We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peace and tranquility”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Old Rectory Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 15 Ruthin B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 26, 2012

We stayed seven nights.The spacious rooms were all light and airy and spotlessly clean.They were attractively furnished with natural wood furniture,interesting pictures,minimal decor.The breakfasts and evening meals were very appetising and beautifully presented. The house is in a tranquil situation with a lovely garden.Catherine is very welcoming and helpful. There are numerous maps and leaflets as well as a collection of contemporary fiction etc to borrow.Excellent.

Room Tip: All rooms spacious but for preference the double with bath.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Margaret K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (277)
There are newer reviews for The Old Rectory Bed & Breakfast
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

228 - 234 of 277 reviews

Reviewed September 11, 2012

Stayed here for one night with a friend. What a lovely place. It's more like staying with friends than in B&B. Lovely peaceful house and garden right off the beaten track. Beautifully decorated and furnished, with a wonderful hostess. Catherine was friendly and welcoming, very attentive without being intrusive. We had a delicious evening meal and the next day a lovely breakfast. Our only regret was that we weren't staying longer. Thank you Catherine - hope to be back some time!

Room Tip: For two friends travelling together the twin room is a very good size with comfy beds.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank YorkshireTraveller03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2012

Great B&B, with very hospitable landlady Catherine, with her lovely daughter Kathy.
Large sleeping room with a good bed, spacious and light bathroom, with everything you need.
In the morning a superb, extensive cooked breakfast, with everyday fresh fruit.
We were on our motorcycle, which could stay in the large garage, very biker friendly!
We stayed 4 nights, and the Old Rectory is an ideal base for (motorcycle) trips in the aera, only an hour away from Snowdonia or the coastal region and wonderfull roads (Horseshoe Pass, Nant Y Garth Pass etc.)
We really felt at home.

Room Tip: Biker friendly! Your bike and (wet) bikegear can sty in the garage.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wessel W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2012

This B&B is great. We had a lovely big room with a spacious bathroom. All very clean and cosy. We were welcomed by Catherine and her daughter and really felt welcome. Maps and guides for walking are available and the area is very nice.
After eating out many nights in a row it's great to taste some home-cooking and it's very good value for money. Also breakfast was delicious.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AGL_NL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2012

Pros: a true bed & breakfast (just 3 rooms); friendly welcome and home cooking in a quiet and cozy location; lovely family; spacious, cleaned and bright rooms; design contemporary furniture
Cons: none

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PierreAronnax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2012

This is an absolute gem of a B & B and without a doubt, one of the best that I've ever stayed in. Set in a tranquil valley a few miles from the historic town of Ruthin, the Old Rectory has been imaginatively restored and refurbished by the present owners, with contemporary furnishings and sensitive lighting to enhance what was already a fine old building. My bedroom suite was provided with spacious en-suite bathroom fitted out to a very high standard, with some lovely contemporary art work on the walls to complete the effect. The breakfast was truly delicious, with an extensive selection of fresh fruit and cereals followed by an expansive full English breakfast. Catherine, our host, made us feel very welcome during our short visit. Unfortunately, the three of us could only stay the one night there, as a stopover on our progression along the Offa's Dyke Path. However, we hope to return in the not-too-distant future and stay rather longer to walk along the nearby Brenig Way.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Philip H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2012

We have just had a fantastic stay at The Old Rectory. Catherine gave us a walm welcome and couldn't have been more helpful and accomodating. It was super clean and very tastefully furnished with a distinct lack of frills and doilies.
Breakfast was great with lovely local eggs and fresh fruit (though we were there in July when it's fruit season).
Catherine was helpful on advice about walks and leant us a map. You can walk straight from the house which is in a very lovely area. Ruthin is about 12 min away and is a very nice town to have a wander around.
We will be staying again.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rosie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ruthin
3.4 mi away
Ruthin Castle Hotel
12.8 mi away
Pale Hall Hotel
Pale Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Llandderfel
165 reviews
3.6 mi away
Castle Hotel
Castle Hotel
#1 of 2 in Ruthin
373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.7 mi away
Castle Hotel
Castle Hotel
#1 of 2 in Conwy
1,248 reviews
13.7 mi away
Springfield Hotel & Health Club
Springfield Hotel & Health Club
#1 of 1 in Pentre Halkyn
465 reviews
18.5 mi away
Tan Dinas Country House
Tan Dinas Country House
#1 of 47 in Betws-y-Coed
675 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Rectory Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Rectory Bed & Breakfast

Address: The Old Rectory | Clocaenog, Ruthin LL15 2AT, Wales
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Denbighshire > Ruthin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Ruthin
Price Range: $88 - $106 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Old Rectory Bed & Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your The Old Rectory Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Old Rectory Bed & Breakfast Ruthin, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing