We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Manorhaus Ruthin
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Castle Hotel(Ruthin)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Plas Hafod Hotel(Gwernymynydd)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Soughton Hall(Northop)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Abbey Grange Hotel(Llangollen)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
    Reviews (394)
    Filter reviews
    394 results
    Traveler rating
    288
    71
    24
    10
    1
    Traveler type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    288
    71
    24
    10
    1
    Show reviews that mention
    All reviewsprivate cinemacinema roomboutique hotelsauna and steam roomwet roomeggs benedictoriginal artparking passtwo nightsfull welsh breakfasttwo night staybed was very comfortablekippersexcellent breakfastlocal produceboth morningsmarket town
    FilterAll languages
    Updating list...
    148 - 153 of 394 reviews
    Reviewed March 4, 2013

    Stayed for two nights at the beginning of March, ( on a KGB deal), welcomed by James upon arrival, everything explained to us in a pleasant manner , shown our room and given a parking permit ( very nice touch, this can be used throughout Denbighshire in any long stay car park during your visit.)
    Ruthin is a lovely place and people are very welcoming.
    Greeted by Gavin later in the day, again very welcoming and pleasant, booked the spahh( sauna and steam room) for our second day, a must if you stay here will relax you completely, must be booked in advance and is a private booking so no sharing.
    did look into the library and DVD selection, a very good choice on offer. there is also a private cinema available but unfortunately we didn't get the chance to advantage of this.
    the breakfast was very good, excellent choice and well presented.
    there were a few very minor points , but I must add, did not really affect our stay but must mention, the bathroom tap span around when you tried to turn on, it is a wet-room but soaked the toilet too, the bed was very, very creaky , the windows were very difficult to open and I could
    only manage to open to about two inches. As I said these were minor points and did not spoil our stay but worth mentioning.
    A lovely place to stay whilst visiting Ruthin.

    • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    2  Thank nr1369
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Reviewed February 27, 2013

    My boyfriend and I stayed for 2 nights (using a Living Social voucher) and I don't think we've ever been so disappointed with a hotel. Judging from the other reviews, it seems that we were unfortunate to only be served/attended to by Christopher throughout our stay. There was no warmth or friendliness when we arrived, he was nowhere to be found for the majority of our time there (on one occasion we had to ring the front doorbell in order to get his attention, as there is no bell on reception) and we actually felt rather like second class citizens. A small point but at breakfast on the second day we weren't offered toast. Whilst everyone else around us was spoken to courteously, we were almost given the silent treatment and felt as though we had done something to offend him. We wondered whether, as he'd already got our money, he couldn't be bothered to be nice and welcoming.

    The room (Oriel 7) was nice enough although not 5 star standard. I think it must have been the cinema room previously as the projector mount is still on the ceiling and there are holes in the wall where the screen must have hung. The bathroom extractor fan is far too small for the room and, given that we were instructed to leave the door shut whilst showering as not doing so sets the fire alarm off, everything in the bathroom ended up being soaking wet. There was broken aerial in one of the bedside drawers and a broken DVD player also in the room. Why not just remove them? The list of "don'ts" in the in-room information pack is rather staggering and we did feel rather like we were staying in a hostel on a school trip, being told not to be naughty. The phone in our room didn't work and on enquiring with Christopher (after we eventually found him) he said that they knew there was a problem with the phones. Why weren't we advised of this on check-in? The radiator in the room clicked constantly while on so it was either deal with a poor night's sleep or be very very cold. Neither were a great option.

    The bed itself was large, soft and comfortable but this was tainted by the sheer volume of dust on the headboard and bedside tables (see photos). So much in fact that it was becoming a nasal irritant and finally we had to clean the services down ourselves. It was only then when started moving items to clean and we saw the tissues and balling of dust particles that we realized just how thick the dust was. It became apparent on the second night, post house-keeping visit, that the only thing they did was remake the bed and empty the bin.

    The private cinema is a nice touch and while it allows you to watch an extensive selection of movies or even your own DVDs in a rather special way, actually booking the cinema was the most difficult part, not because of a full reservation list but once again due to the distinct lack of staff or any means to gain their attention.

    We saw no other staff anywhere else in the building. Walking into the restaurant or bar is exceptionally unwelcoming when there is just no one to seat or serve you. So if you can't find Christopher and you obviously can't call down for food your only option is to eat out because you can't bring ANY food back, it's against the rules and you'll be fined up to £200 (as I believe the "Welcome" booklet said). Being a small town there isn't much available that isn't take-out but we managed to find somewhere to eat in the evening and decided to head further afield for the rest of our meals. Staffing is the main issue with the Manorhaus. Christopher seemed to be the only person there and, while breakfast was great, aside from the lack of toast, the house keeping isn't up to scratch. Any kind of service is inaccessible and, quite honestly, Christopher is so unwelcoming you're almost glad he's that difficult to get a hold of.

    We won't be back.

    • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    3  Thank Helen C
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    gavinvharris, Owner at Manorhaus Ruthin, responded to this reviewResponded February 28, 2013

    We are obviously extremely sorry that you were disappointed with your stay - and in particular that aspects of our housekeeping was not up to our normal high standards. We take great care and pride in maintaining cleanliness, and have a team of 3 housekeepers that work through the week to clean and service the room. Obviously dusting the top of the headboard had been missed prior to your checking-in.

    We are classified as a restaurant with rooms under Guest Accommodation - and not a hotel, so we do not have a permanently manned front desk, however staff are working around the building and service is available by ringing a bell on the bar or dialling 0. Unfortunately, your room has had an intermittent problem with its phone line, which means you were unable to call down for service - but this is currently being remedied with investment in a new telephone system and switchboard for the whole property.

    The majority of reviews reflect that we offer a warm welcome with courteous, professional and unobtrusive service that guests appreciate. We try and provide personable service that is responsive to the customer - some guests like lots of interaction and to be treated like friends whilst others prefer more distance and to be left alone. In this instance we may have misjudged the level of interaction / privacy you desired. You suggest that other guests seemed to enjoy more attention, and are sorry that you may have felt left out.

    The small don'ts in our room browser relate to discouraging the eating of takeaway foods in the room, or activities such as smoking that cause damage to the room fittings or make the room unfit for occupancy by the next guest, and are in no way any different or more excessive than what you would expect in any accommodation provider.

    Having chosen to come and stay in our Restaurant with Rooms, its a shame that you didn't chose to dine with us and preferred to search the town for takeaways - as your enjoyable breakfast may not have been the only highlight of your stay. The extra facilities we have such as the cinema and sauna and steam room are a 'nice touch' and available to guests on a private basis but do require pre-booking, and most guests anticipate this - either booking in advance of their stay, when checking-in or during dinner or breakfast service,.

    We obviously fell below expectations and our usual high standard standard and deeply regret that, and will be addressing issues you have raised to ensure that they are not repeated. Thank you for your comments.

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Reviewed February 26, 2013

    The Manorhaus accommodation was disappointing. Oriel 1 - Very small room with hardly any space. The bed was creaky. There were little jobs that needed to be done such as a faulty plug socket and the tap was very wobbly in the shower room. The shower room was cramped and as it was a wet room it left everything in there soaking (toilet seat and any towels). The bedding/pillows were lovely and very comfortable. The free parking permit is a nice touch. Chris was an unfriendly chap. Did not warm to him at all, it felt like we were unwanted guests in his own home. We stayed for 2 nights - on our 2nd day we went out for a walk and left the 'Do Not Disturb' sign on our door as we didn't need the room cleaning and they went in anyway. Our stuff was moved around and we felt it was an unwanted invasion of privacy. We had breakfast on both days and the food was fantastic, best breakfast I've had in a B&B by far. The other lad that works there was a lot nicer, offering extra coffee/toast whereas Chris didn't bother, making you feel cheeky to ask for more. Overall, class food, average accommodation, poor customer relations.

    • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    1  Thank Akrotiri_John
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    gavinvharris, Owner at Manorhaus Ruthin, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2013

    We are glad you enjoyed your breakfast at manorhaus, that you found the bedding comfortable, and the free parking permit for use across the whole county a 'nice touch', but are sorry you found your room small - it is one of our smaller rooms but is priced accordingly, and as other reviewers note, our website clearly explains and shows the differences between all our rooms to allow you to make an informed choice as to which room most suits your preferences. Hopefully if you were to come again you might choose a larger room more suited to your expectations.

    Our wet room shower rooms may be compact but have been designed to maximise the space available for showering whilst providing all the other amenities that are required, splashy showering can get some areas wet, but sensible placing of towels on the towel rail or vanity shelf does protect from splashes. (The wobbly tap has unfortunately been an occasional issue which we have tried to remedy, but are now planning a sink rip-out in order to provide a long term fix).

    Sorry you felt Chris was unfriendly - during busy times such as breakfast service, we have to attend to all our guests equally and may not have had time to chat, or to return to offer additional items, but we hope guests feel at ease enough to ask for more or call us over if anything is needed. Sometimes guests prefer their own space or to be left alone so we try and balance how intrusive our service is to the 'vibe' that they are giving off, maybe we misread you on that morning.

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Reviewed February 24, 2013

    My Husband and I stayed over the weekend for a two night stay, bed and breakfast. (KGB deal) The stay was pleasant and the service was second to none. We ate in the restaurant the first evening and they catered to my allergy requirements and the old was stunning. All local, fresh produce and all was cooked to perfection. The breakfast was fresh and a nice variety from cereals, juices, full Welsh breakfast, Eggs Benedict and fresh coffee. We fancied a change for breakfast so we ate at the Village Bakery and the food was top quality and friendly service. We found the locals to be extremely welcoming and added a personal, hospitable touch to our stay. We would recommend this stay to any one looking for a quiet getaway. All round enjoyable stay!

    • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank JoJoMozz
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    gavinvharris, Owner at Manorhaus Ruthin, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2013

    We are glad you enjoyed your stay, the delicious breakfast, and friendly and personable service. We hope we can welcome you again so that you can continue to discover our quiet yet beautiful town and its friendly residents.

    Many thanks

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Reviewed February 22, 2013

    My wife and I stayed here for two nights on a KGB deal which for £99 included breakfast.
    We stayed in Oriel6 which was clean and comfortable if somewhat compact. This room would not suit someone who is above 6 foot tall as there is a sloping ceiling with a beam in the middle. The bed was very comfortable and the duvet is clearly of a very high quality. The bathroom is also quite small. It is also a wet room and the shower was powerful and the water temperature was great. As someone who wet shaves I have to say that the lighting isn't great and I had to bend to see the mirror on the cabinet( and I am not over 6 foot tall!) Tea and coffee and biscuits are in plentiful supply and are replenished each day.
    The room overlooks the street and on both nights we were woken up at about 1.30am by groups of people "making merry" on the return from the pubs and/or clubs. If you are a light sleeper request a quiet room
    Given that this is a small boutique hotel with only 8 rooms it has a lot to offer. We reserved our slot in the sauna and steam room and both are very good indeed. You need to give them an hours notice and we simply called the hotel when we were about to return after our day out.
    There is also a very well stocked library that offers CD's and DVD's as well as, of course, books. We didn't manage to visit the cinema in the basement but intend to return at some point and this will be high on our list.
    The breakfast was good with a very wide choice to select from.
    We dined in the restaurant on both nights and the food was both well cooked and well presented if a tad overpriced (£26 for two courses and £32 for three) The bar and wine prices were also on the high side but this did not seem to stop people from buying them.
    We don't want to dwell on this but in order to give a balanced review we feel we should mention the service which can be quite indifferent. We were met and shown to our room by Chris who seemed to go through the motions but didn't want to engage in conversation or be bothered with questions. He also waited our table for dinner on Saturday evening and breakfast on Sunday morning. The breakfast took an absolute age to arrive and by which time the Tea and Coffee were cold. There just seemed to be very little interaction with the guests. However by contrast we were served on Friday evening and Saturday morning by Gavin (we think as we completely forgot to ask his name and didn't see him again!) who made conversation and seemed to genuinely care when asking if everything was OK. He also went to great lengths at breakfast to ask what we were planning for the day and provided a small map to get us to the North Wales coast and what to look out for. Great customer care and takes the rating for service from "average" to "very good"!
    There are far more positives than negatives and, as mentioned earlier, this will not stop us from returning and if you are thinking of visiting this neck of the woods you could do a lot worse than pay a visit to Manorhaus!

    Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back
    • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank chris-rosy
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    gavinvharris, Owner at Manorhaus Ruthin, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2013

    We are glad you enjoyed your stay, using the sauna and steam room and our guest library. Your room Oriel 6 is our most compact and has an eaves ceiling, but it is well designed with a king size bed, drop down desk, concealed wardrobe storage and a 'Prince Charles Investiture Chair' to sit on.

    The offer you stayed on was extremely competitive but rooms were allocated on a first come first served basis, and it was the last left. Although the room is fitted with secondary acoustic glazing, particularly loud banter from the street does sometimes affect light sleepers. We encourage guests who have particular requirements for extra space or quieter rooms to check out the website or give us a call for advice, as even with package offers, larger rooms are available with a small supplement.

    Our restaurant pricing reflects the value we place on sourcing the best ingredients from local suppliers and sources, and then creating from scratch everything from stocks, ice creams, breads, jams and marmalades, chocolates or biscuits for cheese.

    Many thanks for your review.

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    View more reviews