We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Clwyd Gate - CLOSED

Clwyd Gate
Price range: $8 - $34
Cuisines: British, Welsh, International, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic, Large groups, Scenic view, Families with children, Bar scene, Business meetings, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Our restaurant was opened by the new owner in mid September 2015 with an exciting head chef, fantastic team both front of house and in the kitchen. We are offering both lunch and dinner meals and traditional Sunday roasts as well as specials. Come join us for food or just a drink in our lounge area and see what delights we have to offer.
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fantastic!”
Reviewed October 14, 2011

First of all the view is fantastic...as you wait for your food (not for long though) you can admire a beautiful scenery, especially now in autumn.

All the noise and traffic are quickly forgotten as the atmosphere is very peaceful although not boring at all. It just makes you forget all your troubles and enjoy your time.

As the service is concerned, we were treated like royalty. Everybody's very friendly and they seem to read your mind :)

The food is amazing, the Guinea Fowl we had was superbly prepared with delectable flavors. The meat was so savory and tender.
Servings were medium in size but rich and very satisfying.
We will definitively go back.

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Diana G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

108 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    65
    15
    8
    9
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Simply terrible”
Reviewed July 17, 2011

I was looking forward to a Sunday lunch here, how disappointed was I , the restaurant used to be good when first reopened however now the food is now quite shocking for what is an expensive place to dine, it's a shame , the location is fantastic but after a tasteless starter and a strange take on a simple roast chicken lunch we gave up and headed home! Never to return I'm afraid, save your money !

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Tellingitasitis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diana857, Manager at Clwyd Gate, responded to this review, September 2, 2011
First of all I would like to thank everybody for their comments on tripadvisor ( good or bad). Second of all, here at the Clwyd Gate Restaurant , we like to offer our customers a choice on Sunday. Not everybody wants to have a roast dinner and that is why our set Sunday lunch menu offers a choice of two types of roast, a fish dish , a vegetarian and sometimes the occasional dish that you might find on our A la Carte menu. The Chicken dish mentioned was one of those occasional dishes for those people who would like something else apart from a Roast on Sunday , and it was not, in any way ,meant to be a roast chicken dish. As the description on the menu clearly stated, it was a Chicken breast with a broad bean and mediterranean vegetable casserole. As our food is cooked freshly to order , I am sure that a request of a roast chicken dish would have been honoured on the day if the waiting staff would have been informed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“perfect”
Reviewed May 31, 2011

had a fantastic meal there food looked and tasted wonderful.
will be eating there again staff were very nice and views were amazing

  • Visited May 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank eric186233
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Lovely meals, great views and friendly staff”
Reviewed December 22, 2010

We called in for lunch mid week with our two children. We sat in a lovely window seat overlooking the fantastic view. Our meals were great, the food was very fresh and they obviously use quality ingredients. The restaurant were very accommodating with the children's meals, offering food on offer to adults in small portions at half the price.
The staff here are also very friendly, we really can't fault this place and when we are in the area again would definitely return.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mpkljp2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Llanberis, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Classy surroundings...fantastic food”
Reviewed November 29, 2010

We had a really good time at the Clwyd Gate. This newly refurbished restaurant has a nice atmosphere and fantastic views over the Vale of Clwyd. The food is excellent and the service friendly. I had the scallops for starters which were really delicious and the fillet steak I had as main meal was was tasty. My only reservation was that the steak which I had ordered medium rare was a little too rare, but otherwise this was an excellent night out.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank wjones1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Clwyd Gate also viewed

Ruthin, Denbighshire
Ruthin, Denbighshire
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing