We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful and friendly”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Lyons Woodlands Hall Hotel
Ranked #5 of 15 Ruthin B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Newcastle
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Peaceful and friendly”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

My husband and I stayed for two nights in the Wagner room. Lovely room, full of character and comfy bed - had everything we needed. Breakfast was also great! The hall itself is gorgeous and has a great bar. The only reason I haven't scored a five is because it was some times hard to find a member of staff ( although its understandable that there wouldn't be many around as it was quiet) and the door in the corridor was quite loud when it shut which woke me a few times in the night (I am a light sleeper).

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Greeneyedm0nster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    93
    38
    15
    3
    7
See reviews for
47
55
6
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
St Helens
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2013 via mobile

My parents own a caravan on this site and we have been coming here for the last five years or so. This park has gone through a lot of changes over the last few years and it looks like they are finally getting it all together nicely now! For all the people that think this is a normal type camping/ holiday site, this is not the case, the caravans on this site are privately owned and alot of people live onsite during the season. Or are weekend visitors after a hard week at work! All the vans are set in beautiful surrounding and are very well kept.
The Hall is a very cosy place with very traditional decor. Staff are friendly and so are the regulars that drink in there. The place can be very quiet during "non peak" times. But most weekends esp saturday nights its busy as entertainment is on with a late licence. Food is very nice to. But at this time of year its not open mon, tues for food which is understandable as its so quiet. But there are plenty nice places to in and around Ruthin town itself!
Two criticisms i can think of is
1. Make sure glasses are clean before serving drinks, as twice ive had dirty glasses with bits stuck in the bottom of the glasses, poss a dirty glass washer???
2. Get some new CDs! Theres only so much Micheal Buble and Take That you can listen to esp if your staying for more than a couple of nights like us.
All in all this is a great site which is peacefull and quiet with great views and the whole of wales is accessible from here!! Ruthin is a lovely historic town with lots of quirky shops and nice places to eat.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Andy_and_Leanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cass W, Customer Relations Manager at Lyons Woodlands Hall Hotel, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave your review on Woodlands Hall. We are really pleased that you enjoy your time here and will ensure your recommendations are shared with the staff on site.
We look forward to having the pleasure of your company again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abergele
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2013

We stayed overnight at the woodlands after having a family get together, our room was full of character, with a lovely view over the mountains. It was spotlessly clean and the staff were very helpfull and polite. Breakfast was spot on. All in all a very pleasurable experience

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gillian T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cass W, Customer Relations Manager at Lyons Woodlands Hall Hotel, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave your review on Woodlands Hall Hotel. We really appreciate your comments and are pleased that you enjoyed your stay. We hope to have the pleasure of your company again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Borth, Aberystwyth, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2013

Although the hotel itself is beautiful, as is the Tower Room in which we stayed, Woodlands Hall was a disappointment - I can't complain about value for money but the hotel has the potential to be exceptional. The stunning room featured a most comfortable bed, a great TV, trouser press and good view (once you look past the mass of caravans which surrounded the place, visible from both ends of our room which was not mentioned on the website). Driving up to the place at night was difficult without road signs. Small things which would have been appreciated include: a shower in the bathroom, tea-spoons to accompany the tea and glasses to accompany the fruit juice in the breakfast room and reduced noise levels from the staff during breakfast whose conversations in the other room were more invasive than just audible. A note also to the barman: try to choose somewhere to smoke cigarettes that isn't visible from the breakfast room.

Room Tip: If you don't mind not having a shower, the Tower Room is a delight.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Heather W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cass W, Customer Relations Manager at Lyons Woodlands Hall Hotel, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave your review on Woodlands Hall. We really appreciate your feedback as without this we cannot improve our service in the future.
We are sorry that you were unhappy with certain aspects of your stay and would like to take this opportunity to respond to those.
We have taken time to ensure that the description of the hotel and specifically the room types is as informative and accurate as possible. Website bookings are made through booking.com and it does advise that the hotel is in the middle of a luxury holiday park, therefore I apologise that you did not see this. Due to the age of the building and the layout all the rooms are different and have different facilties. The Tower room states bath only, we have other rooms with just showers and ones with baths and shower attachments. Unfortunately due to the location of the Tower room, it is not possible to put in a shower.
We are sorry for the oversight on the tea spoons and juice glasses. We have spoken with the staff to ensure that set up is completed correctly. We have recently changed the room that we serve breakfast in and whilst not wishing to excuse the issues relating to the staff, we have reminded them that they need to be mindful of the proximaty of guests in terms of their conversations and general behaviour and we have reminded them of the exceptable standards whilst on duty.
We are always looking at ways to improve our service and thank you for your comments which we will certainly act on where possible.
I hope you will not judge us too harshly on this occasion and that we will have the pleasure of your custom in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
widnes
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2013

as a caravan owner i love this site and the hotel,but it has just been transformed overnite from a lovely quaint old world hotel to a working mans pub overnite ,gone has all the nice furniture,,in its place is a pool table, on the wall was a lovely painting ,has now been replaced with another tv dart board to follow,no consultation with owners ,thanks to the person responsable

Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank terry p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cass W, Customer Relations Manager at Lyons Woodlands Hall Hotel, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave your review on Woodlands Hall. We do appreciate all feedback as without this we cannot improve our service. We are sorry that as an owner at Woodlands Hall you do not like the changes made. It is always difficult when changes are made as it is inevitable that they will not be to everyones' tastes. We have received some positive comments from some of the owners and holidaymakers who have been onto the park recently, however we do take all feedback on board and thank you for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed December 27, 2012

We arrived late on Saturday night shown to the Tower room which was lovely and comfortable. We had a tasty Shiraz in the bar and had great nights sleep. Having no shower was fine and the pressure was okay. Breakfast was good. All the staff we met were friendly and efficient. We will be back as my partner asked me to marry him and I said yes!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathleenja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cass W, Customer Relations Manager at Lyons Woodlands Hall Hotel, responded to this review, December 28, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to leave your review on Woodlands Hall Hotel. We really appreciate your comments and would like to congratulate you and your fiance on your engagement. We are really pleased that you enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 22, 2012 via mobile

Gorgeous large rooms, very beautiful decor and feeling to them. We had a nice early morning walk round the grounds.breakfast was great, plenty to eat. Staff were very pleasent and helpful. A lovely place to stay.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank catsbd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cass W, Customer Relations Manager at Lyons Woodlands Hall Hotel, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to leave your review on Woodlands Hall Hotel. We are really pleased that you enjoyed your stay and hope to have the pleasure of your custom again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ruthin
2.0 mi away
Ruthin Castle Hotel
11.6 mi away
Springfield Hotel & Health Club
Springfield Hotel & Health Club
#1 of 1 in Pentre Halkyn
447 reviews
6.2 mi away
The Raven Inn
The Raven Inn
#1 of 1 in Llanarmon-yn-Ial
120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
The Old Rectory Bed & Breakfast
2.2 mi away
The Feathers
The Feathers
#9 of 15 in Ruthin
21 reviews
1.4 mi away
Plas Efenechtyd Cottage B&B
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lyons Woodlands Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lyons Woodlands Hall Hotel

Property: Lyons Woodlands Hall Hotel
Address: Llanfwrog, Ruthin LL15 2AN, Wales
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Denbighshire > Ruthin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Ruthin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Lyons Woodlands Hall Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated within the beautiful setting of Woodlands Hall Holiday Park lies Woodlands Hall. Conveniently located just 2 1/2 miles from the historic town of Ruthin and Ruthin Castle and just 35 minutes from Chester. If your looking for a golf course, north Wales is well known for some great courses, as well as local fishing, walking and sight seeing. A magnificant 19th Century building with original features the hall provides 6 bedrooms all unique in design. All bedrooms are located on the first floor whilst the ground floor plays host to a bar and restaurant. We highly recommend the restaurant and on Friday and Saturday evenings booking a table is advisable as well as the Sunday afternoon traditional roast dinners All rooms have free wi fi, as well as the bar area. Perfect for enjoying a quiet drink or meal or live entertainment on every Saturday evenings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Lyons Woodlands Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lyons Woodlands Hall Hotel Ruthin, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing