We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent; bargain at the price as well”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tywyn
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Preswylfa Guest House
Ranked #4 of 10 Tywyn B&B and Inns
Glasgow, Scotland, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent; bargain at the price as well”
Reviewed March 19, 2013

Very welcoming, excellent breakfast, very comfortable and also great value. The owners are very helpful, and the rooms clean, well fitted out and bright. The location, by the train station and local amenities, is good.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charlie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    91
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
17
31
29
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Great Malvern, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed February 27, 2013

My son and I stayed during October Half Term whilst volunteering on the Talyllyn Railway. The convenient location, warm welcome and warm and very comfortable room make this a great base for working on or visiting the Talyllyn. We were on 'early turn' at the shed and the 'mobile breakfast' brought to the shed personally by Lawrence is the envy of the loco department! We also had the most excellent Sunday roast evening dinner which my 14yr old son declared to be 'splendid' - high praise indeed!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancs
Level Contributor
53 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2013

My Husband stayed here and was so enamored with his stay he has asked me to add a review for him.
A very warm and welcoming arrival from Jane. The room was warm and cosy, the Welsh breakfast was great. He parked on the station car park, just across the road from the Guest House.

If he is down this way on Business again he will definitely be staying again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tatts2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon, UK
Level Contributor
100 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2012

We stayed here for a weekend in November.

The rooms were first class - with evey detail thought of including colour co-ordinated bath robes, fudge and filter coffee, and a tray to store muddy boots away from the carpet.

Proprietors Lawrence and Jane Garvey were very attentive, to ensure we had everything we could need - including local knowledge, and the right sort of breakfast for the activities we had planned.

The best, however, was the food. Jane told us she was a 'foodie' and liked to see her guests enjoying their food. We chose to have the optional evening meal - which was a real treat. A tender local steak cooked to perfection with all the trimmings for two of us, and a home-made caramelised onion and brie tart for the third who is vegetarian; followed by superb rhubard crumble with custard. Ambiance in the dining room provided by candles and soft music. The whole worthy of an expensive restaurant.

Walkers, cyclists and heritage railway workers are all apparently welcome here. I'd say whatever the reason for you being at Tywyn, this is a guest house well worth a visit.

Room Tip: Try the Broadwater suite - with views out over the river and up to the mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DevonshireMike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2012

Just a few lines to say what a warm welcome we recieved and a very comfortable stay at Preswylfa Guest House in Tywyn. My wife and I stayed there for a weekend when we went to a friends wedding in Tywyn, at the start of Summer.
In spite of the weather being a little grim when we arrived, we were soon cheered up by our pleasant, airy surroundings and the very friendly atmosphere. This continued throughout our stay and the weather was stunning by the end of our stay too.
The breakfast's have to be among the best I've had anywhere (sorry mum!), and were a great way to start the day.
I'd certainly recommend Preswylfa and would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ray125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2012

As a family we had stayed with Lawrence and Jane in 2010. the previous week I had stayed in a 5 star hotel in Chester. I would suggest Lawrence and Jane offer the same quality in all aspects of their hospitality. They provide excellence and adapt to individuals needs. Breakfast is substantial and can to adjusted on a daily basis to your individual requirements. Supper is excellent and the quality of locally sourced products is reflected in the brillant meals. The home made biscuits and cookies provided on the hospitality tray in the rooms were sublime.
Lawrence and Jane are five star hosts full of useful local knowledge and information.
They go the extra mile for guests. All the rooms are lovely but the Broadwater Suite is the one to go for the views.The location is great for the town, station and TR with the benfit of off road parking. A must stay for visitors.

Room Tip: Broadwater Suite for the views, tranquility and wildlife.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sian w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcestershire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2012

Stayed here from 24th to 27th August. Very nice B&B, superb breakfasts, nicely cooked, comfy room with nice outlook and lovely home made cookies provided too. Good location right next to the station with parking to the rear of the property.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mousie401
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tywyn
3.7 mi away
Penhelig Arms
Penhelig Arms
#2 of 3 in Aberdyfi (Aberdovey)
631 reviews
10.1 mi away
Ty'r Graig Castle
Ty'r Graig Castle
#1 of 4 in Barmouth
371 reviews
15.1 mi away
Conrah Hotel
Conrah Hotel
#4 of 13 in Aberystwyth
496 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Dovey Inn
Dovey Inn
#7 of 11 in Aberdyfi (Aberdovey)
340 reviews
3.5 mi away
Seabreeze Restaurant with Rooms
Seabreeze Restaurant with Rooms
#2 of 11 in Aberdyfi (Aberdovey)
320 reviews
3.5 mi away
Britannia Inn
Britannia Inn
#9 of 11 in Aberdyfi (Aberdovey)
86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Preswylfa Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Preswylfa Guest House

Property: Preswylfa Guest House
Address: 2 Bryn Mair, Tywyn LL36 9AG, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Gwynedd > Tywyn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Tywyn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Preswylfa Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come and visit us at Preswyfla Guest House. We are conveniently located close to the main line railway station in Tywyn and within easy walking distance of the High Street, beach and other local amenities. Jane and Lawrence Garvey welcome you to their family home and aim to provide a relaxing, welcoming atmosphere and facilities of the highest standard. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Preswylfa Guest House Tywyn, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing