We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Enjoyable Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Lyons Woodlands Hall Hotel
Ranked #5 of 15 Ruthin B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very Enjoyable Stay”
Reviewed October 15, 2012

We stayed as a foursome on the weekend if 29th Sept, we booked in as we couldn't get into our usual hotel in Denbigh, however we had a fantastic evening. The hotel was lovely, old set in immaculate grounds which were very well kept for a mobile home site. We decided to eat in the restaurant. The food was beautiful, very reasonable although small portions. We were served in the bar by a young lady Sara who was delightful,very professional and well spoken. She talked us through the night and joined in and made us feel most welcome and like regulars. The entertainment that evening was brilliant, we were not aware if evening entertainment but we were very pleased we stayed for that after our meal. The young lady went above and beyond for us that evening and I have not received such excellent customer service in a long time. It was a shame we were not served by her on the Sunday as we would have liked to pass on our appreciation and thank her ourselves in person. Our only criticism would be the cleanliness of our room could of been a bit bette, not polished and marks on glass.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LouiseWatts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cass W, Customer Relations Manager at Lyons Woodlands Hall Hotel, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to leave your review on Woodlands Hall, we really appreciate your comments and are pleased that you enjoyed your stay.
I have passed on your kind comments to the staff mentioned and have also discussed the cleanliness aspect with the housekeeping team to ensure this is noted.
I do hope that we will have the pleasure of your custom again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    90
    38
    15
    3
    7
See reviews for
47
52
6
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
St Austell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2012

It's a quiet out of the way and a good value place to stay, I was there on business and the room was fine, kitchen served lovely food, everyone friendly and the surrounding area is if you get the chance to explore well worth a look..

Room Tip: All rooms appear to be of a good standard, it's now out of season pick up a bargain.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank phillradders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cass W, Customer Relations Manager at Lyons Woodlands Hall Hotel, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to leave your review on Woodlands Hall Hotel. We are really pleased that you enjoyed your stay and hope to have the pleasure of your company again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chandlers Ford
Level Contributor
73 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2012

I stayed here for one night on a motorcycle tour last week. For £40 it was a brilliant deal. The building itself is clean and tidy and the room I had was excellent. The evening meat was fine and the breakfast hearty to say the least. All in all a good place to stay

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank exilegull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cass W, Customer Relations Manager at Lyons Woodlands Hall Hotel, responded to this review, September 28, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to leave your review on Woodlands Hall. We are really pleased that you enjoyed your stay and hope to have the pleasure of your custom again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2012 via mobile

The rooms where tidy but furniture I.e needed updating. It is in a campsite and we stayed in the wargner room which was quite even though there was a abba tribute nice settings and not bad value Breakfast was good value and also bar prices in the evening was good value would recommend for £ 45 which we paid

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Madmarcus01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cass W, Customer Relations Manager at Lyons Woodlands Hall Hotel, responded to this review, September 12, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to leave your review on Woodlands Hall, we really appreciate your comments.
The furniture is in the room is of a good standard. The building is 18th Century so the furniture is in keeping with the style of the building.
The hotel is in the centre of a luxury holiday park, not a campsite as we do not have tents on the park. We are pleased however that you enjoyed your stay and hope we have the pleasure of your company again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2012

We hadn't realised that this hotel was within a campsite, otherwise we wouldn't have booked it for our "weekend without the kids" break - however, the campsite was very quiet so this wasn't an issue. The hotel is beautiful, it still has the original hand carved doors, walls and fire surrounds and feels really cozy. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful. We had the "starter and steak for £12" on Thursday. It was cooked to perfection - it didn't require a steak knife, it was so tender. The entertainment on the Saturday evening was "Babajack" - they were totally awesome! Staff were happy to come in early on the Sunday morning to serve our breakfast as we needed to leave promptly - total Superstars! Thank you for a fabulous break!

Room Tip: Have a look on their website, there are only a few rooms - you can choose which one you would like!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank randomfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cass W, Customer Relations Manager at Lyons Woodlands Hall Hotel, responded to this review, September 3, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to leave your review on Woodlands Hall. We really appreciate your comments as without these we cannot improve our service.
You do not mention how you booked your break with us, however we do state on both our website and booking.com that the hotel is located in the centre of Woodlands Hall holiday park.
We are really pleased however that you enjoyed your stay. We have forwarded your compliments to the chef! The team work really hard to ensure that everyone enjoys their stay at the hotel and have spent considerable time ensuring that the original features are preserved.
Woodlands Hall is a quiet relaxing holiday park and the hotel is the gem in the centre. We hope to welcome you back again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2012

We have just stayed at Woodlands Hall and my partner and I had an amazing weekend. The place is Old style but very beautiful, The staff are very friendly and welcoming and the locals are too. If your looking for a lively Saturday night this is the place ,the staff and locals all join in and make you feel part of the place, We cant wait to go back . its such a laid back friendly place 10/10 from us,

Room Tip: We stayed in the Mozart room which was very spacious and lovely and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BabsM2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cass W, Customer Relations Manager at Lyons Woodlands Hall Hotel, responded to this review, August 17, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to leave your review on Woodlands Hall, we really appreciate your comments and are glad you enjoyed your stay.
We hope to have the pleasure of your custom again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruthin, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2012

We went last year after seeing advert in paper for a special deal. Booked by phone. On arrival we were told special night offer cancelled and it was Irish night. No apology for not informing us. Finished our drink and left. Place is a lovely building but looks empty as if they are moving out. Very poor decor. I wrote to manager to complain about our visit but did not have decency to reply. We live locally and looked forward to,trying it, will not return. Staff awful.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Brenda R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cass W, Customer Relations Manager at Lyons Woodlands Hall Hotel, responded to this review, August 8, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to leave your review on Woodlands Hall Hotel. We do really appreciate all feedback.
I am sorry that you did not enjoy your experience at Woodlands and that you did not receive a response from the Manager at the time. It is extremely hard for me to comment on your exact issues as I note you visited last year. We have since then experienced a complete change of staff at the Hall and have been working extremely hard on our customer experience.
I would encourage you to give us another opportunity to restore your faith and take the time to visit us again to see if you feel we have improved.
Thank you again for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ruthin
2.0 mi away
Ruthin Castle Hotel
2.1 mi away
Castle Hotel
Castle Hotel
#1 of 2 in Ruthin
352 reviews
10.6 mi away
Abbey Grange Hotel
Abbey Grange Hotel
#9 of 10 in Llangollen
246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.8 mi away
Pier Hotel Rhyl
Pier Hotel Rhyl
#1 of 5 in Rhyl
352 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Old Rectory Bed & Breakfast
6.2 mi away
The Raven Inn
The Raven Inn
#1 of 1 in Llanarmon-yn-Ial
120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lyons Woodlands Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lyons Woodlands Hall Hotel

Property: Lyons Woodlands Hall Hotel
Address: Llanfwrog, Ruthin LL15 2AN, Wales
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Denbighshire > Ruthin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Ruthin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Lyons Woodlands Hall Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated within the beautiful setting of Woodlands Hall Holiday Park lies Woodlands Hall. Conveniently located just 2 1/2 miles from the historic town of Ruthin and Ruthin Castle and just 35 minutes from Chester. If your looking for a golf course, north Wales is well known for some great courses, as well as local fishing, walking and sight seeing. A magnificant 19th Century building with original features the hall provides 6 bedrooms all unique in design. All bedrooms are located on the first floor whilst the ground floor plays host to a bar and restaurant. We highly recommend the restaurant and on Friday and Saturday evenings booking a table is advisable as well as the Sunday afternoon traditional roast dinners All rooms have free wi fi, as well as the bar area. Perfect for enjoying a quiet drink or meal or live entertainment on every Saturday evenings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Lyons Woodlands Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lyons Woodlands Hall Hotel Ruthin, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing