We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Hidden Gem!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ruthin Castle Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Ruthin
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A Hidden Gem!”
Reviewed November 11, 2011

We spent our anniversary here and could not have chosen a better place. The Castle and grounds were wonderful, the food superb and our room big and comfortable. The breakfast was incredible, so many yummy things to choose from and so much!. We ended up sharing it with the beautiful tame peacocks that roam the grounds. The staff are very friendly and really helpful. Its such a pleasure to go to a hotel and feel really welcome. Ruthin Castle has it all, go there and enjoy it.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LynneBod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rcastle, Guest Relations Manager at Ruthin Castle Hotel, responded to this review, November 17, 2011
Many thanks for you comments, I am glad to see you enjoyed your stay and hope you will return in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,092 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    951
    638
    268
    151
    84
See reviews for
265
1,338
21
52
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (461)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Cheshire UK
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2011

We have just come back from staying at this lovely hotel.
From going in to the main reception it felt really nice & relaxed. We were greeted very warmly by the receptionist who explained where things were. Asked if we needed help with our bags we only had a suit bag and an overnight bag so that was ok.
We stayed in room 207 (The Prince of Wales suite) it was a surprise for my husbands birthday.
The room was lovely so nice and clean, warm and authentic, by that I mean oldie worldly. The bathroom came as a shock as it was modern but lovely.
We had afternoon tea which was lovely the best thing which we both enjoyed was the crumpet with cheese and bacon, all of it was nice, but that especially.
We then went for a walk around the grounds, although it is winter they were lovely, it started to rain but it passed off so we managed to see a lot. There were lots of peacocks around which was good.
We had a meal in Berties where the food was fabulous.
We had a good night the bed was comfortable, the room quite.
Then we had breakfast in the peacock room we only had the Welsh breakfast as we were still full from the night before, there was lots of choice.
Would we go back again? Defiantly yes.
All the staff were very helpful if we asked anything.

Room Tip: Room 207 (The Prince of Wales suite)
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DansMumCheshireUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rcastle, Guest Relations Manager at Ruthin Castle Hotel, responded to this review, November 17, 2011
Thank you for your comments , I hope you will return in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2011

We stayed at Ruthin Castle for two nights at the beginning of November and used it as a base to walk part of Offa's Dyke. The staff were very welcoming, helping us plan our walking route and offering tips for finding the track. We had one of the unrefurbished Castle rooms, but it was clean and very large, with beautiful bedding and comfortable bed. The bathroom was a bit tired, but had a fantastic deep bath with endless very hot water (just what you need after a day's walking). Although the hotel was very busy on the night we arrived with two large functions, the room was quiet. Breakfast was great - we didn't bother with a cooked breakfast because the buffet included in the b&b price was excellent, again with good service. We liked the place so much that we came back with family for afternoon tea in the Library after we had checked out.

We would definitely like to come back and would recommend Ruthin Castle.

Room Tip: We booked through Late Rooms and got a Castle room for £65per night - although it was a bit of a wal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heather C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rcastle, Guest Relations Manager at Ruthin Castle Hotel, responded to this review, November 17, 2011
Thank you for your comments I am happy to see you enjoyed your time at the castle and walkin through the offas dyke path, I hope you will return in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lymm
Level Contributor
28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2011

Excellent value for money, we stayed in the Castle Rooms, which worked out at £65 per night bed and breakfast. We had dinner in Berties on the Saturday, and the food and service was 100%. The Welsh bakery breakfast is included in the price, it consisted of bread, danish patries, croissants, cereal, fruit, ham and eggs - a perfectly adequate breakfast, however if you feel like a "full english" it is available at a small cost.

All and all a lovely experience, and we are looking forward to visiting again soon.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BarbaraMaryW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rcastle, Guest Relations Manager at Ruthin Castle Hotel, responded to this review, November 17, 2011
Thank you for your comments and I hope you will return in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 7, 2011

We stayed at Ruthin Castle at the end of October and have to say we enjoyed every minute of it. The staff are wonderfully friendly and the food was divine! I would definitely return - I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suzanne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rcastle, Guest Relations Manager at Ruthin Castle Hotel, responded to this review, November 17, 2011
Many thanks for your comments I hope to see you at the castle in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2011

after searching for castles to stay in in wales we found ruthin and were so pleased we did, we had a weekend break here and it was brilliant, the castle is magnificent and impressive, the grounds were a lovely place to walk about and explore, we liked the peacocks too. staff were friendly and helpful and always about, we had food in the library bar on both evenings and it was excellent and great value, our room was one of the castle rooms for £65 a night, it could benefit from a refurb but was very clean and tidy , and good value for money, the buffet breakfast that was included was more than enough to satisfy us as-well, and it had some delicious pastries. When you plan to stay here you have to remember its a castle and your paying for the whole experience and place not just the room, we had a lovely weekend and will definitely be returning and telling friends to visit too, thank you

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kemaro1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rcastle, Guest Relations Manager at Ruthin Castle Hotel, responded to this review, November 17, 2011
Thank you for your comments about the hotel, I am glad you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming back in the future, with regards our 3 star bedrooms we are hoping to begin some refurbishment work in 2012.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2011

We have just got back from staying at the hotel to celebrate our 30th wedding anniversary - the hotel and surroundings are lovely - and staff really friendly - nothing too much trouble - we had a lovely evening meal in Bertie's Restaurant - and Breakfast choice was super! - would definitely return - and recommend as a perfect mini break.Beautiful grounds and so enjoyable to walk and explore the area - Thanks so much

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debbie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rcastle, Guest Relations Manager at Ruthin Castle Hotel, responded to this review, November 17, 2011
Many thanks for your comments about the hotel, I am glad to see you enjoyed your time at the hotel and hope you will return in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ruthin
24.8 mi away
The Quay Hotel & Spa
The Quay Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Deganwy
2,533 reviews
24.0 mi away
Bodysgallen Hall & Spa
Bodysgallen Hall & Spa
#14 of 60 in Llandudno
668 reviews
24.4 mi away
Castle Hotel
Castle Hotel
#1 of 2 in Conwy
1,139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.1 mi away
Pale Hall Hotel
Pale Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Llandderfel
117 reviews
9.6 mi away
Abbey Grange Hotel
Abbey Grange Hotel
#9 of 10 in Llangollen
246 reviews
15.6 mi away
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ruthin Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ruthin Castle Hotel

Property: Ruthin Castle Hotel
Address: Castle Street, Ruthin LL15 2NU, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Denbighshire > Ruthin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Ruthin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ruthin Castle Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A magical Welsh hotel with mediaeval roots dating back to the days of Edward I. Set within acres of woods and parkland a little over 20 miles from Chester, in an area of outstanding natural beauty, Ruthin Castle is a truly romantic hotel steeped in history. The castle dates back to the legend of King Arthur with notable owners including King Edward I, Henry VIII and Elizabeth I. Book a stay in one of the many rooms; dine on award winning cuisine created using only the freshest local produce; bring a team of merry men for a themed night of fun, food and laughter; enjoy great business facilities in a secluded venue or book the wedding of your dreams within the ancient walls and picturesque grounds. Ruthin Castle is a royal Welsh gem just waiting to be explored. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ruthin Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castle Ruthin
Ruthin Castle Hotel Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing