We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing service and food”

Bertie's at Ruthin Castle
Ranked #7 of 44 Restaurants in Ruthin
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $29 - $95
Cuisines: European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Award-winning dining within historic castle setting complete with chandeliers. Romantic and memorable at realistic prices. Library bar with open fire. Acres of beautiful gardens.
Liverpool, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Amazing service and food”
Reviewed February 12, 2013

The food was great and the wine choice is expensive but great. We even got an appetizer of smoked salmon.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Trev D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

366 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    191
    93
    59
    11
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed January 5, 2013

We had a seperate room for a birthday party with a set meal/drink. The organisation, warmth of the staff, food and service were all excellent. I thoroughly recommend this restuarant.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rs91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“A Birthday Treat”
Reviewed January 2, 2013

The service and food were immaculate. Portion sizes a bit of a let down leading only to 4 stars. Ambience and atmosphere wonderful - nice for a special treat!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Polargirl13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denbigh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“fantastic food and venue”
Reviewed November 24, 2012

always liked the food here and the lovely atmosphere in the restaurant and bar, the food and service is second to non, going on xmas day cant wait.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank vicky j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chester
Level Contributor
102 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“average food and prices”
Reviewed October 20, 2012

We booked Berties in June , after waiting over an hour for our food it came cold they sent it back reheated it and served the same food back to us knowing 2 on our table had the same food so we didnt know whos was who !! we did complain and they gave us our drinks free but it didnt compensate for the disapointment we felt , they food has reduced in portions so we left hungry too , they charge additional for veg , food is all served on slates which isnt good they dont keep the heat .
The restaurants is lovely and nice atmosphere just a shame they started to charge for veg and reduced the quantity of food .

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Hayleys68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bertie's at Ruthin Castle also viewed

 
 

Been to Bertie's at Ruthin Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing