We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely, clean stylish hotel with great extras, amazing food and in a beautiful location.”
Review of Manorhaus Ruthin

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Manorhaus Ruthin
Ranked #4 of 15 Ruthin B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 10, 2012

Got a 2 night stay with a living social voucher, did not know the area at all so did not know what to expect. The hotel is in the middle of a lovely historic town set in the middle of beautiful welsh country side. The hotel itself is really stylish with great decor and real attention detail. Our room was lovely, clean and well accessorised. The cinema room and spa were also a great bonus feature and the food in the restaurant was outstanding. Would definitely reccomend!

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RHJRM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (387)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

160 - 166 of 387 reviews

Reviewed October 29, 2012

This is the second timewe have stayed at manorhaus. Unlikley to be the last.
Everything about this hotel is excellent. All staff are vey friendly and nothing appears to be any trouble for them.
We stayed in Oriel 6 which is pretty small but we knew that before we arrived. The room albeit small had everything we needed. Asked for hypo allergenic bedding prior to arrival and it was there on arrival.
Our room had a wet room which again wasn't huge but as I keep telling the Mrs, size isn't everything.
Well replenished tea and coffee within room, excellent flat screen TV, bed so comfortable. Room was above the main street and there was some noise partic on Sat night, but hey, its a town with pubs, what do you suspect.
Managed to change the clock in my room from BST (unlike other reviewer) and as such was in plenty time for the excellent breakfast. Loads of choice, made to order, freshly squeezed orange juice, great coffee. Used both the Spa/sauna and the private cinema. Both facilities are great and a huge plus for the hotel.
Never ate in the restaurant this time as decided to try some other local ones but have done so previously.
would recommend Manorhaus to anybody. The owners and staff are very nice, facilities are great.Hope to return. Thanks Oh yes, parking permit is great too.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank johncam1874
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2012

Clean, friendly and perfect location - even provided a car parking permit! Well organised and lovely breakfast. A great place to stay and would certainly book again if we were in the area. We spent 3 nights in Ruthin and had a very relaxing time. Thank you.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Junemcminn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2012

This is a lovely hotel, very retro but with extra touches. The room and wet room is excellent. The staff are very friendly and helpful. Our room was in the attic which was cosy and had everything you needed. It was a bit on the small size but adequate as we didnt spend a lot of time in the room. I would definately return to this hotel

Room Tip: If a spacious bedroom is your preferred choice then select a room on the first floor and avoid the a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joyce J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2012

No car park but were given a parking permit for the long stay literally just around the corner by James when we arrived. We were given a warm welcome and were told about the facilities at Manorhaus. He also confirmed our booking for the Spahhh (sauna and steam room) and dinner booking.

The room was very clean and beautifully decorated. If I was really picky I would suggest that the carpet probably is showing some wear but this really would be picky. I appreciated the toiletries that are made locally. Bathroom really clean and included a steam-free mirror. We were not aware of any noise from other guests, which, considering this is a converted period house was great.

We used the Spahhh twice during our stay. This is free and is booked for private use. Would suggest a couple of chairs outside of the sauna and steam to cool off in before going back in. The robes provided in your room are very handy to use for the Spahh.

Breakfast was lovely with quality ingredients used. Really liked the marmalade. The hot breakfast is cooked to order and the portion size was just right without a cloche or hot plate in sight. Linen table clothes and quality cutlery.

We ate in the restaurant on the Saturday evening. The food was really lovely and the atmosphere was very relaxed. Again, quality and attention to detail were very evident. I really enjoyed the goats cheese panna cotta. I had the chocolate pot for dessert which was fine but was actually made fabulous by the accompanying apple and mint sorbet.

Do visit the aquaduct at Trevor, train ride up Snowdon, Betws Y Coed and Ruthin Gaol.

Would recommend to my best friend if she were visiting North Wales

Room Tip: All seem lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Greymalkin_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2012

Just had three nights here and it ticks all the boxes ,greeted by james on arriving very helpful taken to the room oriel 3 not a bad size all very clean and tidy and a user able en-suite good shower. Bed was good and never heard any other guest noise or noise from restaurant,
There is no parking but you can pull up outside unload and you are given a voucher for the long stay carpark down the road which also can be used in any longterm carpark in Denbighshire we booked and used the steam and sauna room for an hour, twice great only thing you cant lock the doors to the room and some one did walk in,, perhaps should just have a sign, in use on the outside of the door .
Had Dinner there sat night all very good and a good standard ,breakfast very good and just the right amount.
Fantastic art and photos hanging to look at or too purchase.
The hotel is in good location ,place's to vist Ruthin jail, Llangollen aqua duct ,Erddig and the drive from ruthin towards snowdonia Betws y coed ,all very good sights .
Would I return yes Is there any need to moan amount minor things No

Room Tip: Oriel 3 is to the rear by the kitchen fans
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travelled24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2012

We tried to book the offer 3 nights for 2 a long time before we went to The Manorhaus but it told us the hotel was full. We were going to book the suite as we were staying 3 nights. When I spoke to the Hotel they managed to book us in but only in a small room- Oriel 8. We stayed 1 night in Chester instead and that was amazing so glad it worked out that way. The room was very nice, the bed was so comfortable and the view amazing. It was a little small and I would have loved to have had a full sized bath. The shower curtain was very rusty at the top by the hooks but the room was pretty clean so this is just an observation.
We had a glass of Prosecco and a couple of petit fours when we arrived- very nice touch. We dined in the restaurant on the Saturday night with some of our local friends. The food was delicious and I think we all enjoyed it - chocolate pudding to die for!! I am a vegetarian but I felt pretty well catered for really. Breakfast was nice, I like the fact it was cooked freshly and was also included in the £145 room rate which I was glad about as I thought the room was quite expensive for it's size and facilities.
We used the ironing board from the library - great idea as there would not have been room to store it in the bedroom.
All in all we really enjoyed our stay, the staff are very friendly and welcoming.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MevP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ruthin
0.1 mi away
Castle Hotel
Castle Hotel
#1 of 2 in Ruthin
388 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ruthin Castle Hotel
11.6 mi away
Manorhaus Llangollen
Manorhaus Llangollen
#6 of 26 in Llangollen
235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
The Old Rectory Bed & Breakfast
1.8 mi away
Plas Efenechtyd Cottage B&B
0 mi away
Ty Derw Country House Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Manorhaus Ruthin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manorhaus Ruthin

Address: 10 Well Street, Ruthin LL15 1AH, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Denbighshire > Ruthin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Ruthin
Price Range: $114 - $237 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Manorhaus Ruthin 5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Manorhaus is a boutique style eight-bedroom townhouse restaurant with private cinema in the centre of Ruthin, a historic market town nestled in the Vale of Clwyd. A Grade II listed Georgian building, its original features have been juxtaposed with stylish modern interior design and 21st Century facilities, including guest library; private cinema; sauna and steam room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz and Booking.com so you can book your Manorhaus Ruthin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Manorhaus Hotel Ruthin
Manorhaus Ruthin Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing