We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good rooms and decent price but breakfast is extra”
Review of Castle Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Castle Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Ruthin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 12, 2013

A friend and I stayed overnight in February with work. Despite it being a wet thursday night the bar and restuarant were quite busy and the bar had a decent selection of real ales. The interior looks smart and is fresh - I guess it was all done about 3-4 years ago. Food was pretty average Weatherspoons fayre - you always know what you're getting in advance so no room for surprises or flair from the chef, but no complaints and prices are of course v low compared to most other eateries. The rooms were very good and all linen fresh. Slept well and no undue noise from the pub at kicking out time to disturb my sleep. I had a monster room compared to my mate - but both were v good for £46 a night. My only slight grumble would be that breakfast is not included in the price - but I'll know for next time and will be staying again.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jasereyno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelvin C, Manager at Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2013

Thank you for your comments following your recent stay with us.
We believe we do offer a good value product especially when booked via our own website
offering excellent discounts on room rates.
This one of the reasons breakfast is not included as room rates are tremendous value for the product offered and breakfast is available from £2.19 for a bacon roll and a coffee
we look forward to seeing you again
Kind regards
Kelvin Clayton
Hotel manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (388)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

348 - 354 of 388 reviews

Reviewed February 10, 2013

I don't kow what I expected from The Castle Hotel in Ruthin. It is a Wetherspoons hotel and I supppose I expected basic and clean but I got more than I anticipated. The whole place has been refurbished to a very high standard. Our room was spaciaous, clean, comfortable and tastefully decorated. The old building is superb to navigate round and has that ancient feel to its design, despite the great new decor. The pub downstairs was no exception and felt like the social hub of the town. There was ample parking and I would recommend this accomodation to anyone. One tip would be to call into the Myddelton grill next door for dinks and nibbles, you wont be dissapointed.

Room Tip: I think all the rooms are good, views of the town to the front and the hills at the rear.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank diggers76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelvin C, Manager at Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 12, 2013

Thank you for your comments.
I was pleased to read that we exceeded your expectations
and hopefully you will try other Wetherspoon hotels in the future
new ones to look out for in next few weeks are Beccles in Suffolk and Whitby Nth Yorks
Kelvin Clayton
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2013

We wasn't sure what to expect, more than pleased with the food at this very clean restaurant. Only had a meal with friends but couldn't fault the food, it was absolutely delicious, such a good price, also very quick. Great place to eat

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank christabellingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelvin C, Manager at Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2013

Thank you for your kind comments regarding the meal you had with us
We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future
Kelvin clayton
Hotel manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2013 via mobile

I did have few issues with hotel and in fairness they were taking on board and this trip was problem free. Would and have recommend here. Well done. We will be back again. Could not fine a fault with anything. Staff, food and location brilliant. But i do know the area very well so that helps. Beautiful part of Wales. Love it.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TnaG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelvin C, Manager at Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 12, 2013

Thanks for your review yet again.
sorry your trip was not for a happier occasion.
hopefully we will see you again sometime.
Kelvin Clayton
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2013

Wetherspoons can certainly create an excellent atmosphere and the refurbishment of the Castle Hotel in Ruthin is no exception, it is a beautiful old coaching hotel that has been sympathetically restored. The rooms are large and te food is what one should expect from Wetherspoons. Beers are kept well and always reasonably priced.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Manc-Holidays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelvin C, Manager at Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 12, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to post a comment.
Glad you enjoyed your stay and noted that our ales are in good condition.
Kelvin Clayton
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2013

Was concerned when checking in as large wedding party was also checking in. However the allocated room was on top floor at the front of hotel away from all the fire doors, corridors etc so had peaceful night. Probably noisy in lower rooms. Good quality fittings and furnishings. Bathroom was clean but tiny. Great location in the town to explore on foot. Small car park but public one right next door. Good food and friendly staff in the bar which was decorated in an interesting style.

Room Tip: As high up as possible on third floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Moneyfools
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelvin C, Manager at Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 12, 2013

Thank you for your kind comments following your recnt stay with us.
We hope to be able to welcome you back sometime in the future
Kelvin Clayton
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2012

Just stayed two nights here in the most quaint room. Uneven floors and beamed ceiling....lovely. We were made very welcome by every member of staff, this did not feel like a big anonymous chain hotel at all. The public areas are beautifully decorated and the whole place has oldie worldie charm. We had breakfast each morning in one of the lounge areas where there is a real log fire burning and the server remembered what we would like from the day before, its these little things that make a difference.
Only little quibble, the room was lovely but a little more attention could be paid to vacuuming, hair pins and sweet wrappers on carpet that were not ours!
All in all I would not hesitate to return, Wetherspoons should be proud of their Ruthin team.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lindawhitelaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelvin C, Manager at Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 12, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to comment on oyur recent stay with us.
We pride ourselves on our friendly team of staff and we and Wetherspoons are justifiably proud of our Ruthin operation
Kelvin Clayton
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ruthin
0.2 mi away
Ruthin Castle Hotel
24.4 mi away
Castle Hotel
Castle Hotel
#1 of 2 in Conwy
1,382 reviews
10.1 mi away
Springfield Hotel & Health Club
Springfield Hotel & Health Club
#1 of 1 in Pentre Halkyn
493 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.3 mi away
Beaufort Park Hotel
6.4 mi away
Plas Hafod Hotel
Plas Hafod Hotel
#1 of 1 in Gwernymynydd
290 reviews
2.1 mi away
Lyons Woodlands Hall Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle Hotel

Address: St Peters Square, Ruthin LL15 1AA, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Denbighshire > Ruthin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Ruthin
Price Range: $52 - $122 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Castle Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 17 bedroom property was purchased and totally refurbished by J D Wetherspoon in January 2012.All reviews pre January 2012 do not relate to our operation of the business. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castle Hotel Ruthin, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing