We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not just a fish and chip restaurant”

Walkers Quality Restaurant
Ranked #3 of 23 Restaurants in Tywyn
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Tywyn
Level Contributor
80 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Not just a fish and chip restaurant”
Reviewed August 6, 2014

The best tasting fish in Tywyn, all served with a friendly smile. You do not have to have the fish though as they serve a variety of meals. From jacket potato with various fillings to a delicious steak with all the trimmings.
A breakfast brunch is also available and well worth the money, you can also have a lovely bacon sandwich if you are just feeling peckish.
If it is just a cup of tea or coffee with a scone or toasted tea cake then they do that too.
The staff are all so friendly that you instantly feel as though you have known them all you life.

P.S They now do a take away, food is still ok the highest quality.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jmorrisTywyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

241 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    177
    49
    10
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Moscow, Idaho
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nice menu, friendly staff”
Reviewed July 27, 2014

I ate some of my dinner meals there, and found the food was wholesome and the service was good. I really enjoyed the deserts, especially the tiramisu.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank HeighHoSilver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Should be top of the league”
Reviewed July 21, 2014

We are regular yearly holiday makers to Tywyn and our visits to Walkers never disappoint.
We always phone and book a table as the evenings are very busy and rightly so with varied menu, splendid portion sizes and affordable prices. We await them being crowned as no.1 restaurant in Tywyn.

DAVID AND DIANE CLINTON. TAMWORTH. STAFFS.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Walkers welcome”
Reviewed July 19, 2014

We planned to do an eight mile walk along the beautiful Afon Dysynni valley on a hot summers day in July. As we set off from the car park I noticed a board outside the restaurant which I understood to say that Walkers are welcome, which is important if at the end of the walk you are hot and sweaty as we would be today, but more often than not wet and muddy. The opportunity to round off a long walk with a few pints if beer and a plate of fish and chips is a pleasure not to be missed. The walk lived up to our expectations, and by the end of the day we were hot, tree and hungry. We had booked our table for five people and so went off in search of a pub, which is quite a challenge in Tywyn, but eventually we did find one, perhaps the only one open in the whole town. By 7pm we were ready for our meal and received a warm welcome and an excellent and substantial plate of cod chips, mushy peas, and hot cups of tea. All the food was freshly prepared, the service was good all at a reasonable cost. Walkers is not a cafe tagged on to a take away fish and chip shop, but a well appointed restaurant, with a wide and varied menu, fresh food and good service. Thoroughly recommended.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jupiter1010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
131 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“Poor fish and chips, got order wrong and closed when we returned to collect forgotten items”
Reviewed July 17, 2014

Little cafe on Tywyn high street that does sit in or take away fish & chips. Skippys opposite was awful so we thought we would try here for take away fish and chips.

£28 for 2 adults and 2 kids. Very expensive. Especially when they forget one of the kids meals. By the time we had got back, realised their errors and gone back they had closed. Fish was very very greasy. Chips Soggy. No pickled onions either! Probably because they are 'trying' to be a restaurant which they are not. More of a cafe.

Won't be revisiting.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
5 Thank Foody4Ldn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WALKERSTYWYN, Owner at Walkers Quality Restaurant, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
All i can do is say sorry. If you had contacted me the next day i would of given you your money back for the item , you had not had. It was our closeing time, we would of not gone out of our way to shut just to upset you. The food you had did not come to £28 pound. I checked,unless you had pop or other items. We do have pickeled onions. We are not just a take away, the take away is a addition to the restaurant. If you would like to pick up the phone to talk to me. I would love to talk to you. You did not even give us a chance to try to put this right for you. If you were unhappy with your food and you had comeback or contacted us. We would of gone out of our way to try to put it right for you. Instead you have just gone out of your way to just try to damage our business. Well thanks for that. You cannot please everyone. We do try when given the chance to. thankyou walkers restaurant. If you want to talk to us 01654713999.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Walkers Quality Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Walkers Quality Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing