We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly, helpful staff”
Review of Griffin Inn - CLOSED

Griffin Inn
Cuisines: Pub
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Lincolnshire, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
213 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Friendly, helpful staff”
Reviewed July 13, 2014

Rang from Clywd Gate for transport to The Griffin and were collected by a friendly young lady, who showed us to our room and told us that if there was anything we needed to see her as she was working all evening. The Griffin seems to have an excellent chef - I had cranberry, mushroom and brie wellington with salad and chips - it was absolutely delicious. Breakfast the next morning was a little short on fruit/cereal choice - but the young lady cooking the poached eggs did an excellent job.
The chef had prepared a beautiful filled roll for the requested packed lunch - fortunately we had fruit and bars from the previous day to supplement this.
We enjoyed our stay here - and once a sustaining packed lunch can be provided - it will be a great place to stop for walkers.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank ramblingwhiterose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

103 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    60
    28
    7
    3
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reading, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Goes the Extra Mile”
Reviewed June 30, 2014 via mobile

Excellent pub, B and B. We stayed a the Griffin on our offas dyke walking tour and I have to say that this is a lovely pub run by the brilliant Hugh, you even picked us up and dropped us off to the path which was just what we needed. The bedrooms are fine given the price but the food is excellent. The lamb was excellent and we were well looked after by the waitress / barmaid who was quite charming. If you are into your pub B and B, this is welcoming. Ps the Posh Fish and Chips is highly recommended.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Canny C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Llangollen, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Back and excellent home cooked”
Reviewed June 27, 2014

Returned with my sister for her birthday! Started with wine and Drinks and a pint of Dizzy Blonde love that name ! As a few of us mix of food from Lamb shank delicious , posh Fish and chips - sister said best she had ever had and love the rustic homemade chips. I had the Griffin Burger was brilliant and there was a tasty Hunters Chicken and a huge homemade lasagna with Garlic bread . The host was very welcoming and his staff are young polite a bubbly not often seen theses days - nothing is any trouble which is a brilliant attitude to have. This is value for money with banter and atmosphere and great food. Well done Griffin we will be back again !

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Sampost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Excellent”
Reviewed June 21, 2014 via mobile

My two sons and I were made to feel very welcome when we stumbled upon this nice inn after exploring the area. Since they had toys in the family room and served tasty grub, we will be back!

Helpful?
Thank Stephen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wrexham, Wales U.K.
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Up the Vale”
Reviewed June 15, 2014

A recent visit to the Griffin proved to be a pleasant evening for myself and guests, as we had last visited some 50 years previously.
A pleasant evening in fine weather and glorious scenery, ( 0f course ) A welcome by the young lady member of staff or licensee, we're not sure as she appeared to be doing everything apart from the actual cooking, but nonetheless a warm reception and continued attention to detail and our requirements.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Groveparkite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Griffin Inn also viewed

Llanfair Dyffryn Clwyd, Ruthin
Ruthin, Denbighshire
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing