We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable stay and no problems with service”
Review of Manorhaus Ruthin

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Manorhaus Ruthin
Ranked #4 of 15 Ruthin B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 1, 2013

We had a decent room, pretty much what was expected and found no fault with the service. We received a warm welcome from Chris and found everyone helpful. The long term parking licence is a nice touch (there is no parking on site - the car park is a less than a couple of hundred yards away).
Dinner was good, though if you prefer less adorned food, the main restaurant menu is limiting. That said, they do have a bar menu with simpler meals. The in room information clearly states that if you want to enjoy a meal in your room, there is a menu of bar meals available to choose from.
We enjoyed breakfast but would criticise a couple of points - the ''Manx'' kippers looked like they had come from the supermarket (cook in the bag variety) and the 'herb sausage' was distinctly lacking in herbs. That said, we had good service and were greeted on both mornings with a smile.

Room Tip: The rooms that look onto the street are not that noisy. Traffic outside is quite limited and there a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sennockian55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (387)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

96 - 102 of 387 reviews

Reviewed September 30, 2013

I am nervous writing this review but I feel it important to readers and the management of this hotel alike. Please read on.

We booked our third stay with Chris and Gavin and were full of expectation - we had really enjoyed both the previous nights with our hosts and receive a newsletter with their offers including this all inclusive deal.

On this occasion, for whatever reason, the discount vouchers that seem to be so important to Chris were not mentioned when we booked and pre-paid. OK, so it would have been nice to help their process, but cutting a long story short, the manager challenged us at our breakfast table - no politeness, no compassion, just telling me in an abrupt, disrespectful way in front of other guests that I would have to go on line and print a voucher! And when asked politely for brown sauce, when stood next to the table, he said 'it's here on the table' and rushed off. Thanks Chris - service without a smile. Did you know all the other customer's in the restaurant saw that too with many raised eyebrows?

So, we were left to stew on this all day and returned to our paid for meal in the evening. We would say that the evening meal was of the expected high quality and service polite, but an air of hostility still pervaded in the empty restaurant.

So the next morning the bill was presented asking for a hundred pounds or so more than already paid. Needless to say we were not surprised and we did not pay.

The point I am making is, that no matter the rights and wrongs of the situation, it was handled in a disgraceful way by someone that clearly does not understand politeness or the meaning of 'hospitality'. Remember we are return visitors previously giving glowing reports on the Manorhaus. I can see reading earlier reports that others have found similar issues here. If you want to see good customer service, then you've no need to look further than the busy Wetherspoons across the street or the fabulous, full to the rafters 'On the Hill'. If the management don't listen and learn, then sadly I can't see them surviving in this trade. Each unhappy customer will tell 20 other people of their bad experience. The Manorhaus management should bear that in mind.

We will never be staying here ever again - we have lost absolutely nothing as there is plenty of choice in Ruthin and Llangollen too, it is you who are poorer with your declining reputation. I suspect you may soon enjoy your misery in an empty restaurant and hotel.

Oh, as an aside, the breakfast is poor, but that's nit picking when systemic problems run so deeply.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DaveyWaveyWrexham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gavinvharris, Owner at Manorhaus Ruthin, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2013

We are pleased that you had chosen to stay with us for a third time but are extremely sorry that your stay this time has been tainted by the confusion with your room rate after you incorrectly informed us that you had booked with a Livingsocial voucher. During your stay you raised no complaints with us and we believed you to be enjoying your stay.

You had purchased a voucher directly with us, but unfortunately when you made the reservation, the manorhaus reference code that would have identified it as a direct purchase was not provided and entered in the booking system.

When you arrived you told us that you thought you had booked with a Livingsocial voucher but were unable to locate it, so in accordance with their requirements we confirmed that we would need to be presented with a voucher as payment for the room, and you confirmed that you would be able to present electronically during your stay. Despite a polite reminder about the voucher, nothing was presented, and by the morning of check-out, as with any reservation, we prepare a bill which shows what is to pay, which included the cost of the room. It was not until you were presented with this did you then mention that you thought you had purchased directly with us. At that point we were able re-check the reservation system and our own payment history and confirm this and remove the room charge. If you had not made reference to Livingsocial during your stay we would not have expected a voucher to be presented and the charge would otherwise not have appeared.

We are sorry that crossed-wires from both parties led the confusion and presentation of a bill with the room charge, and that despite this being rectified swiftly, that the experience has tainted your stay and resulted in you expressing with some bitterness that you will not return.

This is fortunately the first instance of this nature and we will re-clarify procedures to ensure it does not happen again in future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2013

We had a lovely two night stay in this hotel, A very helpful young lady greeted us in the pouring rain and helped us with our bags. Each room is different (we looked at a friend's room who was also staying there). Our room was very nice with tea/coffee/hot chocolate/biscuits big TV etc etc. We had a wet room, instead of a bathroom with shower cubicle, which I really liked. The bed was comfortable with lovely Egyptian cotton sheets. I'm not a great "breakfast person" but my bacon and poached egg was lovely - so I had it again the next morning. Husband had the "full welsh" and he said it was great (all locally sourced ingredients) and kippers the next day, which were already filleted, so no messing about with skin and tails etc!. Cereals, fruit juices and local yogurts supplied beforehand too. Nice bar for a quick drink before we went out and then for a nightcap. Didn't eat dinner there, although the menu did look impressive. All in all - a lovely stay and worth the money. There is, however, no parking, although they give you a free pass for the public car park just down the road, which wasn't a problem for us.

Room Tip: We stayed in room no. 1 which was lovely, so I can't comment on any of the others. There is, ho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jackiehw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2013

We checked in for a two night stay recently. Our room was small and felt like a badly decorated B&B that was decorated on the cheap. We travelled 9 hours to get to Ruthin (which is a beautiful place), felt that we couldn't manage anything but a simple, quick take away in our over-priced bedroom. The abrupt manager turned us away at the door after we bought our small take away so we found ourselves eating our 'dinner' on the street outside! When we read the T&Cs which were on our bed, no takeaways are permitted in the hotel otherwise you will be charged for another nights stay so that the room can be fumigated. Astounding really as the room service menu offered dishes like seafood risotto etc?! Due to being treated in the manner that we were, we didn't hesitate to pay another local hotel to take us for our second nights stay in Ruthin - we didn't go back to Manorhaus for a second evening (despite having already paid)! Disappointing prices, rooms and terrible service lacking helpfulness and sincerity.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Jasmine7519
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gavinvharris, Owner at Manorhaus Ruthin, responded to this reviewResponded September 7, 2013

We are sorry you felt your room was small, and that we didn't allow you to eat your Takeaway meal in your bedroom.

All our rooms vary in size and decor, and prices are in 4 bands which reflect the size of each room. You chose to stay in our smallest rooms at the cheapest rate.

Guests can see images of all the rooms and choose depending on availability which room to have, and those staying on offers specific to a room type have the option to upgrade to larger rooms for small supplements.

As a restaurant with rooms, we offer a full 3 course menu in our restaurant, as well as an informal menu that guests can enjoy in the bar, lounge, library or on proper trays in their room. The menu includes dishes such as homemade Welsh beef burgers, sausages and mash, fishcakes, BLT and the soup and risotto of the day off our restaurant menu which are always vegetarian (so definitely was not a seafood risotto).

Having operated for nearly 12 years, we know that in particular Chinese, Indian and Kebab Takeaway meals in the bedrooms lead to stains that cannot be removed and smells that linger for days. Our policy is not small print, but is stated clearly in the guest letter that is placed on the bed for your arrival as well as in the room information browser. We don't think our policy is unreasonable as we doubt if any guest would even consider the thought eating a takeaway in their own bedroom at home.

Being put in the position of having to confront a guest to remind them of our policy when they are trying to smuggle in a large takeaway bag into their room is not a pleasant experience for us, and has obviously soured your view of our service and hospitality. However we are willing to risk this response from those that show an inconsiderate attitude and disregard for other more responsible travellers.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2013

My husband and I stayed here on a Groupon deal. We arrived to courteous and friendly attention at this modern boutique hotel. The room was lovely and attention to small details was impressive and quality was abundant. Breakfast was served to order. Our stay was faultless. Thank you.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pammie77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gavinvharris, Owner at Manorhaus Ruthin, responded to this reviewResponded September 7, 2013

Many thanks for your very positive review - we are glad you enjoyed your stay and appreciated the efforts we have made and attention to detail that you noticed.

Although we no longer undertake any 'deals' with Groupon we hope that we can entice you back in future with some of the equally compelling packages that we offer travellers who sign up to our guestlist newsletter. As a past visitor you will be included on this VIP list, but other travellers can also subscribe via our website.

Many thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2013

We recently had the pleasure of a two night stay at the Manorhaus hotel in Ruthin on a deal that included two nights bed and breakfast .Upon arrival we where shown our rooms which where very good indeed everything was thought of even down to a fan which was more than appreciated on ahot summers night .The hotel is decorated throughout with quirky themes and great artwork .the breakfast was of great choice and fantastic produce,service was excellent .We chose to eat in the restaurant on the Saturday evening we had cocktails in the lounge while reading the menu and wine list .There was an excellent choice of both .we where guided into the restaurant which is situated at the front of the hotel in a conservatory .The food was first class my thoughts were that you could pay a lot more for this quality.once finished a wonderfull comfortable bed completed the evening.We hope to return as Ruthin is also a quaint place to stay a feeling of a nice friendly little town.

Room Tip: Ours was oriel 8 everything was provided that we needed
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Kevin F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

My partner and I have just returned from the Manorhaus in ruthin after buying a living social deal last year. We upgraded our room to a suite and were put in oriel 5. Wow! What a fantastic room and hotel. The whole place was so quirkily put together it was fab.

We rented out the cinema on the Friday night and it was like being a celebrity having your own 6 seater cinema room! Well worth it if you're big into films. Had Apple TV so millions of old and new films to watch. And also catch up tv too.

We climbed snowdon on the Saturday and they thoughtfully made us both a packed breakfast as we were leaving before breakfast was served.

We didn't eat there other than the breakfast on the 2nd morning but that was more than okay.

We were left to our own devices the whole weekend which suited us perfectly as we were off doing things else where. The place was a perfect base and is so wonderfully thought out - I loved all the art and we have left rethinking our colour schemes at home!

The town it's in is so cute too with loads of little quirky shops and nice pubs. We ate in the castle house on the Friday night for a cheap meal, and Saturday the mydleton pub next door the following which was outstanding. Just what we needed after a climb up a mountain!

Only downside of the hotel was that we were knocking on the front door for a good 5 mins upon arrival to be checked in. Another couple were also there and had been a few mins before we got there. Also the room was very hot as not air conned, however the fluke hot summer were having at the moment is just that - a one off - sure its fine most other times.

All round great hotel and if another good deal came up, wouldn't hesitate to book again.

Room Tip: Upgrade to a suite if you can. Very romantic!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Georgie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ruthin
0.1 mi away
Castle Hotel
Castle Hotel
#1 of 2 in Ruthin
388 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ruthin Castle Hotel
11.6 mi away
Manorhaus Llangollen
Manorhaus Llangollen
#6 of 26 in Llangollen
235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
The Old Rectory Bed & Breakfast
1.8 mi away
Plas Efenechtyd Cottage B&B
0 mi away
Ty Derw Country House Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Manorhaus Ruthin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manorhaus Ruthin

Address: 10 Well Street, Ruthin LL15 1AH, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Denbighshire > Ruthin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Ruthin
Price Range: $114 - $237 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Manorhaus Ruthin 5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Manorhaus is a boutique style eight-bedroom townhouse restaurant with private cinema in the centre of Ruthin, a historic market town nestled in the Vale of Clwyd. A Grade II listed Georgian building, its original features have been juxtaposed with stylish modern interior design and 21st Century facilities, including guest library; private cinema; sauna and steam room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz and Booking.com so you can book your Manorhaus Ruthin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Manorhaus Hotel Ruthin
Manorhaus Ruthin Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing