We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A MEDIEVAL EXPERIENCE NOT TO BE MISSED”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ruthin Castle Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Ruthin
Certificate of Excellence
Telford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A MEDIEVAL EXPERIENCE NOT TO BE MISSED”
Reviewed January 13, 2014

we stayed recently as a group for the Medieval night . We had a super room which was spotless. A wonderful welcome from staff and a lovely glass of punch why we were waiting to check in. The dinner was a four course meal with a real hearty soup,followed by lamb shank and veg , followed by chicken and potato,and finished with a fruit syllabub. Wine was also included .The staff kept us entertained with real traditional welsh songs sang beautifully. A really funny jester who marvelled us with his magic and comedy. The wenches served our food and drink with a smile and were so professional and they all could sing too. The host for the evening and his female counterpart ensured the evening went without a hitch and everyone thoroughly enjoyed them the evening.So if you want an evening out with a difference,please try Ruthin Castle. You will not be disappointed. In fact we waiting for the Christmas brochure so we can book a 3 day break which sounds amazing .

Room Tip: Go for the deluxe room as they are very special
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rosiesoot123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruthin_Castle, Manager at Ruthin Castle Hotel, responded to this review, January 17, 2014
Hi rosiesoot123, thank you for your post here on Tripadvisor. It is truly wonderful to hear that you enjoyed our unique Medieval Banquet. We run open banquets on regular dates for couples and groups or for large groups we can always open a date, please check our website for details.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,067 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    943
    626
    265
    149
    84
See reviews for
263
1,321
21
51
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (458)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Wirral, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2014

Just returned from a great couple of days here. Deluxe room was lovely and spacious, with good quality bedding. Our evening meal was fantastic. If youre looking for a different venue, this is it! Afternoon tea is a must, so many tasty treats included.. . Handy for the local pubs too. Thoroughly enjoyable experience with extremely friendly staff.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marjorie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wirral
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2014

We stayed for one-night on a fantastic KGB deal - £129 for afternoon tea, dinner, bed & breakfast. First up was the afternoon tea, which would set you back £29.95 for two when paying full price, and would have been well-worth the money. Endless tea and coffee accompanied by sandwiches, scones, carrot cake, Welsh cake, appletini, macaroon and tiramisu. Lovely stuff. After a short walk around the hotel gardens - and a complementary glass of mulled wine - we checked in and found our room. We were given a deluxe double room on the ground floor and it was fantastic. Huge bed, huge TV, leather sofa, roll-top bath in the room, separate bathroom with rainfall shower. Neither the air-con nor the heated towel rail were working when we arrived, but a call to reception and a very friendly and helpful maintenance man turned up quickly to fix the problem. Great service. Dinner in Bertie's restaurant felt like it was going to be quite formal and stuffy to begin with, but though it is clearly a classy place, the friendly, professional staff easily put us at ease. The food was gorgeous and, although there was a small supplement to pay for some of the items on the menu, was all included in the deal; all we had to pay for was wine (a reasonable £19 for a nice drop of Malbec) All in all, apart from the initial problems with the air-con and towel rail, the hotel was faultless. Every member of staff we met was courteous and professional and, though we were on a deal break, we felt as though we were treated as their most important guests there, which is a fine recommendation. I hope the hotel goes from strength to strength, the hardworking, dedicated staff deserve every success.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ajc2707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 9, 2014

We went to stay at Ruthin Castle in November from Monday-Wednesday and came back feeling blissful. I bought a voucher from LivingSocial at half price, but I would have been happy paying full price such was the beauty of the hotel and its surroundings.

On check-in the staff were helpful, informative and welcoming. The whole of the hotel has a baroque/old-english feel to it which reflects its history and compliments the castle. Our room was gorgeous, a deluxe suite with so much room I could have swung a cow in it (who were lovely and minded their own business when we went for strolls around the grounds) In terms of the room, the only grump I'd have would be the 80's era hairdryer fixed to the bathroom wall, it's not powerful enough and the handle gets hot- I'd suggest you bring your own. The desk and massive mirror was perfect for getting ready in front of and the massive TV (though only used for an hour) was a welcome distraction whilst I waited for the boy to get ready.
Dinner was delightful; unhurried and relaxing. The food was very good and the dining room is quite beautiful. One thing I've noticed with a few of these reviews is people complaining about the cold. You are staying in a CASTLE in the middle of Wales- it's not going to be particularly warm- so dress accordingly people. Saying this; the fires were roaring and the AC in the room was working, so no problems for us. Breakfast is fine, if you want a hot one you'll have to pay extra- I was happy with toast, yoghurt, fruit and cereal which came with the room rate. Afternoon tea was scrumptious, and the castle walls themselves were very interesting and a bit frightening if you happened to sneak out for a cheeky cig late at night- try not to fall off the castle. The history behind the hotel is interesting, some more history would be welcome I think to explain what some of those stone corridors were used for outside! The bar room is lovely, decked out like a library with mahogany wood and leather chairs- very relaxing. In fact relaxed is the overwhelming feeling we came away with after two nights there- which was exactly what we were looking for. Fantastic service, especially from the men in the Library bar, really helped make it a special break.

Lastly, the Moat Spa- bear in mind you had to pay an additional £10 to use the facilities, although this is redeemable against any treatments you buy- was lovely. We were lucky as there was only one other couple there in the entire place, so we could change from steam room, sauna, plunge pools and relaxation rooms with ease and it felt like we had the place to ourselves. Delightful!

Room Tip: We had the deluxe suite. Beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Blathain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruthin_Castle, Manager at Ruthin Castle Hotel, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Thank you Blathain for taking the time to let us know about your stay. Your review is really interesting and very informative. We are working on ways to make the history of the Castle more accessible to everyone and that project will be coming soon. As you can imagine we have a wide variety of sized and shaped rooms and they are all to a very high standard (although we wouldn't recommend swinging a cow in one).
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2014

I enjoyed every minute of my stay at this wonderful (get away from it all) hotel. The staff were so pleasant and eager to please and the food was delicious and well worth the cost. Each standard room is so pleasant and spacious so I should think an up grade would be suggest a royal décor.
The grounds are spectacular with peacocks never far out of site and the sound of the morning chorus and smell of trees is a pleasure on awakening.

The quaint town of Ruthin, for a short stroll and shop, starts just outside the gates of the grounds and the wonderful view of the Clwyddian Hills is hardly out of site.

Hotel 'deals' are always available if signing up with your e mail address.

Disappointed Costa Coffee has managed to find a place in the high street as there were enough coffee shops to satisfy us visitors.
As an ardent walker I always shop at the outdoor shop in Ruthin town centre to buy outdoor gear as small business are on the decline in these wonderful small villages in rural areas.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank angyw024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ormskirk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed January 8, 2014

This is our second visit to Ruthin castle we went in July and enjoyed it so much when I saw a kgb deal I got two one for a present and one for us.We often go away for one night stay and this is only the second one we have returned to. The other hotel we returned to didn't live up to the first visit but I can honestly say that Ruthin Castle was even better second time round The castle has loads of character unlike soulless new builds.The architecture is amazing. Afternoon tea was delicious and I just love Berties dining room.The staff are all friendly and the location is perfect just a short walk into town.We will return.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank janice k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shropshire
Level Contributor
66 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2014

My daughter visited Ruthin Castle Hotel as a surprise for her 21st birthday and she and her boyfriend also got engaged whilst there, it was fantastic. The whole place was beautiful and the staff we wonderful. When they arrived they were shown to their room and greeted by a birthday card from the staff and a bottle of wine. The food was out of this world and the portions were plenty. After dinner the staff from the restaurant went to the room with chocolate brownies, white chocolate buttons and a bottle of champagne for my daughters birthday, it was a lovely way to end a lovely evening. Couldn't fault the whole experience. 100% recommend!

Room Tip: Stayed in a standard room and it was beautiful. comfortable beds, free standing bath, shower and won...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ridgie99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruthin_Castle, Manager at Ruthin Castle Hotel, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Thank you ridgie99 for sharing your daughters and now fiancées stay with us. It's great to hear that the Castle played such an important part in their stay, birthday celebrations and engagement.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ruthin
0.2 mi away
Castle Hotel
Castle Hotel
#1 of 2 in Ruthin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 344 reviews
24.0 mi away
Bodysgallen Hall & Spa
Bodysgallen Hall & Spa
#15 of 60 in Llandudno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 663 reviews
24.8 mi away
The Quay Hotel & Spa
The Quay Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Deganwy
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,498 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.4 mi away
Castle Hotel
Castle Hotel
#1 of 2 in Conwy
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,106 reviews
15.6 mi away
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
20.3 mi away
Waterloo Hotel
Waterloo Hotel
#2 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
4.0 of 5 bubbles 697 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ruthin Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ruthin Castle Hotel

Property: Ruthin Castle Hotel
Address: Castle Street, Ruthin LL15 2NU, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Denbighshire > Ruthin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Ruthin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ruthin Castle Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A magical Welsh hotel with mediaeval roots dating back to the days of Edward I. Set within acres of woods and parkland a little over 20 miles from Chester, in an area of outstanding natural beauty, Ruthin Castle is a truly romantic hotel steeped in history. The castle dates back to the legend of King Arthur with notable owners including King Edward I, Henry VIII and Elizabeth I. Book a stay in one of the many rooms; dine on award winning cuisine created using only the freshest local produce; bring a team of merry men for a themed night of fun, food and laughter; enjoy great business facilities in a secluded venue or book the wedding of your dreams within the ancient walls and picturesque grounds. Ruthin Castle is a royal Welsh gem just waiting to be explored. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ruthin Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castle Ruthin
Ruthin Castle Hotel Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing