We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect weekend”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ruthin
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Fir Grove Country House
Ranked #10 of 15 Ruthin B&B and Inns
Reviewed July 17, 2013

We have just returned from a long weekend at Firgrove. Everything was fantastic. We had the cottage (as we had intended to bring our dog) and the four poster.Breakfasts were superb - highlights were the scrambled egg and plum compote. We had dinner on one evening. It was most enjoyable meeting other guests and enjoying Anna's food and Philip's wine. The cheese board was as good as it gets, and the rhubarb tart was top notch - and everything else was delicious! We were walking a stretch of Offas Dyke and Philip taxied us about with good humour. We also had to make an early start on the Monday and everything went smoothly - even to Philip going out early to get a newspaper for us to read over breakfast. After a very hot day walking, it was delightful to come back and cool off in their lovely garden. So, really, it could not have been better. Anna and Philip are excellent hosts and I hope we will have an opportunity to visit again

Room Tip: The cottage is dog friendly
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EMALULA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (27)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

12 - 18 of 27 reviews

Reviewed May 26, 2013

Set on a leafy hillside Firgrove is a beautiful house, warm and welcoming. The garden is full of interest - we loved especially the apple orchard at the back in full bloom, the lovely mature trees to the the front and lawns with patches of bluebells and primroses. Anna & Philip are wonderful hosts and made our two day visit truly memorable - the rooms are elegant and spacious with lovely open views of the surrounding countryside. Breakfast is a real treat with seasonal fruits, compote, yoghurt, cheese, ham and the full welsh breakfast of course!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank northyorkshirerose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2012

We had what can only be described as a quality two night stay at Fir Grove. The house and furnishings are quality, as is the garden. The food was quality (the scrambled egg would win any competition!) as were Mine Host's wines.
There were seven people present for our second dinner, we all 'clicked' and had so many laughs.
It was so good that an extra bottle of wine was opened!
Fir Grove is definitely worth another visit - or two?

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ijc47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2012

We had a last minute two night stay here and had such a lovely time. We stayed in the annex to the main house as we had our dog with us and the annex is dog friendly. The annex has it's own little kitchen area, lounge (including log burner), bed room and bathroom. It was cosy and very homely.

We went out the first night to the Cross Keys which was just down the road in walking distance. This is not dog friendly but the locals were very friendly and welcoming. Then on the second day we had a very relaxing afternoon and evening in front of the log burner making ourselves at home.

Anna and Phil were great hosts. They made us very welcome and were happy to chat to us. They gave us tips on where to eat and walk the dog. The breakfast on both mornings was fantastic. There was a selection of cheeses, ham, yoghurts, cereal, fruit as well as a choice of whatever hot option you wanted. There were only the two of us staying on both nights but the full choice was set out on both mornings just for us along with the morning paper!

We could not recommend more highly staying at Fir Grove.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Catt32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2012

A very warm welcome awaited us as we arrived for our short stay at Firgrove. It is a beautiful home and everything is very elegant. Our evening meal was served in a lovely dining room and we enjoyed a special meal from freshly prepared ingredients. My gluten free intolerance was no problem at all. The hosts ate with us at dinner and we talked until almost midnight. A thoroughly enjoyable evening. While we ate a hearty breakfast we watched a woodpecker and a nuthatch doing the same in the truly magnificent gardens. We will certainly be returning to see Anna and Philip and recommend you go and see for yourself. Really good value for money.

Room Tip: The room with the four poster
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FlynnChester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2011

As soon as you arrive, Anna and Philip make you feel at home immediately. Their friendliness, the award winning garden, the views, the beautiful and spacious room: everything is picture perfect, including the delicious breakfast! This B&B is an ideal base for exploring LLangollen, the Dee Valley, Chester,… We experienced a magnificent stay in this five star establishment: we couldn’t have asked for more!
Thank you again, Anna and Philip, we had a lovely stay!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gandalf62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2011

We stayed at Firgrove for 1 night as part of a trip to North Wales and Shropshire - we plan to return as soon as possible as we enjoyed ourselves so much. Our accommodation was a sizeable and tastefully furnished suite with a 4 poster bed within a very attractive Georgian House. The garden is worth visiting in its own right - the owners participate in the National Gardens Scheme.

Dinner was unforgettable. It started with an aperitif in the conservatory and a browse through the tempting menu. While Anna was in the kitchen putting the finishing touches to our gourmet meal, Philip was keeping us entertained, regaling us with anecdotes and talking us through the choice of wines accompanying dinner. Breakfast was top notch. Anna & Philip are delightful hosts and we are looking forward to furthering our acquaintance with them on our next visit.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stumpedforaname
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ruthin hotels
0.8 mi away
Ruthin Castle Hotel
0.0 mi away
Ty Derw Country House Bed & Breakfast
2.8 mi away
The Old Rectory Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Castle Hotel
Castle Hotel
#1 of 2 in Ruthin
382 reviews
1.2 mi away
Lyons Woodlands Hall Hotel
1.0 mi away
The Feathers
The Feathers
#8 of 15 in Ruthin
23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fir Grove Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fir Grove Country House

Address: Firgrove | Llanfwrog, Ruthin LL15 2LL, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Denbighshire > Ruthin
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Ruthin
Hotel Class:5 star — Fir Grove Country House 5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fir Grove is a small Georgian country house two miles from the medieval market town of Ruthin offering luxury 5 Star Bed and Breakfast. Philip and Anna Meadway welcome guests from all over the world in their small but perfectly formed home. With many original features this house has a warm and friendly feel allowing guests to relax and enjoy the ambiance. The large prize winning garden offers visitors the chance to have a stroll and enjoy the tranquility of the surrounding countryside. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Fir Grove Country House Ruthin, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing