We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dine India.”
Review of Dine India

Dine India
Ranked #16 of 23 Restaurants in Tywyn
Cuisines: Asian, Indian
Dining options: Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Stroud, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Dine India.”
Reviewed July 17, 2013

This is our second visit to this restaurant, probably about 8 or 9 years our first visit (visitors to this area).
We both ordered Chicken Dupiaza, Pillau Rice, Bombay Potato and Chapatis, followed by Orange Sorbet. Thoroughly enjoyed both meals in a very well run restaurant. No Dislikes.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank edst08general
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    29
    21
    12
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great food, OK service”
Reviewed July 4, 2013 via mobile

Due to young children and imminent bedtimes we hit Dine India at around 5:30. According to the board it opens at 5 but I don't think they were expecting anyone so early!

After about a ten minute wait we had drinks and had ordered our food, and once the duty waiter had appeared the service was great.

The food was excellent, I had Lamb tikka, my wife vegetable rogan rosh with the little one having fish fingers and chips (she's only 2!). Rather than the usual Cap'n Birdseye fayre, the fish fingers looked homemade and our little girl certainly made short work of her portion.

Drinks were two pints of Cobra - ice cold and chilled to perfection.

Overall great food for a good price - just beware if you arrive before 6!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Matt Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stamford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Pleasantly surprised.”
Reviewed June 17, 2013

The run-of-the-mill exterior of Dine India masks excellent service and very enjoyable food. We visited early on a wet June Wednesday evening and were the only diners but were greeted like old friends and the service was excellent and attentive without being invasive. The food was all freshly cooked and the menu has some interesting items that I've not seen before such as the Khatlama "pasties". I had to try that and it was most enjoyable. Recommended and we will most certainly be back on our next visit to Tywyn.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank maisonblanche24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
96 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Give it a go”
Reviewed June 10, 2013 via mobile

We have been visiting this venue during our annual June stay in Tywyn for a few years now and we have had loads of lovely takeaways with the occasional sit in meal. The food quality and taste has always been of a very good quality. This year however has been a bit of a let down. My tika masala had 4 small pieces of Chicken and my wifes korma had only 3 small pieces of Chicken. The taste was excellent and the rice spot on. The nam bread was fine and the service was quick and polite. I will go again but come on management I know from the past that you can do better. Add some meat as you charge enough to warrent it. I hope to report a better experience next June.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mikekc55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Not bad at all!”
Reviewed June 7, 2013

Having seen the state of the place on the outside and in, I thought it best to avoid.

The decor is random to say the least with many mismatched pictures on the wall of the weirdest 'things', the bar shelf is littered with batteries, a bottle of Heinz tomato ketchup and a large bottle of table salt - Odd.

They do not accept card here, but luckily there is a cashpoint directly outside.

Myself and partner were craving an Indian and thought we would at least risk a bit of the runs for a big spicy feed.

The food came quick, and was very rather pleasant, keema rice was delicious and buttery, chicken Korma was a pleasant darker shade of beige compared to the usual anemic ones you find in most other Indians and it actually looked very appetising. Chicken tikka bhuna was delicious - and tasted exactly the same as our local curry house in London which was fantastic. The peshwari naan was delighful, however the yoghurt sauce they provide looks severly radioactive - an interesting shade of neon pink. What is it with Indian restaurant and food dye?!

Anyway, we would visit again because appearances can be quite deceiving indeed.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LeiLei1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dine India also viewed

 

Been to Dine India? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing