We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“LOVELY PLACE FOR A GETAWAY”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
5 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Ruthin, Denbighshire, North Wales, Wales

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 5 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
ziggy1989...
Chester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“LOVELY PLACE FOR A GETAWAY”
Reviewed September 24, 2017 for a stay in September 2017
2
people found this review helpful

this was are second visit to the cottage this year ,we stayed in july and last week the 15/09/17.what can I say it is very private and quite apart from the cockerall going off in the mornings .what you see is what you get.very nice people who own the place very welcoming.we are going back next year cannot wait ,it was a lovely break .the cottage is well equipped and comfortable just needs a bit TLC.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kath H
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful oasis of calm”
Reviewed July 11, 2016 for a stay in June 2016
1
person found this review helpful

After a stressful spell at work we spent a week recuperating in this lovely cottage. Mrs Roberts and her family went out of their way to be warm and friendly - it was more like spending a week with old friends.
For animal lovers this is a delight with hens and a cockerel roaming - horses in the fields, rabbits running around.
After chatting about the animals I was even lucky enough to be taken out on Linda's pony a trap around the local lanes.
I highly recomment this clean peaceful home and will definately be back.

Kath

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Tranquility - but easy travelling to places of interest.
Liked least: Leaving! :-(
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 12, 2016
We are so pleased that you had the relaxing week you had hoped for at Tyn Y Minffordd, thank you for taking the time to tell us about it. Being surrounded by all the animals sounds wonderful, especially the horses! We certainly hope you return the next time you need to relax and unwind.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
michael b
Maidstone, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“excellent cottage”
Reviewed December 1, 2014 for a stay in September 2014
1
person found this review helpful

The cottage was excellent and situated in a good place for travelling around North Wales.
Mr and Mrs Roberts went out of their way to help our stay in the cottage easier as my wife has a walking disability and for that we are very grateful. If we do go back to North Wales again we will try and book the cottage again.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
helenmb20
Newcastle upon Tyne
Level 4 Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Lovely Little Cottage”
Reviewed October 3, 2014 for a stay in September 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Just returned from a weeks stay at Tyn Y Minffordd and have to say had a really lovely time. The accommodation is actually on the same property as the owners so you do feel you're trespassing a little bit but the family are lovely and left us to our own devises whilst still being approachable if we needed anything.

The cottage is small and simple but perfectly adequate for what we needed, there is a fully fitted kitchen with oven, dishwasher, microwave, fridge a freezer, a bathroom with shower cubicle (hot water aplenty) a double bedroom and living room with TV and DVD player.

The property is a 20 minute stroll into Ruthin, which we did a few times to go for dinner or a few drinks and drivable distance to almost all of North Wales, Wrexham, Chester etc

The only few negatives i would say that prevented a 5 star would be there are some areas inside that are a little tired and couple do with either a lick of paint or replacing (the shower screen for example is a little wonky) i also think that the living room could do with a more comfy sofa (a corner sofa would be ideal) as although there is a chair and 'sofa' in there, it feels very much like conservatory furniture rather than a nice comfy sofa to sink into after a long day walking. It is also advertised as coming with wifi via a cable but we couldn't find it - saying that, we didn't ask, and it wasn't an issue!

All in all though we thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would absolutely recommend this cottage to anyone!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing