We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Veggie options, well thought out menu using local produce”
Review of Cafe R

Cafe R
Ranked #12 of 44 Restaurants in Ruthin
Price range: $3 - $19
Cuisines: Welsh, Cafe, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Large groups
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Drinks, Breakfast, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Cafe R is a local authority run establishment and is an integral part of Ruthin Craft Centre in Denbighshire. Natural light streams into Cafe R, creating a relaxing environment for you to have lunch with family/friends or just join us for a coffee and a piece of one of our delicious homemade cakes. You can also sit outside (weather permitting) in our dedicated dining area. Our local Chefs prepare all the food on site with everything from snacks, lunches and traditional Afternoon Teas. We endeavour to use local suppliers wherever possible and we are open 7 days a week from 10am to 5.30pm (closed Christmas Day, Boxing Day and New Years Day).
Level Contributor
122 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
“Great Veggie options, well thought out menu using local produce”
Reviewed December 14, 2012

The Ruthin Craft Centre / Centre for Applied Arts is the hub of this development in Ruthin. you can spend a good hour browsing around and then a visit to Cafe R is a must. Friendly staff and a lovely contemporary venue with furniture sourced from artisans and a menu which embraces local produce.

A family run business, Cafe R produces first class food and snacks and provides a great place to relax, with free car park on site and daily newspapers to read. The best cup of coffee (Fair Trade) in Ruthin (together with Crown House cafe, also run by the family). The menu always has Veggie options and a lot of thought has gone into it. On our there was butternut squash risotto - delicious.

Short walk into Ruthin is worth the effort. A lovely day out .

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1 Thank Sue H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
Rating summary
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent food in wonderful countryside”
Reviewed November 19, 2012

Julie and the staff at Cafe R were more than helpful when I visited despite having a full cafe to serve on a Saturday afternoon, and were personal and friendly, even remembering me by name after an earler phone call! The food was superb and hit the spot, and they even looked after some of my luggage for me while I went to explore some of the town and beautiful countryside nearby. Many thanks!

Visited November 2012
Thank DanielHutton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great for informal lunch/meetings”
Reviewed November 8, 2012

Great food, reasonably priced. Friendly service. Only downside is the noise - the acoustic is not good, and it makes for difficult conversation if the cafe is full.

Visited October 2012
Thank willstobe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denbigh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“room for improvement”
Reviewed October 28, 2012

had soup and sandwich which was okish, could have had better salad and decent amount of crisps with the sandwich. the tuna tasted like the cheapest low cost stuff you could get which was disappointing. staff are friendly but i have to agree with other comments that the service needs to be quicker and this hasnt changed as in the past i have experienced things the same.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank josie k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CafeManager, Owner at Cafe R, responded to this review, November 22, 2012
This is an interesting review with a couple of points that we would like to address. Firstly the soup and sandwich deal is advertised as coming with a garnish rather than a full salad. This is because this is a cheap lunch option on our menu and represents excellent value for money. Secondly we do not, and have never, served crisps with a salad or as a garnish as we do not consider them to be a salad ingredient.
We pride ourselves on using high quality ingredients and this includes the tuna. We do not cut corners on ingredients. We serve a huge amount of tuna in our dishes and have never before received a complaint about its quality.
Lastly good food and coffee takes time to prepare. Particularly if you take the time to prepare everything from scratch using the highest quality ingredients, which is what we do at Cafe R. We think good food made with care and attention is worth a few extra minutes. If time is short you can however save time by pre-ordering with us and then your lunch will be ready when you arrive.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wrexham, Wales (United Kingdom)
Level Contributor
114 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“A popular venue and for a good reason”
Reviewed October 22, 2012

Good food and a very welcoming atmosphere-you couldn't ask for more. Well , you could on a Wednesday lunchtime if you're a retiree- £7.50 for a two course meal with tea or coffee included.-it's always busy so booking advisable. A good meeting place for coffee and cakes too. Note that it's a wheelchair friendly place also, just genuinely friendly actually.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Hwntw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe R also viewed

Ruthin, Denbighshire

Been to Cafe R? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing