We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Ruthin Castle Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Castle Hotel(Ruthin)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Plas Hafod Hotel(Gwernymynydd)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Abbey Grange Hotel(Llangollen)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Soughton Hall(Northop)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
    Chainbridge Hotel(Llangollen)
    View Hotel
    Certificate of Excellence
    • Free Parking
    • Breakfast included
    Reviews (2,366)
    Filter reviews
    2,366 results
    Traveler rating
    1,028
    714
    326
    178
    120
    Traveler type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    More languages
    1,028
    714
    326
    178
    120
    Show reviews that mention
    All reviewslibrary barbertie's restaurantmedieval banquetprince of wales suitepeacocks wanderingcream teasteeped in historymoat spagrounds are lovelyrelaxation roomthermal suitespa facilitiespublic roomscooked breakfastbirthday treatroll top bathdeluxe room
    FilterAll languages
    Updating list...
    1,791 - 1,796 of 2,366 reviews
    Reviewed September 11, 2013

    We booked the hotel using a Virgin experience voucher & it certainly was an experience!

    Initially we had a ground floor room but on discovering a 2 inch tear in the duvet & a hair in the bath we requested a move. The reception quickly reallocated us with no problems.
    Room 2 was on the second floor and spotless. It was a little tired though with some peeling wallpaper and the bathroom ceiling was flaking.

    In the evening we dined in Berties. If you're on a DBB break then expect a surcharge as most starts & mains include extra charges.
    The starters were fine, but the sirloin was full of fat & gristle. Finally the dessert included the most bizarre thing I've ever seen - chocolate cake & ice cream, with the ice cream on a bed of bacon!!
    The ice cream & cake were nice but what the thinking behind the bacon was I've no idea.
    There was a problem with the bill as the Maître d initially produced a bill with surcharges as he thought we were on a DBB deal. 2nd bill came out which was correct.
    Overall, the quality just wasn't there.

    No issues with the breakfast - the Welsh cooked breakfast was good.

    Finally when we came to check out we were presented with a bill for £250 and asked if that looked right. It didn't, it was around £120 more then expected. The problem was both bills from the evening meal were included. It took around 15 minutes to sort out, not helped by the other receptionist interrupting whilst he was dealing with another guest.

    Ruthin Castle Hotel is a beautiful building & grounds but is let down by sloppy mistakes and poor staff training. It could be something special but sadly it isn't

    • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank hkymre
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Reviewed September 8, 2013

    From start to finish, our stay at Ruthin Castle was magic. The room was amazing, the staff friendly and only too willing to assist, the restaurant was delightful and the grounds were all magic and a joy to explore..

    We look forward to visiting again as soon as possible.

    • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank Digital E
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Reviewed September 7, 2013

    All I can say is this hotel is fantastic, from the minute we were greeted to the minute we departed all the staff were very polite and friendly. I booked this hotel for an overnite stay with my wife to celebrate our first wedding anniversary. The room was very luxurious and spotless, the grounds of the hotel were immaculate and so peaceful. We booked in for dinner that evening and from the time we sat down our waiter Adam and waitress Jasmin were so polite, friendly and very attentive to our requests. The food we ordered was out of this world, very well presented and absolutly deliscious. We ordered a bottle of wine to accompany our meal and I have no clue about wine, but our wine waiter (cannot remember his name but he was European, I think) was very knowlegable and gave us a little lesson on how to taste and smell the wine correctly, which both my wife and I found extreamly interesting. We finished off the wine and meal before adjorning to the bar for a coffee before heading back to our room. The hotel itself was extreamly busy with 2 weddings and a birthday party but this did not disturb us at all, our room was so quiet and the bed so comfortable giving both my wife and I a very relaxing night.
    I would recommend this hotel to anyone as we both enjoyed it so much and will be returning again soon.

    • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank Nuts76
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Reviewed September 6, 2013

    This is probably one of the worst hotels I've ever stayed in . Inatentive , rude and incompetent reception staff. Bar staff so dopey not looking at people to see if they want serving. No toiletries in room. When requested no shampoo or body lotion provided, asked for a new light bulb fron horrid receptionist... Still not here. No surprise there then . DO NOT GO TO THIS HOTEL if you expect 5 star service. You will not get it. A miserable waste of money and I still have another night here !!

    3  Thank anne c
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Reviewed September 6, 2013

    We got an offer with Living social however the Noble rooms were fully booked for when we wanted to go however we manage to upgrade to the Jennie Suite. Our stay was amazing, the surroundings are fab and its a great setting. The bar area is lovely to sit in and the bar food was lovely. We had one even meal in Berties which was nice but not as good as we expects pretty average really. However the Desserts were excellent and by far the best dish.
    The poeacock are a lovely addition to the castle.
    We were sad to leave as we did love the old stately feel.

    Down side - when we arrive we did find mens underwear poking out under the sofa in the room, however the staff did apologise for this.

    • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank Victoria B
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Jo A, Front Office Manager at Ruthin Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 7, 2013

    Dear Itchyfeetkent

    Thank you for your review of your stay at the castle. I am so pleased that you in the main enjoyed your stay and your comments regarding towels, the wait in reception and the food service has been passed onto the relevant Heads of Departments to instigate new training procedures.

    Kind regards

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    View more reviews