We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My Wedding at Ruthin Castle”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ruthin Castle Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Ruthin
Reviewed November 6, 2007

My husband and I spent the weekend of October 13th at Ruthin Castle for our wedding, along with just about all of our guests. I must say that if I hadn't already seen the property for myself, the unbalanced negative reviews would have put me off somewhat.

Fortunately, we had already visited and our high expectations were more than fulfilled. Everything about our very special wedding weekend was just perfect, idyllic, and the staff (Russell and his team) were truly wonderful. Every single one of our guests, (most of them very seasoned international travellers,including ourselves), remarked on what a stunning and unique venue the castle was for our ceremony and reception.

I can honestly say that it was utterly dreamlike, and we were so sad when finally we had to say goodbye to what had felt like OUR castle for the weekend! I cannot recommend the castle and its staff highly enough. Sure, the rooms that are awaiting renovation are are not so grand as the Lilly Langtry suite (my home for the weekend, and simply splendid!), but still far preferable to the bland, soulless welcome of many corporate hotels that you find yourself in around the world.

If what you want is robot - like service, and a Disney-esque, phoney castle without any signs of the hundreds of years of history that the building has seen, then this place isn't for you, though you'll be the loser.

But if you consider yourself one of life's romantics, and you appreciate individuality, character and a real experience when you travel, then treat yourselves to a few nights in a very special place. Open your heart to it, and you'll be richly rewarded.

Lisa Worth and Steve Rowan.

Stayed: October 2007
2  Thank showqa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,236)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2,194 - 2,200 of 2,236 reviews

Reviewed October 18, 2007

Wonderful setting, within walking distance of Ruthin town itself. Fabulous gardens and ruins dating back to at least 1500's. Atmospheric public areas, grandly decorated. We did stay in a room that had yet to be refurbished ( but we were aware of that when we booked), so expected furnishings to be worn etc. Room was large and decor wasnt too bad at all.
Disappointed at breakfast when there wasn't enough smaller tables, and we had no option but to join a rather hung-over wedding party on a table for 12!!
All in all, excellent value for money.

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jansedge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2007

This castle is a dream! My husband and I were married in Denbigh near Ruthin this August. We have no connection whatsoever to Denbigh but begged the lovely priest to marry usat his lovely catholic church because we had fallen in love with Ruthin Castle.

From start to finish, the staff were accomodating and very kind. Russell Pickering, the events co-ordinator, helped us to organise our day and really went the extra few miles to make sure it all ran smoothly. The reception staff were so helpful that we were compelled to buy them a bottle of wine to thank them for the service they gave to our guests. I cannot recommend this venue more highly. It was beautifully presented, the food the night before and the day of the wedding was delicious and our suite was gorgeous. Many of our family stayed in the castle and were treated very well. The refurbished rooms are delightful and the rest of the rooms look set to be of the same high standard. I can't stress highly enough that those who have written bad reviews seems to have stayed in the unrefurbished rooms and I wish they could return and experience the castle the way we did.

We had so many compliments about the day and the venue seemed to be the crowning glory. So much so that we have already booked a little break away for later this month to enjoy the castle again.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank HappyBride108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2007

I was looking for a UK break with a difference - where I could relax and be entertained. Somewhere with history and romance and I found it in Ruthin Castle.
With Beautiful grounds that we were free to explore and wander around with battlements and a moat and peacocks everywhere it was wonderful. The interior is just as you would expect a castle - with suits of armour and some modernisation to make the stay luxurious.
We had a large room with a 4 poster bed, breakfast was a included feast and the drinks in the bar, affordable and served by impeccably dressed staff.
We booked to stay over and attend the Murder Mystery Evening and had a thoroughly great time. The entertainment was okay unbfortunately delayed by the late arrived of some guests who had booked to take part!, but the food was exceptional if you don't mind getting stuck in medieaval style!.
Ruthin Castle dates from before 1277 and dominates the historic Welsh town of Ruthin, close to Chester and Llangollen. It's within easy driving distance of the North Wales Coast, Snowdonia and picturesque Betws-y-Coed.
The castle sits in its ancient walled dry moat within acres of private landscaped gardens, parkland and woods alongside the River Clwyd.
I would thoroughly recommend it to everyone, young and old!

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CountryHopper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2007

What can I say... As newly weds travelling from Australia on their honeymoon, one has very high expectations staying in a castle for a vast sum.

The room immediately had a mouldy smell on entry. My husband and I called it the "dungeon" as it was locked away in the deepest, dankest corner of the castle. Room service was pitiful, the staff had better things to do with their time and the "piesta Resistance" involved a severe case of food poisoning for my husband after eating a steak in the ridiculously expensive hotel restaurant (the meal I ordered but couldn't eat because of the bad smell) We were booked for 3 nights but left after the first out of sheer disgust.

I rarely write reviews but warning is in order for others who have preconceived notions of staying at Ruthin Castle.

  • Stayed: August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
1  Thank Jacko32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
saintclaire, chairman at Ruthin Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 22, 2007

we are sorry that these guests were unhappy with their stay, but the castle has been continuously increasing standards and it is unhelpful for current guests and potential guests to find reviews posted in october 2007 relating to a stay more than a year before.

these guests were the only ones claiming food poisoning on the night of their stay despite other guests eating the same meal.

they also chose one of the lower rate unrefurbished bedrooms but even these rooms comply with the AA 3 star standard.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2007

We spent a night at Ruthin Castle in July 2007, and did not quite know what to expect, especially after reading the mixed reviews on Trip Advisor.

I have to say, I cannot recommend this place more! It was delightful.
The staff were helpful, friendly and very professional without being intrusive. The room we were allocated was gorgeous - very tastefully refurbished, and sympathetic to the building. The location was great
- being set in its own grounds ( complete with peacocks!) but a short
stroll from the centre of Ruthin. The breakfast - which was in with the price of the room - was superb, and extremely generous.

The only potential downside was that we noticed on arrival there were
2 weddings booked in over the weekend of our stay. However, they did not impact on our visit at all - except for having to wait at the top of some stairs whilst the bride had her photograph taken! I would
really recommend this place for a romantic break - its got great character, not to mention the odd suit of armour!

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank amanda-s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2007

Got a great price through laterooms for just one night to break a journey. Went for an "exec" room after reading reviews here and it was really nicely done out with an exceptionally comfortable huge bed and lovely view over the grounds. Enormous plasma TV but poor analogue TV reception so not much point! Bathroom nicely done out although a little small.

A real adventure to stay in a proper castle with corridors to explore, suits of armour and big comfortable public rooms. Had a drink in the octaconal bar and then dinner which was one of the bext meals I have had - if a little pricey. Worth it though. Breakfast was also very good.

I'd strongly recommend this to stay in so long as you will enjoy the quirks like loose fitting windows as "character"!

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BrighousePete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ruthin
0.2 mi away
Castle Hotel
Castle Hotel
#1 of 2 in Ruthin
382 reviews
24.8 mi away
The Quay Hotel & Spa
The Quay Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Deganwy
2,692 reviews
16.1 mi away
Pale Hall Hotel
Pale Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Llandderfel
184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.3 mi away
Springfield Hotel & Health Club
Springfield Hotel & Health Club
#1 of 1 in Pentre Halkyn
481 reviews
20.5 mi away
Royal Oak Hotel
Royal Oak Hotel
#3 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
780 reviews
24.4 mi away
Castle Hotel
Castle Hotel
#1 of 2 in Conwy
1,309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ruthin Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ruthin Castle Hotel

Address: Castle Street, Ruthin LL15 2NU, Wales
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Denbighshire > Ruthin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Ruthin
Price Range: $127 - $211 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ruthin Castle Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A magical Welsh hotel with mediaeval roots dating back to the days of Edward I. Set within acres of woods and parkland a little over 20 miles from Chester, in an area of outstanding natural beauty, Ruthin Castle is a truly romantic hotel steeped in history. The castle dates back to the legend of King Arthur with notable owners including King Edward I, Henry VIII and Elizabeth I. Book a stay in one of the many rooms; dine on award winning cuisine created using only the freshest local produce; bring a team of merry men for a themed night of fun, food and laughter; enjoy great business facilities in a secluded venue or book the wedding of your dreams within the ancient walls and picturesque grounds. Ruthin Castle is a royal Welsh gem just waiting to be explored. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Ruthin Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castle Ruthin
Ruthin Castle Hotel Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing