We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming, friendly hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ruthin Castle Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Ruthin
Reviewed November 9, 2011

We stayed at Ruthin Castle for two nights at the beginning of November and used it as a base to walk part of Offa's Dyke. The staff were very welcoming, helping us plan our walking route and offering tips for finding the track. We had one of the unrefurbished Castle rooms, but it was clean and very large, with beautiful bedding and comfortable bed. The bathroom was a bit tired, but had a fantastic deep bath with endless very hot water (just what you need after a day's walking). Although the hotel was very busy on the night we arrived with two large functions, the room was quiet. Breakfast was great - we didn't bother with a cooked breakfast because the buffet included in the b&b price was excellent, again with good service. We liked the place so much that we came back with family for afternoon tea in the Library after we had checked out.

We would definitely like to come back and would recommend Ruthin Castle.

Room Tip: We booked through Late Rooms and got a Castle room for £65per night - although it was a bit of a wal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Heather C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rcastle, Guest Relations Manager at Ruthin Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 17, 2011

Thank you for your comments I am happy to see you enjoyed your time at the castle and walkin through the offas dyke path, I hope you will return in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,209)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2,005 - 2,011 of 2,209 reviews

Reviewed November 8, 2011

Excellent value for money, we stayed in the Castle Rooms, which worked out at £65 per night bed and breakfast. We had dinner in Berties on the Saturday, and the food and service was 100%. The Welsh bakery breakfast is included in the price, it consisted of bread, danish patries, croissants, cereal, fruit, ham and eggs - a perfectly adequate breakfast, however if you feel like a "full english" it is available at a small cost.

All and all a lovely experience, and we are looking forward to visiting again soon.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BarbaraMaryW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rcastle, Guest Relations Manager at Ruthin Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 17, 2011

Thank you for your comments and I hope you will return in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2011

We stayed at Ruthin Castle at the end of October and have to say we enjoyed every minute of it. The staff are wonderfully friendly and the food was divine! I would definitely return - I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Suzanne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rcastle, Guest Relations Manager at Ruthin Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 17, 2011

Many thanks for your comments I hope to see you at the castle in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2011

after searching for castles to stay in in wales we found ruthin and were so pleased we did, we had a weekend break here and it was brilliant, the castle is magnificent and impressive, the grounds were a lovely place to walk about and explore, we liked the peacocks too. staff were friendly and helpful and always about, we had food in the library bar on both evenings and it was excellent and great value, our room was one of the castle rooms for £65 a night, it could benefit from a refurb but was very clean and tidy , and good value for money, the buffet breakfast that was included was more than enough to satisfy us as-well, and it had some delicious pastries. When you plan to stay here you have to remember its a castle and your paying for the whole experience and place not just the room, we had a lovely weekend and will definitely be returning and telling friends to visit too, thank you

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kemaro1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rcastle, Guest Relations Manager at Ruthin Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 17, 2011

Thank you for your comments about the hotel, I am glad you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming back in the future, with regards our 3 star bedrooms we are hoping to begin some refurbishment work in 2012.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2011

We have just got back from staying at the hotel to celebrate our 30th wedding anniversary - the hotel and surroundings are lovely - and staff really friendly - nothing too much trouble - we had a lovely evening meal in Bertie's Restaurant - and Breakfast choice was super! - would definitely return - and recommend as a perfect mini break.Beautiful grounds and so enjoyable to walk and explore the area - Thanks so much

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Debbie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rcastle, Guest Relations Manager at Ruthin Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 17, 2011

Many thanks for your comments about the hotel, I am glad to see you enjoyed your time at the hotel and hope you will return in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2011

Stayed in the prince Charles suite was £200 a night but well worth it!!! What a beautiful place !!! Highly recommend to couples Wantin a romantic break. Food lovely,staff friendly, the grounds where beautiful!! Thank you for a lovely stay!

  • Stayed: December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank katrooney1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rcastle, Guest Relations Manager at Ruthin Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2011

Many thanks for your comments about the hotel, I hope you will return in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2011

My partner and I booked this hotel last minute and didn't know what to expect. On arriving we were immediately taken aback with how stunning it looked. We walked up the red carpet, past the two enormous stone lions and into the warm and welcoming reception where we were greeted by a very friendly and helpful member of staff who gave us some more information about our stay and booked us into the restaurant for dinner that night. We were upgraded to a deluxe room on the top floor and were more than happy with the quality of this - a large room with a big dramatic chandelier, rich fabrics and antique furnishings.

As we were there for about 4PM we went for a wander around the grounds, which were the absolute highlight of our stay. The gardens and old castle ruins are beautiful and there is wildlife everywhere mainly in the form of peacocks! We took lots of pictures.

We went for a pre-dinner drink in the library bar which was lovely, very warm and comfy (NB: not cheap drinks!). A member of staff brought us a menu for the main restaurant so we were able to choose before we went in and another staff member showed us to the restaurant and got us seated. The main restaurant, Berties is in keeping with the rest of the hotel, traditional, slightly old fashioned (in a nice way) and cosy - with a grand piano in the middle! The red wine we had was absolutely delicious and equally, so was the food.

We had a great nights sleep and woke up feeling totally refreshed. The standard breakfast is a Welsh bakery buffet so we ordered a cooked breakfast on top of this which was lovely but so huge I couldn't finish it!

When we came to check out, we booked another 3 night stay for next year in one of the royal salons so yet to see what they are like but we are both really excited to go back again. I think it makes a difference that we are city dwellers so an escape to green rolling hills, castles and wildlife is a lovely and romantic change!

I would definitely recommend this hotel and am quite amazed that anyone has given it a horrible review! Great staff, great setting, reasonable pricing (especially when theres an offer on!).

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MooseManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rcastle, Guest Relations Manager at Ruthin Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2011

Thank you for leaving comments about the hotel we will look forward to welcoming you when you return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ruthin
0.2 mi away
Castle Hotel
Castle Hotel
#1 of 2 in Ruthin
376 reviews
24.8 mi away
The Quay Hotel & Spa
The Quay Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Deganwy
2,656 reviews
16.1 mi away
Pale Hall Hotel
Pale Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Llandderfel
176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.4 mi away
Castle Hotel
Castle Hotel
#1 of 2 in Conwy
1,268 reviews
24.0 mi away
Bodysgallen Hall & Spa
Bodysgallen Hall & Spa
#14 of 60 in Llandudno
706 reviews
20.5 mi away
Royal Oak Hotel
Royal Oak Hotel
#3 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
771 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ruthin Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ruthin Castle Hotel

Address: Castle Street, Ruthin LL15 2NU, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Denbighshire > Ruthin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Ruthin
Price Range: $132 - $212 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ruthin Castle Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A magical Welsh hotel with mediaeval roots dating back to the days of Edward I. Set within acres of woods and parkland a little over 20 miles from Chester, in an area of outstanding natural beauty, Ruthin Castle is a truly romantic hotel steeped in history. The castle dates back to the legend of King Arthur with notable owners including King Edward I, Henry VIII and Elizabeth I. Book a stay in one of the many rooms; dine on award winning cuisine created using only the freshest local produce; bring a team of merry men for a themed night of fun, food and laughter; enjoy great business facilities in a secluded venue or book the wedding of your dreams within the ancient walls and picturesque grounds. Ruthin Castle is a royal Welsh gem just waiting to be explored. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ruthin Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castle Ruthin
Ruthin Castle Hotel Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing