We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A bit disappointed overall..”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ruthin Castle Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Ruthin
Certificate of Excellence
Burton on Trent
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“A bit disappointed overall..”
Reviewed March 25, 2013

We had high expectations having read the other reviews but were a bit disappointed overall. Glad we got a reduced rate on the room as the restaurant was quite expensive and lacked ambiance and whilst the food was fine it wasn't anything to write home about. Breakfast was also just fine. The room was very nice but the hairdryer didn't work and I had to ring twice to get them to bring a replacement. Overall not really good value for money in our opinion.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tallulah_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,068 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    943
    626
    265
    150
    84
See reviews for
263
1,322
21
51
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (458)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Manchester
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2013

Excellent value for money, huge room wonderfully warm in what was a freezing time outside. Breakfast was very good, we didn't try the cooked breakfast as the buffet gave a wide choice and was very filling.

Hotel grounds were lovely to walk around in and I imagine an excellent place to hold events. Ruthin is a pleasant little town and made a good base for travelling in north and central Wales.

Definitely go again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank leelynda0027
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connah's Quay
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2013

We attended the wedding of Mike and Alli on Saturday the 23 March. Hotel Lovely, room was perfect, but that's what you should expect for the £95 per night rate. But the staff's attitude was despicable. From insulting the Bride to keeping my 3 year old and 16 month old out in the snow crying, for a fire drill whilst you left others drinking in the bar is disgusting. When asked if we could come in it was a no, until my husband pointed out there were people stood 25 feet behind the staff in doors with a pint in their hands!! Only then we were allowed back in! To top it all off the wedding coordinator who's apparently management, called one of the wedding guest a fat [--] to another member of staff in ear shot of my 16 month old!! If he doubts this, my husband was stood on the stairs whilst the speeches were being made as my daughter would not settle. Shame he did not see him!
I felt sick paying the bill this morning, and even when we complained, no gesture of good will was made. We will certainly not be returning here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Leah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, Oregon
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2013

We had traveled quite a ways to get to the castle and because we had given ourselves plenty of driving time we ended up arriving an hour early for check in. We checked to see if our room happened to be ready - it wasn't so we went into town for lunch and walked around the castle grounds. We came back at check in time and were told that house keeping was running behind and it would be another 45 minutes before our room would be ready so we sat down to wait. After about 20 minutes the receptionist told us that there was "something wrong with out bed, it needs to be fixed and I don't know how long it will take" so offered us an afternoon tea, which was nice of her, but we were so tired after traveling that it was a bit frustrating not to be able to go take a shower and relax. we sat for about 2 hours waiting to be told our room was ready before I finally went back to reception to see how much longer it would be - There was a new receptionist now and she said "oh, it's been ready!" - we have no clue how long it had been ready for while we sat waiting. Finally up in the room I went to go get a drink of water and both cups were smudged and had greasy finger prints all over them like they had been used, so I instead picked up one of the tea cups to use and found some trash stuffed inside the cup (including a McDonald's receipt dated for the day before). The power went out in the whole hotel twice- I realize it's an old hotel- but a bit frustrating when trying to relax and watch TV. I realize I sound very picky- I'm really not, all my other hotel reviews are raves- but this was our big 'splurge' of the trip and we paid extra for one of the Royal Salon rooms (Jennie) so I was expecting luxury and great service!
Thankfully from there things got better - the bed really was comfortable and the room was nice and dark at night. We chose to do the Jesters Feast and had SO much fun! I highly recommend the feast, the entertainment was great (Jester was hysterical) and the food was wonderful. Only draw back was that they only served wine (my husband and I don't drink wine) and we were disappointed that there wasn't beer served like the website said. But they brought us coke instead so we were happy with that. We brought our own costumes for the feast which was fun, there was one other group wearing period costumes but the majority of guests were in street clothes so you'd be fine either way. If we ever came back to the area we'd skip the hotel but return for the jester's feast.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DanaeCBJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenilworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2013

We returned to Ruthin, where we had been married 3 years earlier. The rest of the hotel had been upgraded in the interim and we stayed in one of the newly refurbished rooms. The room was beautiful,well set out with a feature bed, sitting area, and lovely bathroom with corner bath. However, there was a few things: the bath had not been sealed properly so water came down the back wall and there was a large wax stain on the carpet.

We used the spa whilst there. The spa itself was lovely and we enjoyed our treatments. However, the staircase leading down to the spa has clearly not had any attention paid to it. Walking down you feel as if you are in a cleaning area of somewhere you should not be and not en route to a luxury spa. This really needs to be rectified as it puts a dampner on the experience.

We had two meals in Bertie's restaurant. The restaurant itself is beautiful, the chandeliers being a real feature. Overall the food was good. However, i felt that they were trying too hard with some aspects without really having the skill or understanding about what they were providing. For example the Amuse Bouche was bland and did not stimulate the taste buds, whilst the thai fishcake was clearly a british fishcake and did not have the appropriate ingredients to be titled as such.

We do love Ruthin Castle and some of the things that are slightly off do add to the quirky nature of the place. We will definately be back.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JTken121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burton upon Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
144 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2013

just returned from a birthday weekend with my husband, and have enjoyed every minute of it, fab location and castle, room was a little on small side but beautifully furnished and made use of every inch, bed was 2 3ft singles together and we had a bit of a roll effect in middle but apart from that, there was nothing to complain about and loved having the added extra of a fridge to keep our wine and milk fresh

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sonfitzpatrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here for my birthday on 6th Feb in the 'Jennie Room' - its decorated to look like an old fashioned library with a huge sleigh bed, large victorian windows & a double bath for 2 people. Absolutely lovely hotel room with beautiful castle grounds to explore. They even had the old style metal shaft lift! The only let down was the food menu - hardly any choice & quite expensive. Definitely recommend a stay here.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janniebella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ruthin
0.2 mi away
Castle Hotel
Castle Hotel
#1 of 2 in Ruthin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 344 reviews
24.0 mi away
Bodysgallen Hall & Spa
Bodysgallen Hall & Spa
#13 of 60 in Llandudno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 664 reviews
24.8 mi away
The Quay Hotel & Spa
The Quay Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Deganwy
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,503 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.4 mi away
Castle Hotel
Castle Hotel
#1 of 2 in Conwy
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,109 reviews
15.6 mi away
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
20.3 mi away
Waterloo Hotel
Waterloo Hotel
#2 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
4.0 of 5 bubbles 698 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ruthin Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ruthin Castle Hotel

Property: Ruthin Castle Hotel
Address: Castle Street, Ruthin LL15 2NU, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Denbighshire > Ruthin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Ruthin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ruthin Castle Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A magical Welsh hotel with mediaeval roots dating back to the days of Edward I. Set within acres of woods and parkland a little over 20 miles from Chester, in an area of outstanding natural beauty, Ruthin Castle is a truly romantic hotel steeped in history. The castle dates back to the legend of King Arthur with notable owners including King Edward I, Henry VIII and Elizabeth I. Book a stay in one of the many rooms; dine on award winning cuisine created using only the freshest local produce; bring a team of merry men for a themed night of fun, food and laughter; enjoy great business facilities in a secluded venue or book the wedding of your dreams within the ancient walls and picturesque grounds. Ruthin Castle is a royal Welsh gem just waiting to be explored. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ruthin Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castle Ruthin
Ruthin Castle Hotel Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing