We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What an experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ruthin Castle Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Ruthin
Reviewed December 31, 2013

Stayed here on the 30th December 2013, it was a birthday treat for my partner. We stayed in 'Jennie' room, it was beautiful, very regal and elegant, just perfect. We had a meal in Bertie's Restaurant, the service was very good, staff very attentive and efficient. The food was superb. The whole experience was fantastic from the minute we arrived until we left. Can't wait to stay here again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Liz G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,297)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,631 - 1,637 of 2,297 reviews

Reviewed December 29, 2013 via mobile

Attended a friend's wedding here and stayed as guests in the hotel. A great experience from start to finish. The staff were extremely helpfull, and the service was top notch. The food was great and the lamb main course was a welcome change from the turkey thats often on offer at Xmas weddings. My only complaint was that the reception, after the meal was a bit divided between the bar and the function room. The rooms were clean, well equipped, and stunning. We had a great view of the grounds and the resident peacocks! Loved it!

Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
Thank MPJ1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2013

Just had a lovely overnight stay for a wedding. Great staff and good food. Was at this hotel a number of years ago....looks great since recent upgrade! Great surroundings and beautiful welsh countryside!

Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
Thank valelodge31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2013

I booked the hotel as a treat for my partner but was a bit wary having read a lot of negative reviews for the hotel on Trip Advisor. We arrived a little early and reception identified a room for us without delay, the room was excellent, immaculately clean and had everything you would need for an overnight stay. I was really impressed with the size and standard of the room having read some horror stories.
Our meal in Berties Restaraunt was lovely, service brilliant!! Breakast was also nice although there was very little left of the continental option when we arrived at 09.30am.
The Castle itself was well maintained and staff where friendly and attentive, i would reccomend a stay here, lovely place.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kell398
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2013

In December we attended a Christmas party in the Castle and it was a thoroughly enjoyable evening. The overall atmosphere and experience of the night was most satisfying however there were a few points which we raised with the staff whilst there however they dismissed us immediately.
One point was that we had paid £15 per head for a buffet which was to say the least extremely below average. The buffet consisted of small chicken strips and we had asked for a mix of spicy and non spicy however this was not fulfilled, a bowl of pasta and some continental meats. Personally I think this was poor considering the money we had paid. On contacting the castle direct to give our feedback and ask some questions they failed to reply and have since ignored any correspondence, which we deem extremely unprofessional.
Also the hired a DJ for us for the event, which cost us £350, however all he did was feed music off YouTube which is yet another unprofessional point. The DJ then contacted our establishment direct after discussing with the castle and spoke inappropriately. In our opinion the castle should not have shared out details with the DJ in question.
The main reason to our disappointment following the event was the failure of the managers at the castle to respond to our queries, as we felt this was very rude and arrogant and ultimately unprofessional.

Overall our evening was enjoyable with friends however serious questions must be asked with regards to the staff and management and the way in which they liaise with members of the public, In particular there customers.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank N J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruthin_Castle, Manager at Ruthin Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 28, 2013

NJ, Thank you for putting your post on Tripadvisor, it saddens us to hear that your expereince was not up to our exacting standards.

We are looking into the points you have raised and will contact you shortly.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2013

We decided to treat ourselves this year by going to the Ruthin Castle hotel for Christmas lunch. What a delightful experience. The staff were, as always, very friendly, attentive and served a great Christmas dinner. We didn't have to make our choices in advance and had a good array of starters, main courses and desserts to choose from when we turned up.
The dining room was laid out beautifully with a nice array of Christmas decorations.
Thanks for helping make our Christmas day so special.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank DaveS73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruthin_Castle, Manager at Ruthin Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 27, 2013

Thank you DaveS73 for taking the time to add your post to our Tripadvisor listing. It is really great to hear that you joined us this Festive season and you enjoyed your Christmas lunch. Check out our facebook page for our future celebrations and events.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 25, 2013

We had 2 nights in the Castle, staff friendly and helpfull, surroundings are great as was the town itself. Had the buffet breakfast which was plenty, well decorated for the Christmas season which was fantastic.
Only a couple of things let it down, no Welsh whiskey in the bar and the information mentioned a snooker table which we looked for and were told they no longer have it - maybe a brochure update would be an idea.
Over all, defiantly worth another visit

Room Tip: Stay in the castle itself
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Terry E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruthin_Castle, Manager at Ruthin Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 27, 2013

Thank you TerryE for taking the time to add your thoughts to our Tripadvisor. It gives us great pleasure to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. The Castle is in a perfect location to be able to explore North Wales. The bar normally stocks a range of Welsh spirits including, Whisky, Vodka and Gin. It is such a shame we had ran out of Whisky when you stayed. We do still have the snooker table in the Castle but at the moment it is in storage to keep it safe.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ruthin
0.2 mi away
Castle Hotel
Castle Hotel
#1 of 2 in Ruthin
393 reviews
24.8 mi away
The Quay Hotel & Spa
The Quay Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Deganwy
2,788 reviews
16.1 mi away
Pale Hall Hotel
Pale Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Llandderfel
209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.3 mi away
Springfield Hotel & Health Club
Springfield Hotel & Health Club
#1 of 1 in Pentre Halkyn
498 reviews
24.4 mi away
Castle Hotel
Castle Hotel
#1 of 2 in Conwy
402 reviews
11.4 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#6 of 10 in Llangollen
517 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ruthin Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ruthin Castle Hotel

Address: Castle Street, Ruthin LL15 2NU, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Denbighshire > Ruthin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Ruthin
Price Range: $112 - $184 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ruthin Castle Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A magical Welsh hotel with mediaeval roots dating back to the days of Edward I. Set within acres of woods and parkland a little over 20 miles from Chester, in an area of outstanding natural beauty, Ruthin Castle is a truly romantic hotel steeped in history. The castle dates back to the legend of King Arthur with notable owners including King Edward I, Henry VIII and Elizabeth I. Book a stay in one of the many rooms; dine on award winning cuisine created using only the freshest local produce; bring a team of merry men for a themed night of fun, food and laughter; enjoy great business facilities in a secluded venue or book the wedding of your dreams within the ancient walls and picturesque grounds. Ruthin Castle is a royal Welsh gem just waiting to be explored. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Ruthin Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castle Ruthin
Ruthin Castle Hotel Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing