We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I'd live here if I could!”
Review of Manorhaus Ruthin

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Manorhaus Ruthin
Ranked #4 of 15 Ruthin B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
England
1 review
“I'd live here if I could!”
Reviewed October 17, 2009

I have stayed at the Manorhaus several times and every time it has been a relaxing, stress free experience. I stayed in Oriel 8 which had walls adorned with tasteful and original art from local artists, rather than the usual dreadful stuff on hotel walls. The bed was comfortable, the bathroom compact but clean and it had a bath as well as a shower - always a plus after a hard day. I particularly appreciated the little library area where I could use my laptop in peace. I guess the library would be too small and intrusive if more than one person wanted to use it, though. The menu was varied and interesting. They use local produce and seasonal vegetables - always a good sign. If I have one criticism it's the vague identity of the place. The Manorhaus describes itself as a restaurant with rooms, rather than a hotel. This could explain why, when my husband phoned and asked to be put through to my room, he was rather promptly told that, as it was not a hotel, no, he couldn't. Not everyone has a mobile or wishes to use the mobile for a long conversation, guys!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank writerEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

372 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    273
    65
    24
    9
    1
See reviews for
16
259
14
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bangor, North Wales
Level Contributor
115 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2009

Very efficient but friendly hosts who stashed our bikes safely away for the night while we ate in the excellent restaurant. Vegetarian choices were limited but were very good, we'd certainly enjoy eating here again. Unfortunately we didn't have time to experience the sauna or the library, the weather was too good to want to be indoors.

The bedroom was small, but this wasn't important to us. The bed was very comfortable and the road outside was very quiet on an October Monday so we slept well.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scottish_Hosteller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oxfordshire
1 review
Reviewed October 11, 2009

My partner and I have just returned from a 3 nigt stay. We were very impressed with every aspect of the hotel. The food was first class and the service attentive without being oppressive. Nothing was too much trouble including internet searches on obscure attractions. We thoroughly enjoyed the experience and thoroughly recommend.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank peartreecat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2009

we stayed here for the weekend on a mountain biking trip. We booked the last minute bed, breakfast and dinner deal and it was brilliant value for money. The rooms were really stylish and comfy, the food was lovely and the two guys who run the hotel are extremely welcoming - one is even the mayor or Ruthin!. we especially enjoyed the sauna and steam rooms after a long day biking. great breakfasts. would definitely go back.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank traveller1976079
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, OR
Level Contributor
164 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 199 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2009

We stayed in Ruthin two nights. I read dthe reviews and since Ruthin is reasonably close to Holyhead, our ferry town for Ireland, that this might be a nice place to stop and see Wales. It was. I liked the Pros and Cons review of JemimaGold.

Pros - Central location in Ruthin, great hosts Chris and Gavin who did everything for us, great food.

Cons - like Jemimagold, parking was a small problem. The room was wierd! Bright reds and a chair that had arms six feet tall (no kidding!). The bed was not the most comfortable.

We wandered through town, and never saw the Wales that we wanted since we really wanted to just relax a bit, so satisfied ourselves in Ruthin. It was a nice stop for a day.

Would I stay again? Possibly. We looked at the Castle Ruthin Hotel, not t be confused with the Castle Hotel, which looked to be a dump. I looked at Trip Advisors reviews and only saw one review, so chose Manorhaus instead. I would rethink that if I were doing it again. We had tea there and it was a wonderful experience.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank grapdad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aussie tripping around
Level Contributor
54 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2009

My husband and I stayed at Manorhaus for 2 nights. From the moment we arrived the two partners were very pleasant and helpful. We had two very heavy bags, Gavin told us where to park and on our return he had taken the bags to our room which we were very grateful for. He explained everything to us that the hotel had to offer. The room was small but very adequate for a standard. The furnishings were very modern and lovely and they also had double glazing on the windows which to me is a sign that the hotel truly wants their guests to be comfortable. We loved the library where you could take out dvds and watch on your TV and we took advantage of that. Breakfast was delicious and they were genuine when asking what you were doing for the day. We explained we would like to take the steam train but was not if it was running, without even being asked the man was back in 2 minutes letting us know it was running and even the times.
We had a lovely time in Ruthin and it was so nice to be in a small hotel after the awful commercial warner hotel we had just come from. A truly enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ROAMING9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2009

We booked this quite last minute on laterooms for the Easter weekend. It was a really lovely boutique style hotel. Great rooms and service, we loved the extra quirks like the library where you could borrow books and dvds and the sauna and steam room. Most of all though we thought the food was excellent. The breakfasts were delicious and we ended up eating in the restaurant both nights of our stay. The staff were friendly and helpful too. It was a great short break and definately worth a trip.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachel46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ruthin
0.2 mi away
Ruthin Castle Hotel
0.1 mi away
Castle Hotel
Castle Hotel
#1 of 2 in Ruthin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 344 reviews
9.7 mi away
Abbey Grange Hotel
Abbey Grange Hotel
#9 of 10 in Llangollen
3.0 of 5 bubbles 244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.6 mi away
Manorhaus Llangollen
Manorhaus Llangollen
#6 of 26 in Llangollen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 217 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Feathers
The Feathers
#8 of 15 in Ruthin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 20 reviews
3.6 mi away
The Old Rectory Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Manorhaus Ruthin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manorhaus Ruthin

Property: Manorhaus Ruthin
Address: 10 Well Street, Ruthin LL15 1AH, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Denbighshire > Ruthin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Ruthin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Manorhaus Ruthin 5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Manorhaus is a boutique style eight-bedroom townhouse restaurant and gallery in the centre of Ruthin, a historic market town nestled in the Vale of Clwyd. A Grade II listed Georgian building, its original features have been juxtaposed with stylish modern interior design and 21st Century facilities, including mini fitness room; guest library with magazines, books and dvd's; private cinema; sauna and steam room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Manorhaus Ruthin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Manorhaus Hotel Ruthin
Manorhaus Ruthin Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing