We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Slow, inefficient service”
Review of Cafe R

Cafe R
Ranked #14 of 44 Restaurants in Ruthin
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $3 - $19
Cuisines: International, British, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Cafe R is a local authority run establishment and is an integral part of Ruthin Craft Centre in Denbighshire. Natural light streams into Cafe R, creating a relaxing environment for you to have lunch with family/friends or just join us for a coffee and a piece of one of our delicious homemade cakes. You can also sit outside (weather permitting) in our dedicated dining area. Our local Chefs prepare all the food on site with everything from snacks, lunches and traditional Afternoon Teas. We endeavour to use local suppliers wherever possible and we are open 7 days a week from 10am to 5.30pm (closed Christmas Day, Boxing Day and New Years Day).
Ruthin, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Slow, inefficient service”
Reviewed September 24, 2012

We only visited for a cup of coffee. The service was truly dire, very slow (we were ignored for 15 minutes) and then another long wait while they spent an inordinate amount of time making two cups of coffee. When the coffee did finally arrive they did not bring what we had ordered. No apologies were forthcoming. The coffee was mediocre at best. There are much better places in Ruthin to get a decent cup of coffee - Annie's for example.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Helen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CafeManager, Owner at Cafe R, responded to this review, September 28, 2012
Well this is a really disappointing review all around. If it was not really busy then here is no reason your coffee should have taken so long. We spend a lot of time training our staff and we aim to great customers within 2 minutes of them entering the Café, more often than not it is quicker than that. Our policy is too replace anything a customer is not happy with, whether a coffee or a meal, no questions asked. I am not sure what has gone wrong here. Perhaps a new or junior member of staff served you? I will go through this with all our staff.

We spent a lot of time selecting the coffee for Café R and think we have chosen a great blend which is smooth but with good strength. This gives a strong smooth flavour with no bitter after taste. We also spend a lot of time training our staff to use the espresso machine and in the art of making a good coffee. This has paid off as we have huge loyalty and repeat custom, serving thousands of coffees week in week out.

Finally Annie’s is indeed a lovely Café I go there myself from time to time. I hope you try Cafe R again and hopefully we will get things right next time. Thanks for the feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    75
    42
    13
    7
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Neston, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Excellent lunch stop”
Reviewed September 18, 2012

Although it calls itself Cafe R, this is a very upmarket Cafe - somewhere between a cafe and a restaurant.
Its a very modern building and decorated in a simple clean open manner, There is a good selection of interesting, and well cooked dishes. Staff are very friendly and willing to help. Main meals are brilliant, and although I haven't tried them the cakes look fabulous too! Good selecton of drinks as well. Not cheap but good value.
Plenty of parking at the craft centre. Clean and spacious toilets.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Chris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Wales
1 review
“lovely!”
Reviewed September 17, 2012

Cafe R is definitely a good choice for lunch/ afternoon tea in Ruthin. Much of the produce used is locally sourced which is pleasing - the burger is the highlight!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lou_h_1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Fantastic!”
Reviewed August 20, 2012

We had lunch at Cafe R a couple of weeks ago, this was our 4/5visit - the meal was really great and the staff are friendly and attentive. The soup of the day was delicious as was my boyfriends homeade burger. They have a good selection on their menu. Highlight is the fantasitc choice of homeade cakes and puds! Our friends have also had sunday lunch at cafe r and they said it was delicious with really generous portions. Cant wait to go back!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cwj83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Wales, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Good Menu and Service”
Reviewed August 17, 2012

Cafe R has a great choice of food, the staff are very friendly and helpful and the cafe has a lovely modern, light atmosphere. I met friends for lunch there today and we all enjoyed our meals. The cakes looked good too !
It was busy so probably a good idea to book if you are in a party but if you don't mind waiting the exhibitions at the gallery are always interesting and there are a variety of artisan workshops/ displays to look at as well as the gallery shop and a small tourist information point while you are waiting
Free car park, outdoor seating in the courtyard and disabled access

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gail W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe R also viewed

Ruthin, Denbighshire
 
Ruthin, Denbighshire
Ruthin, Denbighshire
 

Been to Cafe R? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing