We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very pleasant stay”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tywyn
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Preswylfa Guest House
Ranked #4 of 10 Tywyn B&B and Inns
Orpington, UK
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Very pleasant stay”
Reviewed August 8, 2012

Recently stayed (July 5 & 6) and had an excellent time: good evening meal and excellent breakfasts. Room was comfortable and clean. Parking at the rear, very close to the station and not far from the Talyllyn Railway (where we were heading). As has been said, even though on the road, it wasn't noisy at night. Hosts Lawrence and Jane were very helpful. We would stay again if we return to Tywyn.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul_R99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    91
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
17
31
29
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Leek, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2012

We were a little worried when we arrived to see how close to the road we were in this B & B, but we needn't have been - the double glazing keeps all the noise out, and Tywyn is not exactly a rowdy place anyway, especially at night. Preswylfa is exceptionally comfortable and Jane's cooking is worth going a long way for. Do try at least one evening meal, as well as her very satisfying breakfasts. Jane and Lawrence are marvellous hosts, and very good company, as well as doing a very good job of running a guest house. We have stayed in Tywyn many times before, but we will certainly be returning here.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Donat23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2012

An excellent B&B in a convenient location near the railway stations and the beach. The breakfast was ample. The room was very nice and comfortable. The hosts were helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pam D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geelong, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 9, 2012

One of the best B&B;s I have stayed at around the world, went to visit the Talyllyn Railway, and lo and behold Jane and Lawrence wer involved in same, felt very much part of the family.

Room was very nice, decor excellent and view across the Broadwater was fantastic, and as the others say the breakfast lasts you all day and the dinner was great in the pleasant ambience of this historic building, and so handy to the railway station.

Once again Jane and Lawrence many thanks.

Philip Leslie
Australia

Room Tip: If staying in Tywyn Preswylfa wold be hard to beat, Broadwater is a pleasant room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Philip L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Preswylfa Guest House, responded to this review, July 10, 2012
It was great to share the Talyllyn with you Philip and we are very pleased that you had a lovley stay. Thank you for your kind comments. We look forward to welcoming you back sometime and hope you had a safe journey back to Australia.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brandesburton
1 review
Reviewed July 4, 2012

Whilst this was only the second time I have stayed here, I was very pleased to see that the exceptionally high standards have been maintained. The food is most enjoyable with the breakfasts designed to last you all day with the splendid evening meal completing the experience. The bedroom was excellent and decorated to a very high standard. The well stocked hospitality tray was much appreciated. The shower room was equally well appointed. Jane and Lawrence have done, and continue to do, everything they can to make your stay with them as pleasurable as possible. This guest house comes very highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Colin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Preswylfa Guest House, responded to this review, July 5, 2012
Thanks Colin we are both really pleased that you had a good time and look forward to welcoming you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed June 30, 2012

Third time I've stopped here, always good food, comfortable rooms and a warm welcome - thoroughly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
west midlands
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2012

We travelled with friends down to this lovely guest house, we would like to thank jane and lawrence for their lovely hospitality, we found the guest house very easily, and were shown to our rooms which were decorated to a very high standard, plenty of tea and coffee, bath robes, fully stocked bathroom, it was the little touches like these that made our stay so good, jane was very friendly and helpful, after a good nights sleep, we went down to breakfast and there was everything you wanted. Would recommend this guest house to everyone.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WestMidlandsSusan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tywyn
3.7 mi away
Penhelig Arms
Penhelig Arms
#2 of 3 in Aberdyfi (Aberdovey)
631 reviews
10.1 mi away
Ty'r Graig Castle
Ty'r Graig Castle
#1 of 4 in Barmouth
371 reviews
15.1 mi away
Conrah Hotel
Conrah Hotel
#4 of 13 in Aberystwyth
497 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Seabreeze Restaurant with Rooms
Seabreeze Restaurant with Rooms
#2 of 11 in Aberdyfi (Aberdovey)
320 reviews
3.5 mi away
Britannia Inn
Britannia Inn
#9 of 11 in Aberdyfi (Aberdovey)
87 reviews
3.4 mi away
Awel y Mor
Awel y Mor
#5 of 11 in Aberdyfi (Aberdovey)
34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Preswylfa Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Preswylfa Guest House

Property: Preswylfa Guest House
Address: 2 Bryn Mair, Tywyn LL36 9AG, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Gwynedd > Tywyn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Tywyn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Preswylfa Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come and visit us at Preswyfla Guest House. We are conveniently located close to the main line railway station in Tywyn and within easy walking distance of the High Street, beach and other local amenities. Jane and Lawrence Garvey welcome you to their family home and aim to provide a relaxing, welcoming atmosphere and facilities of the highest standard. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Preswylfa Guest House Tywyn, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing