk to the main line station, (I travelled by train), the sea front and the Talyllyn railway station which offers great trips up the valley to the waterfalls and forests on its narrow gauge steam trains. One of the many things to do in the local area. I look forward to a return visit.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 35JudyS35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2013

We stayed at Monfa for a night recently when we spent the weekend driving up the coast of Wales. We would loved to have stayed longer! Paula and Shaun were super friendly and provided helpful tips as to places to see and things to do in the area. The rooms are very nice and comfortable with everything you could need (including biscuits and tea in your room). The wind was quite fierce when we were there, but we were tucked in warmly and comfortably in our room. Our room had a view of the mountains, but just a very short walk to the end of the street was the bay, which we managed to catch at sunset as we first arrived. The views were completely spectacular. The full English breakfast was tops and kept us going all day long. A lot of great conversation with Paula & Shaun made our visit complete. We look forward to coming back again when the weather is warmer and we can enjoy more of the area and what Tywyn has to offer. Cheers, Rachel & Bryan

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rachel320
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2013

We stayed here twice recently, firstly for three nights and then a short time later for a further night.
Although the reason for our visit to Tywyn this time was not a happy one we could not have been more warmly welcomed both by Shaun and Paula and Shaun's parents Sylvia and Stewart.
Nothing was too much trouble and the help and kindness shown were above and beyond.
The room was first class, lovely and clean with a very comfy bed.
The breakfast was fantastic, plenty of choice and with a full English superb breakfast if required, superb in both quality and quantity.
For anyone staying here in the summer time the beach is only a stone's throw away and you can walk to the town centre in a few minutes.There are plenty of wonderful places nearby to visit and a narrow gauge railway in Tywyn which does trips up into the forest.
If we return to Tywyn we would have no hesitation in staying here again.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ken542
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2012

We have stayed at the Monfa on a number of occasions and have never been disappointed . There is always a warm welcome from Shaun & Paula who make you feel like one of the family. The rooms are well kept and comfortable even in the worst of weather. A real plus is Shaun’s full English breakfast which together with the cereals and toast on offer will set you up for the day. Would recommend the Monfa to any one, a real jewel in Tywyn’s Crown

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RayandDi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2012

We are so glad we decided to stay at Monfa guest house again for our out of season break. This is our second stay. They provide the warmest of welcomes. Our breakfast, which was presented beautifully, was very tasty and saw us through till the evening. Our room was well decorated and immaculately clean with a lovely cosy feel. It was a joy to return to after a long days walk. All just as we remembered from our first visit last year.
Monfa is conveniently situated 3 minuets walk from the town of Tywyn so evening meals are easily obtained. It is within a stones throw from the beach and a few miles inland brings you to the foot hills around Cader Idris. So if you like walking with your shoes off along the beach or climbing the hills, valleys and river estuary’s then Monfa is the base from which you can do it all.
We highly recommend this welcoming friendly guest house to anyone visiting the Cardigan Bay area. Monfa has it all.
Well done Paula and Shaun. We look forward to seeing you again soon

S & J Darby

Room Tip: Our first stay was in a room on the front of the property over looking Pier Road, with a sea view to...
Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Steve D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2012

We booked this guesthouse for a 2 night break but wished we had booked longer, our room on the front had fantastic views of Cardigan bay and Snowdonia, the whole place was spotlessly clean and comfortable, Shaun and Paula are the perfect hosts supported by Shauns parents Sylvia and Stewart, breakfast was another enjoyable experience will be going back for a longer stay.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alison N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tywyn
3.8 mi away
Penhelig Arms
Penhelig Arms
#2 of 3 in Aberdyfi (Aberdovey)
660 reviews
0.8 mi away
Leahurst Bed & Breakfast
3.5 mi away
Seabreeze Restaurant with Rooms
Seabreeze Restaurant with Rooms
#2 of 11 in Aberdyfi (Aberdovey)
330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Awel y Mor
Awel y Mor
#3 of 11 in Aberdyfi (Aberdovey)
46 reviews
3.6 mi away
Brigydon
Brigydon
#5 of 11 in Aberdyfi (Aberdovey)
121 reviews
3.6 mi away
Dovey Inn
Dovey Inn
#7 of 11 in Aberdyfi (Aberdovey)
358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monfa Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monfa Guest House

Address: Monfa Pier Road, Tywyn LL36 0AU, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Gwynedd > Tywyn
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Tywyn
Price Range: $59 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family run B&B. All rooms en-suite. One double,one twin and one family room. All rooms have view of sea and/or Snowdonia countryside. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Monfa Guest House Tywyn, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing