We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Majestic Castle but made to feel right at home!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ruthin Castle Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Ruthin
Reviewed July 2, 2012

Absolutely wonderful stay at Ruthin Castle, majestic hotel but we felt right at home, and staff made us feel very welcome and were sad to leave at end of visit.

We booked a great deal through treatme.net called 3 enchanted wishes where the £279 deal included 3 nights B&B for two people (with scrummy Welsh bakery breakfast) 3 course meal in the posh Berties restaurant on one night, and then you get to choose 3 wishes from a list including things like steam train rides, canal trips, champers, chocs, afternoon cream tea, etc etc. We opted for Snowdon steam train (which is usually £25 each ticket, Llangollen canal barge trip and afternoon cream tea) so the deal is amazing value for money!

The castle itself is stunning, very well maintained, glorious in all its splendour, making any girl feel like a real princess, greeted at the main reception doors by two lions! Now some places like this can feel quite intimidating but Ruthin Castle in all its grandeur makes you feel right at home and relaxed. This is down to the wonderful staff, always smiling and helpful. Our room was at the top of the stairs just past the suit of armour, room 206, nice sized room with a huge ornate chandelier, fireplace and tv, free wi-fi access (no code required) lovely comfy BIG bed. The bathroom was a bit of a squeeze with the sink overhanging the bath and loo so only one person at a time could get in and use it, but not a problem at all, soft fluffy towels and lovely toiletries.

Make sure you have a walk round the gardens as they are a gem full of walled passageways, ruins, secret hidden gardens, and peacocks, its like a magic garden that fairytales write about, absolutely delightful – follow the medieval banquet signs and keep going round the building through archways and hidden paths –magical!

We had a lovely dinner in Berties which is a posh a la carte restaurant, BUT just like the rest of Ruthin Castle – posh but NOT intimidating, I do not usually like posh food but this dinner was lovely. The chef went out of his way to accommodate my mega fussy palette (I am a lacto vegetarian) and the waitress came out of the kitchen with a range of dishes he offered to make me. We had the assiette of 3 puddings which included a tiramisu which was so good, I almost did a ‘when harry met sally’ moment! Those on a budget need only go out the gate into the town square only a few mins walk to find a Weatherspoons and other quaint shops in the lovely village.

There was a wedding on the Saturday when we arrived but you would never have known as the hotel has so many rooms, and wings, and gardens, it was easy to still meander around, breakfast was busy next morning though.

It was my partners birthday and they left a box of chocs with a birthday note in the room. We cannot wait to go back, especially as they are opening a spa in July 2012 which would make this magical fairytale castle absolutely PERFECT for a pamper princess like myself!

Room Tip: stay in the old part of hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mariamerton10x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,274)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,976 - 1,982 of 2,274 reviews

Reviewed July 1, 2012

had a fantastic evening at the medieval banquet on Sat 30 June.Was warmly greeted in reception and shown to our room.The room has recently been re decorated and was stunning with a gorgeous corner bath and fantastic shower.The bed was soooo comfy and the room had everything you could wish for.
Peacocks and their chicks were casually walkingaround the beautiful gardens.Later that evening we attended the medieval banquet which was fun from start to finish.We had an amazing "wench!" who served us and entertained us all evening.Karen was the highlight of the night who sang Greensleeves , she has a truly beautiful voice who reduced me to tears once i heard her, unbelievable voice! ( a star is born).I cannot say anything negative at all as the effort they all put in was fantastic,they obviously enjoy what they do and the whole stay was worth every penny.

Room Tip: dependat on price but all of the rooms we looked at looked beautiful, however remember peacoks roam...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rmackrell3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2012

As mentioned elsewhere the castle is a great value for money if you manage to get KGB or other discount deal. For that you will stay in the older, not-refurbished part of the castle but in our view that just added to charm and authenticity of the stay at Ruthin Castle.

The hotel is a blend of different styles with gardens in the grounds of the mediaeval fortress. There are high ceilings, tastefully decorated restaurant and reception rooms, plenty of nooks and crannies to explore. Inevitably, in a huge place with long history as Ruthin, there are some signs of decay and neglect but, overall, it is a treat.

The peacocks wandering the grounds add an attraction to the place – but be mindful of their early morning squawking. Still, they will be happy to preen for you, the posers!

There is a creaking lift to the second floor.

I would recommend splashing out on at least one dinner in the restaurant – the room is full of ambiance and has a weekly changed menu. We managed two courses with a bottle of wine for about £85.

A buffet breakfast is included in the room price and was very tastyl with excellent home boiled ham. A cooked breakfast is served at an additional charge although we found the variety of buffet selection was quite sufficient.

Room Tip: Rooms in the old part have great ambiance and character
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Globetrotter008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2012

Stayed at Ruthin Castle Hotel (pronounced Rithin) on 20/21 June with my wife.
Very impressive ancient monument converted into a hotel. From the time we arrived we could not fault the staff. They were friendly, courteous, helpful, in fact everything you would expect.
The grounds and building are excellent with the added touch of the peacocks and peahens along with their chicks. The facilities are good with a fitness centre. There is also a "Helicopter-pad" if you wish to "drop in".
However, this hotel is undergoing slow major refurbishment so beware you may get a room that is not done yet.
There are different grades of rooms, 3 star and 4 star, check which one you will be getting as some can be disappointing.
The one we stayed in (room 201) was reasonably good, (although it had a broken window).
The web site stated that this room (I assume it was a "Noble" room by the photograph) had a fridge and safe deposit box, it had neither. This aside it was comfortable and clean with masses of wardrobe and draw space and a queen size bed.
It is claimed that Prince Charles has stayed there but I would like to see the room he had.
The meals are good quality but if you want a cooked breakfast you will have to pay extra (£6.50 each). Having said that I found the selection at the buffet quite good.
Top tip. Take dinner in the bar or eat out, there are plenty of restaurants in town.
Bertie's Restaurant, although beautiful, is way overpriced, you will pay £30 for a £5 bottle of wine with a total bill of around £100 for three courses, not bad really, but not worth it for what you get, the bar is better value and just as good quality, either way the staff are brilliant.
Having got that off my chest, this hotel is a great place for a break and Ruthin is a lovely little town, but please take time to discover the side streets, there is more to this place than meets the eye. Happy holidaying.

Room Tip: Check when booking which grade room you will have and what is included in the room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank keyboardCheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2012

Just had the best wedding experience for a very, very long time, perhaps not the most impressive castle in Wales but definitely the most surprising. Wedding aside the staff were fantastic and service was second to none. Medieval meal was hilarious (cheers Steve the jester!) and the staff chior and soloist brought me to tears, where else would a member of staff offer to hold your baby so you can eat your meal? Put this venue on your list of places to stay, five stars x

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steve P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2012

We didn't expect to be so drawn into the atmosphere of this lovely place, full of old world charm & ambience. There is a lot to see just wandering the grounds & castle with plenty of information on it's history which adds to it's charms. Descend the spiral staircase in part of the original castle grounds (as long as you are not claustrophobic) and be faced with a gate to the drowning pit! Can't fault the room or the staff who were nothing other than friendly. Though we were there on a KGB voucher, we were treated no different than anyone else and although there was a wedding, this just added to the charm of the place rather than being a nuisance. The peacocks just add to the splenour of the place. Go if you can.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 2ov5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2012

Ruthin Castle Hotel is set at the top of Ruthin, in wonderful grounds which include the ruins of the original 13th Century Ruthin Castle. The grounds are very well maintained and cared for as is the amazing interior which boasts a medieval banqueting hall and other historic rooms decorated and furnished to a high standard. The hotel is not true to one period but is a full of gothic, neo-gothic, medieval and victorian pieces which makes the rooms interesting and quite awe-inspiring. Its not quite elegant and not quite posh - which makes it very homely and welcoming but with sufficient wow factor to make it feel very special. The food was fantastic too. We totally loved it and would go back any time. The town is also very good for eating out and strolling around.

Room Tip: Higher floors are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank yorkshirehorserider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ruthin
0.2 mi away
Castle Hotel
Castle Hotel
#1 of 2 in Ruthin
388 reviews
24.8 mi away
The Quay Hotel & Spa
The Quay Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Deganwy
2,754 reviews
16.1 mi away
Pale Hall Hotel
Pale Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Llandderfel
203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.4 mi away
Castle Hotel
Castle Hotel
#1 of 2 in Conwy
1,382 reviews
10.3 mi away
Springfield Hotel & Health Club
Springfield Hotel & Health Club
#1 of 1 in Pentre Halkyn
493 reviews
15.8 mi away
The West Arms Hotel
The West Arms Hotel
#1 of 2 in Llanarmon DC
597 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ruthin Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ruthin Castle Hotel

Address: Castle Street, Ruthin LL15 2NU, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Denbighshire > Ruthin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Ruthin
Price Range: $146 - $213 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ruthin Castle Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A magical Welsh hotel with mediaeval roots dating back to the days of Edward I. Set within acres of woods and parkland a little over 20 miles from Chester, in an area of outstanding natural beauty, Ruthin Castle is a truly romantic hotel steeped in history. The castle dates back to the legend of King Arthur with notable owners including King Edward I, Henry VIII and Elizabeth I. Book a stay in one of the many rooms; dine on award winning cuisine created using only the freshest local produce; bring a team of merry men for a themed night of fun, food and laughter; enjoy great business facilities in a secluded venue or book the wedding of your dreams within the ancient walls and picturesque grounds. Ruthin Castle is a royal Welsh gem just waiting to be explored. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Ruthin Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castle Ruthin
Ruthin Castle Hotel Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing