We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The perfect Christmas in a spectacular setting”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ruthin Castle Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Ruthin
Gibraltar
Level Contributor
77 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“The perfect Christmas in a spectacular setting”
Reviewed December 28, 2011

When I read the program for the Classic Christmas Break at Ruthin Castle, I thought it sounded fantastic. After looking at the very reasonable price and then reading some of the less favourable reviews here, I was a little more cautious, but decided to book anyway and hoped for the best. I am so glad I did. From the moment we stepped through the Castle doors, we were wowed.

Ruthin castle is beautiful and, dressed for Christmas, it is spectacular. Every reception room was beautifully and tastefully decorated. Handsome Christmas trees, log fires, comfortable chairs, fantastic service, beautiful rooms and good food - these alone would have made for a fantastic festive break, but Ruthin delivered much more.

The medieval feast on our first evening was a unique experience. Beyond the fun of enjoying good food and wine with a medieval theme, the genuine warmth, sincerity and talent of our hosts, 'the ladies and gentlemen of the court', was evident. From the Jester whose magic tricks kept us all entertained (especially the kids!) and the humour of the 'Lord Steward' to the breathtaking singing voices and musical talents of the ladies, the staff at Ruthin were outstanding and gave us an unforgettable evening - thank you!

Christmas Day at Ruthin was relaxed, over-indulgent and perfect. Starting with a generous Christmas breakfast, moving to an elegant five-course Christmas dinner at the beautiful Bertie's Restaurant (loved the truffles and luxury crackers too!) and finally through to the buffet supper, with plenty of tea and lounging around the beautiful rooms with their log fires in between.

I would highly recommend Christmas at Ruthin to both couples and extended families. Our five-year-old daughter thoroughly enjoyed meeting and playing with the other children who, thankfully, were all very well-behaved and seemed equally enchanted with the place. The grounds are also beautiful (even in winter) and we enjoyed the peacocks and the dungeon tour on our last day.

Suffice to say we have already asked to be booked in for next Christmas, and would not be surprised to see many of this year's guests there again.

We would like to thank all the staff at Ruthin Castle for giving us a truly magical Christmas. We look forward to seeing you next year!

- The family in 306

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Artemistica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,089 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    951
    636
    267
    151
    84
See reviews for
265
1,336
21
51
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (460)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Wednesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed December 19, 2011

Booked this quite by chance after receiving an offer from Moneysupermarket normally would just have deleted it, so glad I didn`t. This was an ideal gift to my partner and myself to just get away for one night before the hectic Xmas holiday period. We arrived 2 hours before check in so had a couple of drinks in the Library room, very charming and warm with a large open log fire the bar staff were very friendly, we had the afternoon tea with a lovely selection of cakes and sandwiches with coffee plenty for two and reasonabley priced £11.95. Our room was elegant with a huge bathroom and nice and warm with a pretty garden view. After having a rest we went and had a stroll around the grounds and although the area was damp because of the weather you could still visualise the grandeur of the property from centuries of past. The garden are well kept and we had the resident peacocks follow us around. We ate in Berties restaurant on the evening and were not dissapointed, service and food was excellent, we did receive 15% discount which was a bonus as the cost was quite high but well worth the experience of fine dining. We would love to return again and share this experience with family.

Well done to all the management and staff for a first class stay.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 210 and it was divine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TraceyH347
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed December 13, 2011

Stayed here overnight Dec 2011 and attended the Medieval party night.
The Castle is a fantastic place and the staff at the hotel and those who hosted the party night all played their part in a most enjoyable experience.
The Sunday lunch was also very nice!
Ruthin itself is well worth look too.

Room Tip: Choose a delux room or above to enjoy the castle
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gazel1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Homewood, Alabama
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2011

I just returned with my wife and adult son from a 2 1/2 week whirlwind tour of Great Britain, staying in seven hotels and B&B's. Among this host of outstanding accommodations, our most incredible stay was at the Ruthin Castle. This is an amazing place, rich in history and tradition and overflowing with unique character and charm. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The staff was friendly, responsive, and very professional in attitude. The deluxe room was expertly decorated and refurbished to the most modern standard. The hotel itself is a living museum, and the grounds are an archaeological gem, holding the remains of this medieval castle, breathtaking views of surrounding Welsh farms, a short walk to a fascinating Tudor village, and in a convenient location to North Wales attractions. The grounds were even topped off with sheep among an ancient ring of standing stones. There were even friendly peacocks at every turn of our tour of the grounds. This American loved our stay! And don't forget to dine in their restaurant.

Room Tip: The deluxe room is well worth the extra charge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jelehe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
north wales
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2011

I have previously stayed at ruthin castle hotel a few months back and loved it so much i decided to go back again. My partner and i stayed for one night at the beginning of december and were yet again very impressed. From the moment we arrived we were welcomed by friendly staff who were more than helpful. We were shown to our room which was just lovely and provided everything we needed. That evening we went to the restaurant for a meal which was delicious and arrived quickly.
I have no complaints about this hotel and i fully recommend it to anyone, we will definately be back!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mazzycat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rcastle, Guest Relations Manager at Ruthin Castle Hotel, responded to this review, December 10, 2011
Thank you for returning to the hotel I am glad we were able to look after you on a second occasion. thank you for your comments its aways nice to hear when people have enjoyed the time at the castle. we hope you will return again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uttoxeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 6, 2011

Stayed here for a night just after getting married and was given a lovely big room with a massive bed.
Beautiful building and grounds, interesting to walk around. An amazing muster of Peacocks too.
Only down side was that they had one of their medieval nights on and the bar was swarming with noisey and excitable Americans. Once they were safely off to the banquet room the bar was safe again though.
Breakfast was a large selection of cold (including some yummy cheese!), and choice of hot food cooked to order.

Would stay again, and may even be interested in joining in the medieval fun... so long as it's minus the loud Americans :o)

Room Tip: 211 was massive with a very big soft bed and really good views
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rcastle, Guest Relations Manager at Ruthin Castle Hotel, responded to this review, December 9, 2011
Thank you for your comments about the hotel I am glad to see you enjoyed your time at the castle and we hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Wales
Level Contributor
39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2011

Attended an evening reception last week (December 2011) and although the place is in a lovely setting and with Grand rooms the meal was very poor, particularly in the context of what was paid. The starter described as Melon with seasonal berries and fruit couscous, was a very small fan of melon (4 slices) 1 raspberry, 1 soggy strawberry and a red line of supposed fruit couscous that was more or less dried on the plate. The mains, Roast lamb was tough, and the vegetables had they spent 30 seconds less in the water would have been almost raw. Sweet was Christmas pudding and was just OK. Coffee and Tea followed and I have to say this was some of the worst coffee I have ever tasted. All in all very poor – sorry, perhaps a one off, but if you intend booking a reception for whatever the reason then I strongly advise close scrutiny of the menu and a trial of the food.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank salochin8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rcastle, Guest Relations Manager at Ruthin Castle Hotel, responded to this review, December 9, 2011
Many Thanks for your comments about the evening you spent at the hotel, after looking into the ponits you raised and speaking to other guests who attended the event they tell me that its was very enjoyable evening and they were more than happy with the food, I can only say we are sorry you did not personally enjoy the evening.
Once again thank you for your comments about the hotel as all comments help us improve the level of service we offer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ruthin
0.2 mi away
Castle Hotel
Castle Hotel
#1 of 2 in Ruthin
351 reviews
24.8 mi away
The Quay Hotel & Spa
The Quay Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Deganwy
2,531 reviews
24.0 mi away
Bodysgallen Hall & Spa
Bodysgallen Hall & Spa
#14 of 60 in Llandudno
668 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.4 mi away
Castle Hotel
Castle Hotel
#1 of 2 in Conwy
1,139 reviews
16.1 mi away
Pale Hall Hotel
Pale Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Llandderfel
113 reviews
15.6 mi away
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ruthin Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ruthin Castle Hotel

Property: Ruthin Castle Hotel
Address: Castle Street, Ruthin LL15 2NU, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Denbighshire > Ruthin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Ruthin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ruthin Castle Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A magical Welsh hotel with mediaeval roots dating back to the days of Edward I. Set within acres of woods and parkland a little over 20 miles from Chester, in an area of outstanding natural beauty, Ruthin Castle is a truly romantic hotel steeped in history. The castle dates back to the legend of King Arthur with notable owners including King Edward I, Henry VIII and Elizabeth I. Book a stay in one of the many rooms; dine on award winning cuisine created using only the freshest local produce; bring a team of merry men for a themed night of fun, food and laughter; enjoy great business facilities in a secluded venue or book the wedding of your dreams within the ancient walls and picturesque grounds. Ruthin Castle is a royal Welsh gem just waiting to be explored. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ruthin Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castle Ruthin
Ruthin Castle Hotel Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing